Focus on Castor Oil

24 Mar

I’ve decided to dedicate a post to castor oil and its benefits for the hair.  As I have mentioned in previous posts, I have been experimenting with castor oil for almost 2 months now.  I add it to my deep conditioners (along with honey) as well as apply it to my scalp twice a week.  I will take pics after my next relaxer due early May so I can compare with the pics I took after my last relaxer in February.  This will help me to see if the castor oil has made much difference to my hair.  Castor oil is believed to increase hair thickness and reduce breakage.  It contains Omega-9 fatty acids which help moisturise the hair and the scalp preventing both from becoming dry.

Castor Oil is derived from the castor bean and seeds of the castor plant.  It has many uses but I will just focus on uses for African hair.  It is a thick, slightly golden oil with a faint smell.  Those who can, use what is called black castor oil.  This is castor oil in its unrefined state.  It is sold by brands such as Tropical Isle and Sunny Isle. I have not come across black castor oil in South Africa.  If anyone knows if it is available here please let me know.

I use the normal castor oil that I buy from Clicks.  They sell their own brand which is the one I buy.  Castor oil can be found in most pharmacies and health stores.  Sometimes it is found in the laxative section.

Castor oil can be used in many ways.  Here are some that you may find beneficial:

  • It can be added to deep conditioners.  I add about a teaspoon to my deep conditioners each time.  I mix the deep conditioner and castor oil in a separate container before I apply to the hair.
  • You can use it to oil your scalp.  I do this twice a week after each wash on a clean scalp. It is supposed to thicken hair and promote regrowth.  This is the reason i use it to oil my scalp.  If you find it too thick you can mix it with another oil.  Mixing it with Sweet Almond Oil makes it a lighter oil and that is much easier to spread and it also gives it a nice scent.
  • It can be used for thinning hairlines due to chemical over processing from relaxers as well as traction alopecia from tight weaves and braids.
  • You can also use castor oil for the ends of your hair.  It will make your ends shiny and hide the appearance of frizzy, damaged, and split ends.  Over time, as you trim damage away, you’ll notice your hair won’t develop split ends as easily.

Do you use castor oil for your hair?  What has your experience been like?

21 Responses to “Focus on Castor Oil”

  1. Zani 03 April, 2011 at 4:00 pm #

    I can totally attest to this. I used to wonder why I had such thick and healthy hair when I was younger. Then I remembered that my mum used to use castor oil on it all the time, but then I got older and started taking care of my own hair and I didn’t use it at all because I hated the smell and I didn’t really see the need for it. I started using it 2 years ago after some hairdresser slottered my hair, for lack of a better word, and the results have been amazing. It promotes growth, makes it fuller and healthier. I base it on my scalp twice a week and I mix it with my hair lotion. Coconut oil is also great.

    • Tendayi 03 April, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

      Thanks Zani for the response. I will be doing a post early May to compare results from using castor oil. I will have used it for 3 months by then. I’m hoping for some noticeable growth.

  2. sithandekile 13 April, 2012 at 11:45 am #

    I love castor oil, used it on my receding hairline and yes it works!! Thanks for the info

  3. sherrinific 18 April, 2013 at 12:44 pm #

    Hie tendai,thanx for the blog. its awesome,I just recently bought castor oil to use on my 4a type hair so I hope it works,the problem is that I already have braids and I bought t444z two weeks ago and using it as well,iv also massaged olive oil onto my scalp,but now I’m confused.how can I work these 3 products on my hair efficiently.keep up the good work…hopefully some of us can finally have hair that we can be unashamed to wear and have some self esteem.:D

    • Tendayi 22 April, 2013 at 11:34 am #

      I think using all 3 products on your scalp concurrently would be overkill. I would suggest you use only one product for say a month and see how your reacts and whether you like it. You can then try the next product for another month and compare the results. You could use the t444z while you have braids and save the oils for when the braids come out. You can then use the oils as pre shampoo treatments or add them to your deep conditioners. You can also use them to seal in your moisturisers as well.

  4. Ndivhu 04 May, 2013 at 3:15 am #

    Hi, they have JBCO at Ruutos, visit their website http://www.ruutoshaor.com , they based in Randburg. I haven’t used it, but I’m wondering what’s the difference between JBCO and regular Castor Oil?

    • Tendayi 06 May, 2013 at 4:41 pm #

      JBCO is a dark colour while regular castor oil is yellow. JBCO is less refined than regular castor oil. It also has a strong smell of burnt roasted nuts which the regular castor oil does not. Regular castor oil works very well though. JBCO supposedly works better!

  5. TshegoM 13 May, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    Hi lady, I’ve been using castor oil for like a week now. I’m struggling to continue using it, because of the awful smell it has. I only apply it to my hairline but it smells awful Especially if I apply it before I go to work, I smell it all through the day. I brought the clicks brand, is there an alternative that I can use , one dat has no smell maybe?

    • Tendayi 14 May, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

      I’m not aware of one that has no smell. I think if you found on it would have been further processed so the smell is removed. For me the smell doesnt really bother me. Maybe you can try adding an essential oil to mask the castor oil smell. You could add a drop or two of an oil like lavender, eucalyptus, peppermint etc to mask the smell you dont like. These essential oils have added benefits for the scalp too! You can mix differnt oils together no problem. I often mix castor oil with coconut oil to get a thinner consistency.

      • TshegoM 14 May, 2013 at 1:14 pm #

        How often should I use it for optimal results? Would once before bedtime work?

      • Tendayi 14 May, 2013 at 1:18 pm #

        Use it at least once a week. If you have thinning areas you can use it every day. Once before bedtime will work. I have cornrows right now and I am using it on my scalp every day before bedtime. It really depends on your preference.

      • Precious 27 June, 2013 at 3:42 am #

        Hi! I wanna know if its ok to mix castor oil with baby oil for the smell

      • Tendayi 27 June, 2013 at 6:36 am #

        To mask the castor oil smell you would rather add a few drops of an essential oil like rosemary, lavender, peppermint, eucalyptus etc. There are hundreds of choices. These all have benefits to your hair. Baby oil is made up of mainly mineral oil and fragrance. Mineral oil is does not have much benefit when used on the hair or scalp.

  6. kudzanai 22 May, 2013 at 12:11 am #

    how much is the clicks castor oil

    • Tendayi 23 May, 2013 at 5:10 pm #

      I think its around R35 or so

      • shersit 23 May, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

        It has a range of quantities,where I buy mine,at Clicks in braam,jhb ts R17 for 100ml.there’s also coconut oil,sweet almond oil,olive oil,eucalyptus oil and others 😀

  7. Lethu 08 July, 2013 at 1:56 pm #

    I would like to know it castor oil can make my hair grow back even if there is no sign that the hair will grow back again

    • Tendayi 18 July, 2013 at 12:32 pm #

      I say give it a try Lethu. Have you been to see a dermatologist to find out why hair isnt growing in the area? I think you should start there.

  8. kim 24 July, 2013 at 12:38 am #

    Will like to place an order for the Black Jamaican Castor oil to regrow my hairline… I stay in auckland Park & hv tried everything.

    Kind regards
    Kim

Leave a Reply

