Finally had a retouch!

8 Feb

My hair around early January 2011

My hair on 5 February 2011 after a retouch

I have finally had a retouch!  I had it done on the 5th of February as planned.  I used Organic Root Stimulator relaxer just like the last time.  Looking at the two pictures comparing my hair a month ago and now it looks slightly longer and thicker.  I wonder if I can attribute that to the castor oil and honey I have been adding to my deep conditioners.  I have decided to keep up the castor oil and honey for the next three months until my next retouch.  This will enable me to compare like with like because I will take pics on the day i have the retouch done.  I plan on getting my next retouch around the 5th of May.

So back to my retouch, my hairstylist used Organic Root Stimulator (like i mentioned above).  She left the relaxer on for about 7 minutes or so then washed it out with the shampoo that comes in the kit.  She conditioned with Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner (this is also found in the kit) for about 2 minutes.  She washed out the conditioner, applied Organic Root Stimulator Heat Protection serum and blow dried the hair.  After the hair was dry she went on to flat iron it and blow dry the ends with a big round brush.  I often think this is a lot of heat to subject the hair but then I justify it by saying I only subject my hair to this every three months or so.

I’m now back to my normal routine / regimen.  As I’m typing this I’m sitting under a dome dryer with Organic Root Stimulator Hair Mayonnaise on my hair.  I’m using a protein deep conditioner to strengthen the hair after the retouch.

21 Responses to “Finally had a retouch!”

  1. Patience Hama 10 February, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    Excellent hair results there. I will have to start the regime as well

    • Tendayi 11 February, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

      Yes you need to start Patience!! You can tweak the regimen to suit you and your hair. Just as long as you deep condition at least once a week and moisturise every day.

      • Kudzi Chinyemba 12 February, 2011 at 10:18 am #

        I really love this Tendai. Your hair looks lovely, as Chipo says, it’s always been. But I know that’s just a starting point. Good care for it makes it look amazing! I have very thin hair and it’s been natural since I gave birth 5 years ago. I plait it. My hairdresser here put me on a regime for her self made product called T444Z, now my hair is long (but not as yours he he), much stronger and voluminous. My hairline is restored coz she cares for the hair even when she plaits!! Ndaakusunga zi pony, lol! Your blog will inspire me to keep going!

      • Tendayi 12 February, 2011 at 11:12 am #

        Thanks Kudzi. I was natural when my babies were born for 4 years but i was clueless. i ended up with no hairline at all! you should tell me more about T444Z. Would love to know more. Is there a website? How do you take care of it day to day?

  2. Irene Hungwe 11 February, 2011 at 9:08 am #

    HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE I LOVE YOUR HAIR I LOVE IT….WOW!!!!! AMAZING AND TRULY BEAUTIFUL!!!! YOU MUST SEND YOUR PICTURE TO ORGANICS, you never know you could appear on their boxes. At least i will have one friend who is a celebrity :-)!!!! I love organics – great product, i use the shampoos and conditioners on my daughter too! I have seen great results on people using with the castor oil and honey but for some of us with thick kinky hair already which takes a while and patience to process, would you advise us to use the castor oil and honey…?

    • Tendayi 11 February, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

      Thanks Irene! I would recommend castor oil and honey as well because it actually softens your hair. I mostly see the benefit when I am at around 8 weeks to 12 weeks after a relaxer when my growth is difficult to manage. It softens the new growth. I will make sure i do a post on castor oil and honey as well. Also remember that there are many other oils that you can use that are widely available and really beneficial to the hair eg coconut, olive, jojoba etc. Will have to do a post on oils too.

  3. Chipo 12 February, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    I love the hair. You have always had beautiful hair. I went bold just over a year ago. Hope your blog will not convince me to grow my hair again.

    • Tendayi 12 February, 2011 at 7:09 am #

      Thank you Chipo. My hair is the longest its ever been.

      I’m sure you are rocking your bald head! If this blog does convince you to grow your hair again then at least you will be starting out with a healthy head of hair 🙂

  4. Tecler 12 February, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Love love love the hair…you have always had nice healthy hair…The last couple of yrs l have always had weaves or braids for convenience…I am thinking of letting my hair out but the weather here isnt great right now, but l have to relieve my hairline or else l’ll end up with Naomi’s hairline lol…reading yo blog has given me more encouragement to take care of my hair better, and seeing your hair as well made me so jealous…I just removed a weave l had on and will try to see how long l can last without getting fed up of my hair and putting on another weave lol…I will be trying the oils too, my hair is kinky too but is managable so will certainly try the honey and oils

    You should def send yo pic to Organics…would be nice to see your pic on their products

    • Tendayi 14 February, 2011 at 9:30 am #

      Thank you and all the best Tecler!! Hair can really get tiring. I think the trick is to take care of the hair even when it is braids or weaves. Usually we tend to ignore it when we have it braided or a wearing a weave. You often find women will spray the weave and handle it with such care but ignore their own hair underneath!

  5. Vongayi 13 February, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    Hi Tendayi. I think you are doing great with your hair. I need some help. I just took out some braids which I haved never to put on my hair again. Do you think it is a good idewa to retouch right after taking braids off or is it better to leave it for a few days before retouching

    • Tendayi 14 February, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      Thanks Vongayi.
      My experience is that its better to wait maybe 2 weeks or so before getting a retouch. In those two weeks deep condition your hair maybe twice a week and make sure you moisturise it. At least one of those deep conditioning treatments should be a protein one to strengthen the hair again. Relazers can be quite traumatic to the hair. I last had braids last winter (June 2010) I had them on for 8 weeks and when i took them off i went 2 weeks before a retouch. I think my hair benefitted from it. You can browse this website that shows what is called the “crown and glory” technique. This woman used braids to grow her hair to waist length. She would go 8 weeks with braids and 8 weeks without. You can browse her methods and see adapt it to suit you and your hair. http://www.growafrohairlong.com/braidreg.html

  6. Pela 14 February, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Haa, ndiko kunonzi kuchengeta bvudzizve uku. Saka totangirawo papi? Your hair really looks beautiful, well taken care of. How do you use the castor oil and honey? My next retouch will be with these products. So you mosturise everyday with what? I think ndichatoita zvekuuya kumba kwenyu for a lecture.

    • Tendayi 14 February, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

      Pela just check out the My Regimen page. I list everything i use and how often. The deep conditioning post says how i use the castor oil and honey.

  7. Irene Hungwe 16 February, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Good idea Pela – Tendai how about a lecture at your house????? We will bring the food and you provide the lesson(lessons for some of us). Ndakatoisa hooded dryer in my budget – all road leads to Game this weekend. To all the ladies out there – i had first experience in touching tendai’s hair. Amazing, it looks so beautiful just the texture so so soft and the appearance is unbelievable!!. Haiwa we are being short changed by these hairdressers!! Tendayi that T44z (apparently it is a zimbo product) website http://www.t444z.com. Keeping sending more info.

    • Tendayi 16 February, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

      Ok Noted!! I will plan a bring and share for the ladies in Joburg / Pretoria and we can spend a morning / afternoon discussing hair. Let me find a suitable date 🙂

  8. Roslin 16 February, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Hi Tendayi, dont think we have ever met, got a link to your blog from Rumbi! You do have lovely hair.

    I love my hair too and would rather keep it relaxed than resort to weaves, wigs and braids, but maintaining it is a nightmare!I mean 3/4 of the time I wear it in a pony tail. My hair is very kinky when natural and it grows very long (family genes)but it also breaks a lot ( like I dont know anybody whose hair breaks as much as mine!) and I cant wash it or style it on my own coz it gets all tangled up so Im hoping to learn as much as I can from your blog. It also grows really fast ( another family trait) and am wondering how you can go 3 months without relaxing, how do u manage the growth? Also, my hair is pitch black and shiney naturally, but sometimes after relaxing it becomes brownish in parts, why is that I wonder? Im using D&L.It does gradually come back to its colour though.

    • Tendayi 16 February, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

      Hi Roslin
      You are fortunate to have the genes you have!! The idea to to stop your hair from breaking and to get it back to health. Washing and deep conditioning at home is easy if you are using the right products. The products should soften your hair so its easy to detangle afterwords. The way I get to 3 months between relaxing is by making sure i keep the hair moisturised. I also deep condition twice a week. Around the 2 month mark i do this religiously without fail because if i start to slacken or get lazy i notice that my hair starts to break more. You can stretch your relaxers longer if you look after you hair.

      You say your hair starts to change colour? Do you relax just the new growth when you get retouches? This is very important because the is no need to put relaxer on the whole length of the hair. It just leads to overprocessing and thins the hair.

      You may want to try other relaxers. You should ask your hairdressers opinion. I use organic root stimulator. I know other ladies who use Mizani and they are happy with the results.

  9. hope 07 December, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    Hi!Jst joined ur blog, ur hair is trully beautiful. Hope to grow mine too!I’m a Nigerian nd afraid im having problem close to naomi campbell’s. Any suggestion on how to grow my temple hair back as well as improve my whole hair length? I heard about castor oil too,can i use it daily on my scalp?

    • Tendayi 07 December, 2012 at 11:45 pm #

      hi Hope

      The first step is to find out why your temple hair is thinning. The most common cause is tight weaves or braids done over a long period. The next step is to stop whatever it is that is causing the thinning. You can do whatever you can to recover your temple hair but if you do not eliminate the cause then it will all be in vain. Castor oil is great for the scalp especially thinning areas. It encourages hair growth. It is safe to use daily on the scalp. Just use sparingly because it is very thick. Also massage it into the scalp.

      • hope 11 December, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

        Thnx so much T,I’m now using the castor oil hope it will work. Thnx my hair is so scanty n short. Its jst unhealthy i really hope ur blog will help me. I noticed a bit of lenght improvement when i retouched last wk but it cld be bcoz I’m pregnant

Leave a Reply

