Hair update – 4 weeks post relaxer

10 Mar

My hair after a recent roller set. If you look closely you can see the two textures I have in my hair. The hair closest to my scalp is thicker and coarser because I am now not relaxing my hair bone straight, just loosening the curl.

 

It’s been just over 4 weeks since my relaxer of 4 February.  My new growth is now coming in but it is not yet difficult to manage.  I have kept up the mixing of honey and castor oil into my deep conditioners as well as oiling my scalp with castor oil.

Looking at my hair I’m not sure there has been any visible change in the length.  It would probably be ambitious of me to expect any.  I have noticed that the hair on my comb after styling is a bit more than usual.  I have decided to alternate a moisturising deep conditioner with a light protein deep conditioner (Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner) until my hair breakage improves.  I have no idea why there is this increased breakage.  It could be any number of things.

I will do another update in about 4 weeks.

6 Responses to “Hair update – 4 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Yeukai 10 March, 2011 at 11:44 am #

    The hair breakage might be because of weather conditions if its getting cold or if you have been doing hairstyles that strain your hair. Any hairstyle that pulls your hair at its roots will increase breakage

    • Tendayi 10 March, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

      I hope i can figure out the cause of the breakage and stop it in its tracks 😦

  2. Tecler 21 March, 2011 at 1:15 am #

    So I relaxed my hair 2 days ago with the Organic relaxer and I must say l really like the relaxer and all the stuff/options it comes with. I went to get the whole line of Organics products and will let you know how it works. I did it myself but next time I’ll go to salon…I will really try to follow you regimen coz my hair is now really dry sha nenyaya yemaweaves…

    • Tendayi 21 March, 2011 at 10:22 am #

      All the best Tecler. Let me know how it goes. Try and moisturise your hair every day as well as deep condition at least once a week. It really makes a difference.

  3. Nomusa 11 April, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    Hi Tendayi. I’m wondering what kind of rollers you used. I’ve been trying to rollerset my hair instead of flat ironing but I just can’t get the hang of the rollers here (I’m living in Canada and I can only get the smooth magnetic rollers). I’m dying to get hold of the proper rollers from Zim (with pokers and all) but I’m wondering if it’s worth the hassle of having my cousin bring them from Zim when she comes back?
    I’m not sure if the combed rollers will increase breakage and shedding?

    • Tendayi 11 April, 2011 at 5:03 pm #

      Hi Nomusa.
      I use the ordinary rollers that use pokers. I cant comment on the magnetic ones because i have never used them. Have you looked for the rollers in Indian / Asian shops? You can usually find them there. As for breakage and shedding – i haven’t had that problem with rollers. Thats actually a style that results in me losing less hair. If you have someone going to Zim then I think its worth it getting them if you cant find them where you are. Ask you cousin to buy the ones they sell in Nigerian shops. They are stronger than the ones sold in supermarkets. Alternatively she can find out where hairdressers buy theirs. They use the stronger ones because they last longer. The stronger ones are also easier to use because they do not bend as you set your hair.

Leave a Reply

