Product review – The Body Shop Rainforest Moisture Shampoo

24 Feb

I came across this shampoo in The Body Shop about a month or so ago and decided to buy it.  The product range is made up of four lines – Radiance, Balance, Shine and Moisture.  I chose the moisture line because I always choose the line made for dry / damaged hair when choice is available.  What caught my attention was the fact that the packaging said “no silicones, no sulphates, no colourants, no parabens”.  It made it sound like a great shampoo.  I bought the Hair Butter from the same product line on the day as well.  I will review the Hair Butter at a later date.

I bought the 60ml size bottle.  I was glad the shampoo also came in this small size because it gives you a chance to buy it and try it out and see if you like it and are willing to invest in the full size bottle.  The 60ml bottle cost me R30.

The shampoo itself is a pale yellow colour.  It’s hard to describe the scent but I would say a mixture of honey and flowers!  It’s quite a pleasant small.  The shampoo is relatively thick.  I have used the shampoo quite a few times now.  I probably have about 10% of shampoo left in the bottle.

My Verdict

The shampoo does not lather as much as ordinary shampoos.  This is obviously due to the fact that it is sulfate free as sulfates are responsible for the lather we get in shampoos.  The shampoo also does not leave the hair feeling silky soft as other shampoos do as well.  My explanation for this was the lack of silicone in the products which give that feel to the hair.  I must say though that I wasn’t overly impressed by how my hair felt after the first use but Im gradually getting to like the shampoo.  I think you need to use the shampoo a few times for your hair to get used to a non sulphate shampoo.  Although the shampoo didn’t leave my hair feeling overly soft, my hair didn’t feel dry either.  I think when I finish this small bottle I will purchase the larger one and keep the shampoo in rotation with the other shampoos I use.  This shampoo is very gentle and would benefit those who shampoo their hair often as well as those with natural hair.

Ingredients:

Water (Solvent/Diluent), Sucrose (Depilatory Agent), Disodium Cocoyl Glutamate (Surfactant), Lauryl Betaine (Surfactant), Laureth-5 Carboxylic Acid (Surfactant – Cleansing Agent), Honey (Natural Additive), PEG-55 Propylene Glycol Oleate (Surfactant), Propylene Glycol (Humectant), Sodium Chloride (Viscosity Modifier), Glycerin (Humectant), Fragrance (Fragrance), Polyglyceryl-4 Caprate (Skin-Conditioning Agent), Sodium Benzoate (Preservative), Sucrose Laurate (Skin-Conditioning Agent), Isopropyl Alcohol (Solvent), Polyquaternium-6 (Conditioner), Salicylic Acid (Preservative/Hair Conditioner), Citric Acid (pH Adjuster), Schinziophyton Rautanenii (Mongongo) Kernel Oil (Skin-Conditioning Agent), Pentaclethra Macroloba Seed Oil (Skin-Conditioning Agent), Sodium Hydroxide (pH Adjuster), Tocopherol (Antioxidant).

Directions for use on the bottle:

Mix a small amount in the hands with water to create lather. Massage into the scalp and rinse thoroughly. Follow with Moisture Conditioner.

 

7 Responses to “Product review – The Body Shop Rainforest Moisture Shampoo”

  1. vimbai 24 February, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    this is sooo cool. l will check it out!! l also love how you are so knowledgeable about all these things 🙂

    • Tendayi 24 February, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

      Thank you Vimbai! Ive been researching for a long time now. Im still researching too!

  2. Ntombi 24 February, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Hey,
    Thanks heaps for this blog. It sure helps and I am one that’s constantly looking for better organic (or with as few chemicals as possible) products to use.

    So what are the results so far? Do post some more once you find out.

    • Tendayi 24 February, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

      Thanks for reading the blog Ntombi!

      Will post more on the shampoo. Like i said in the post i have almost run out but i will buy a larger bottle this time. Will keep you posted!

  3. Fungi 19 March, 2013 at 4:26 pm #

    Love this range, i have been using the moisture and balance shampoos and conditioner for the past year. You are right, It does not lather as much as other shampoos but it does leave my hair feeling soft. It smells so nice too.

  4. Nicole 23 July, 2013 at 7:16 pm #

    Hi…i see you mentioned you would review the hair butter? how did you find it?

    • Tendayi 24 July, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

      I ended up not using it. I gave it to my sister!!

Leave a Reply

