Hair update – 8 weeks post relaxer

5 Apr

My hair now - its in mostly in ponytails and buns because of the new growth

It’s now been 8 weeks since my last relaxer on 4 February 2011.  My growth is now quite visible.  Im noticing though that it is extremely soft and quite easy to manage.  I’m attributing that to the castor oil and honey that I have been adding to my deep conditioners.  I am still deep conditioning twice a week and still adding castor oil and honey to my deep conditioners.  I am now using Scurl curl activator as a moisturiser more often to help with softening the new growth.  It really works for me.

I have stopped setting my hair with rollers now.  It’s just too much effort with all the growth on my head.  I spend most of the time with my hair in a ponytail or bun.  I also wear hairbands a lot just to stop my hairstyles from becoming boring.  I have lots of hairbands – plenty of different colours, widths and textures!

In my 4 week update I complained about breakage.  I think I have managed to reduce it though I am still not happy with the hair that I am seeing on my comb.  I have been doing protein deep conditioners to try and counteract the breakage.  I have also experimented with pre-shampoo treatments.  I will write about these in my next post and tell you exactly what I did.

As for length, it does not look any longer to me.  It’s difficult to tell though.  My next relaxer is in 4 weeks when I will do a length check.  I will flat iron my hair and take a picture.  I will compare that picture with the one I took on the 4th of February at my last relaxer.  Im keeping my fingers crossed.  My aim is to grow my hair to BSL (bra strap length) and then to maintain it at that length.  BSL is the top of your bra strap where your bra crosses your back!

10 Responses to “Hair update – 8 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Carmen 05 April, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

    Hi Tendayi, I share your frustrations with the length check, just feels like hair is growing super slow and it doesn’t help us checking it every so often LOL. Anyway, I try not to think about it too much anymore at this stage I am more concerned about the health of my hair. I wanted to share my hair regimen with you. I do shampoo wash every week: Every second week I do a pre-poo (Coconut Oil) sit under hooded dryer for 30 min then shampoo (alternate between Tresemme Naturals and Bonacure Moisture Kick) then put conditioner (alternate between Tresemme Naturals and Bonacure Repair Conditioner), I use Bonacure Moisture Kick Leave-in then do rollerset and then blowdry. I do a protein treatment (mix between Tresemme Reconstructor, D&L Cholesterol treatment and ORS hair mayo) every month together with a clarifying shampoo (ORS Aloe shampoo), then closer to relaxer I would do a protein treatment twice a month. I do daily moisturising with coconut as well, as for a hair serum after blowdrying I use jojoba oil (not too much though as it can weigh your hair down). In the heat of summer I will cowash once during the week and do a shampoo wash towards the end of the week. I also do a wash n go: wash hair with conditioner (i usually use the cheaper conditioner for this purpose), towel dry use teaspoon of tresemme conditioner then I put a golf ball of Marc Anthony strictly curls mouse on my hair and let it dry. This works for that lazy weekends where I just need to take a break from all the hair woos. Lovies Carda

    • Tendayi 05 April, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

      Thank you so much for sharing Carda!

      Where do you buy Bonacure Moisture Kick? I dont think I’ve come across it. Does it have sulphates? Also how are you finding the coconut prepoo’s? I came across a prepoo recipe that uses coconut oil and aloe vera juice. Will share it in a few days time. Ive tried it once so far and liked it. Trying it again tomorrow then will write up a post. It was my first prepoo experience.

      Is your hair relaxed?

      PS Where do you live? Do you have a Style Studio there. I realised the Style Studio at Menlyn has a lot of these brands we read about on forums and blogs. Brands like Joico and Biolage. A bit pricy though but they have them.

      • tinashe 06 April, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

        struggling with breakage at the moment. relaxed hair on 22 march, have washed and oil treated it once so far. any suggestions to minimise breakage and to grow my hair> it’s only NL length.

      • Tendayi 07 April, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

        Hi tinashe!
        Breakage is something that is so common! I find when my hair breaks its usually a sign that its lacking protein or moisture. I usually do a protein deep conditioner especially soon after a relaxer because relaxers break the protein bonds in our hair. I usually use Organic Root Stimulator for that but there are so many more especially out there where you are. If you can read the following posts that deal directly with breakage as well as moisture and protein. When your hair thrives its usually because you have managed to get the optimal protein moisture balance for it.

        https://africanhairblog.wordpress.com/2011/01/20/hair-breakage-whats-causing-it/
        https://africanhairblog.wordpress.com/2011/01/12/moisture-moisture-moisture-and-protein/

  2. Carda 05 April, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    Hi Tendayi I stay in Joburg, we do have a style studio in Clearwater Mall, so i will definately go make a turn next time. I buy the Bonacure products from a Salon (Jeauval Hairsalons) I am sure you can get it from any salon that stocks the schwarzkopf products. It does contain sulfates but it makes my hair feel really nice. As i use it twice a month (alternate with Tresemme Naturals with the lower sulfates) it works really well. Also a bit pricier then your normal store products. As mentioned previously I tried all the oils and prepoos that I’ve read about in the hair forums and blogs, and found that coconut works best for me. After a coconut prepoo my hair feels moisturised and soft but not oily as I still want that bounce after a blowdry, also think the heat makes the coconut oil penetrate the hair even better. I bought my coconut oil from Diskem (it’s the extra virgin cold pressed jar), i think i paid around R60.00 and even though I’ve been using it for 6 months i still have half a jar left (love value for money products). I am one week post relaxer after a 24 week stretch, before that i did a full year stretch (as my hair was badly damaged from relaxer and doing colour same time). I will be trimming my hair this weekend after about 3 months looking forward to those feathery soft bounchy ends. What i have learned through my hair journey (it’s been 10 months) is that i am not going to stress about length, it will come when it’s ready (took a lot of prayer from my side to get to this mind set), but to encourage a rather healthier hair lifestyle.Lovies Carda PS: did you buy the SCurl at Style Studio as well?

    • Tendayi 05 April, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

      24 week stretch is amazing! 12 weeks is the longest i have gone so far.

      I bought the S-curl in Clicks Centurion Mall. Ive seen it at Click Menlyn mall as well.

  3. Carda 05 April, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Hi just thought i’ll share with you, when I normally get towards the end of my stretching and my hair is just wild and out of control I opt for a rollerset (as the curl doesn’t make the roots appear so wild) but then I put a hairband on. That normally works for me also try and make yourself a satin bonnet (especially if you want to reserve your curls for the next day).

    • Tendayi 05 April, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

      Thanks for the tips Carda. I had given up on roller sets! Will try again over the weekend. Was just saying to myself why bother with all this growth! As for hairbands, I have so so many!!

  4. Yeukai 05 April, 2011 at 5:22 pm #

    i think we need to understand that hair naturally has cycles, so when its time is up, it will break thats the stuff you will see on your comb even after all the moisturising. However the good news is that it opens the way for new healthier hair growth. So minimal breakage is normal.

    Also with age the time of rest between hair growth phases is longer.

    • Tendayi 05 April, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

      You are so right Yeukai. Health before lengthl

Leave a Reply

