Product review – Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner

27 Jan

I love this deep conditioner!!  It is one of my favourite deep conditioners.

It comes in a bottle (370ml) and also in a pak (51.7ml).  The paks cost between R11 and R14 and the bottle between R55 and R60 (available in Clicks and Dischem in SA).  I normally buy the paks when I am traveling so I do not have to pack a big bottle.  I use the bottle at home.  I tend to use more and more of this product as I get closer to my next retouch and I have more growth.  With the paks I will start off at one but move on to two and sometimes I use three when its really close to my next retouch and I have plenty of growth.

This deep conditioner is a light protein.  It is yellow in colour, quite thick and has a strong orange/citrus smell.  This smell tends to linger even after you have rinsed out the deep conditioner from your hair.  I sit with this deep conditioner and a shower cap under a domed dryer for anything up to an hour.    I use this conditioner about once a fortnight.  When I travel and do not have access to my domed dryer I will shampoo my hair at night and sleep with the deep conditioner on my hair, rinsing it out in the morning.  I tie a scarf over the shower cap to keep it in place.

I sometimes add honey and castor oil to this product.  Don’t let that put you off though because this product is wonderful on its own without these additions.

This deep conditioner leaves my hair feeling soft and moisturised and smelling great.  It works wonders on my relaxed hair.  It is one of my staple products that I am never without.  Because I am heavy handed when it comes to deep conditioners, the bottle lasts me about three or four deep conditioning sessions.

The ingredients are:

Aqua (Water), Glycine Soja Oil (Soybean), Glycerin, Olea Europaea Fruit Oil (Olive), Hydrolyzed Collagen, Quaternium-80, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis Oil (Orange), Citral, d-Limonene, Linalool, Polyquaternium-37, Propylene Glycol, Dicaprylate / Dicaprate, PPG-1 Trideceth-6, Panthenol, Silk Amino Acids, PEG-9 Dimethicone, Anthemis Nobilis Extract (Chamomile), Salvia Officinalis Extract (Sage), Urtica Dioica Extract (Nettle), Rosmarinus Officinalis Extract (Rosemary), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Achillea Millefolium Extract (Yarrow), Actinidia Chinensis Fruit Juice (Kiwi), Dimethicone, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, EDTA, Triethanolamine, DMDM Hydantoin, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, CI 15985 (Yellow #6), CI 19140 (Yellow #5).

The directions for use on the bottle:

After shampooing with the ORGANIC Root Stimulator® Olive Oil Creamy Aloe Shampoo apply a generous amount to hair and comb through for thorough distribution. Place a plastic cap over the hair and sit under a warm dryer for 10-15 minutes or leave on the hair for 45 minutes to 1 hour without heat.
Rinse thoroughly. Use either the ORGANIC Root Stimulator® Olive Oil Wrap/Set Mousse, which is great for wrapping or roller setting; or use the ORGANIC Root Stimulator® Olive Oil Incredibly Rich Oil Moisturizing Lotion™ for blow-drying.

6 Responses to “Product review – Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner”

  1. nothando 02 November, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    i so love this conditioner it leaves my hair feeling really soft and definately one of my staple products. just stumbled on ur blog tendayi and i thank God i did. all this while i have been going through blogs of people overseas and sometimes some of the products on their regimen are not available this side and thanx 4 sharing how much and were you find these products, very helpful. stay blessd 🙂

    • Tendayi 02 November, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

      You’re welcome Nothando. I also love this conditioner. The packs are also very convenient if I am travelling. They are very easy to pack unlike bottles. I just carry a pack and a shower cap and Im covered!

  2. isthisvalid 03 May, 2013 at 9:56 pm #

    Hi I have recently started reading , your blog as well. Thank you for what you do because I have been struggling to maintain my hair and to keep it healthy. The other blogs are helpful but they are from women in the states and I could not find any of their products here. I am taking this new process one step at a time thanks to you.

    • Tendayi 06 May, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

      You’re very welcome 🙂 Please keep reading and good luck with your hair journey!!

  3. Zandile 27 February, 2014 at 12:12 pm #

    Hey Tendayi. What leave-in conditioners do you use? Could you possible recommend one. I currently use Mane n’ Tail. It’s been good so far, but I my hair has grown used to it. your help would be much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

