Pre shampoo treatments

8 Apr

A pre shampoo treatment is a treatment you do on your hair before shampooing it.  On hair boards it is referred to as a pre poo treatment!

I have been reading about pre poo treatments for some time now but I had never tried them.  They just seemed like so much work!  I decided to give pre poos a try last week when I came across a pre poo treatment that sounded interesting.  The pre poo treatment I tried was devised by a blogger called Chicoro.  She has waist length natural hair!  I thought to myself, she must be doing something right!  There can be no harm in trying.  Remember though that all hair is different and what may work for someone elses hair may not work for yours.

Firstly let me say a bit more about pre poos.  It is done to condition the hair as well as to protect the hair from harsh shampoos.  There are many things that can be used to pre poo eg oils (coconut, olive, castor, jojoba, avocado, wheatgerm, hemp seed etc), coconut milk, aloe vera juice / gel, conditioners, honey or a combination of these.  From my reading on the internet, coconut oil is a very popular choice for pre poos.

To pre poo you apply your oils or mixture to dry or damp hair.  You cover your hair with a plastic cap for anything from 15 minutes to overnight.  You then shampoo your hair and proceed to deep condition and moisturise as usual.  Some choose to sit under a hooded dryer and so keep the pre poo on the hair for a shorter time.

The pre poo I tried by Chicoro is a moisturising pre poo.  It is supposed to leave your hair feeling moisturised.  Here are the details:


Things you will need:

In a bowl mix

· ½ cup of aloe vera juice or whole leaf aloe vera

· 1-2 tablespoons of your favorite oil (olive, castor, jojoba, avocado, grapeseed, hemp seed etc)

In a separate bowl melt

· ¼ cup coconut oil (sit the bottle or jar in hot water to melt – do not put in microwave or on the stove)

You may need more or less of this mixture.  I used about ¾ of the mixture and threw the rest away.

1.  Using your fingers, separate your hair into 4- 8 sections. If your hair is caked with hard product, rinse your hair first.  Apply the mixture of aloe vera juice and oil to the hair one section at a time.  If your hair is long pin each section up to get it out of the way.  Ensure the mixture goes on the hair from root to tip.  Make sure all your strands are covered.

2.  You should have a head full of aloe vera mixed with oil pinned up sections.  Go back to the first section you did.  Undo it, pour the liquid coconut oil in your hand and work through the section. Pin it up again and repeat on whole head.  Place a plastic shower cap on your head for 15-60 minutes. Your pre poo is complete.

3.  Shampoo, deep condition and moisturise your hair as usual.

I found this pre poo really moisturising. I slept with it in my hair overnight.  My hair actually felt different afterwards.  It is something I think I will continue doing maybe once a month or so.  My only gripe was that the aloe vera and oil mixture is very watery so it was messy getting it on my head.  The second time I did it I bought a spray bottle and it was not as messy.  Also the first time I used too much of the aloe vera and oil and it was running down my neck!

I bought the aloe vera juice from Clicks.  I bought a 500ml bottle but with the 2 pre poos I did I used less than half the bottle.  Once opened I kept it in the fridge.  The aloe vera juice is marketed for drinking and is packaged in a PET bottle similar t the plastic bottles for soft drinks.  It is preserved with sodium benzoate and citric acid and contains 99.8% aloe vera juice.

I used wheatgerm oil in my aloe vera and oil mixture.  This was the only oil (besides castor oil) that I had in the house.  I decided to use wheat germ oil since I use castor oil for almost everything else.

 

17 Responses to “Pre shampoo treatments”

  1. Ify Ugoh 08 April, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

    Thanks for the pre shampoo treatment pls pls can you help with dandruff treatment i have tried so many medication but i haven’t observe any change. Tnx

    • Tendayi 08 April, 2011 at 11:19 pm #

      Hi Ify
      Dandruff is a tricky one because it can be caused by so many things. In my case my dandruff issues were solved by more frequent washing (i wash twice a week) as well as the use of oils on the scalp. I have not had the problem since I started doing these things. Among other things dandruff can be caused by:
      1. over production of sebum
      2. dry scalp
      3. scalp psoriasis
      4. scalp dermatitis due to irritation from products.

      Some people have had success with peppermint oil, products that contain sulphur and tea tree oil. Your best bet may be to visit a dermatologist who can find the exact cause of the dandruff.

  2. Irene Hungwe 14 April, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    Hi tendai,

    Just to add on this one – my immediate remedy to dandruff is add tea tree to your shampoo and then keep a spray bottle mist for daily use – aloe juice, glycerin and rose water. Works like a charm!

  3. Irene 13 June, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    Hi Tendayi

    I have braided my hair in singles and would like to know how can i keep them moisturerised and clean. I prefer singles because i like to wash my hair often atleast twice a month while in braids. I don’t know whether that is sufficient and what can you suggest. Braids allow me to relax my hair only twice an year. My hair lenght is below my shoulder blades. Please advice.

  4. Tumi 24 August, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    I just pre poo my hair will make it overnight then I use black tea rinse,can I do this in one week or do I have to leave few days in between?

    • Tendayi 24 August, 2012 at 5:12 pm #

      You can do it all in one sitting if you have the time (and energy!)

  5. Doreen 27 November, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

    hie Tendai

    i use organic root stimulator to relax and my hair is so thin and breaks easily.is there anything i can do to increase the bulkiness of my hair and to prevent it from breaking easily. and also could you please help me find out hw long i must wait after i shampoo my hair before i can relax. thank you

    • Tendayi 27 November, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

      The thing about relaxers is that they also need to be applied correctly. They need to be applied only to new growth and also only for a certain amount of time. Leaving relaxer on the hair for too long or relaxing all the hair every time leads to over processing and thus breakage. Once relaxed the hair needs to be cared for properly to ensure that it doesnt break.

      After shampooing wait around 3 days before relaxing.

  6. Iris 01 May, 2013 at 8:24 am #

    I enjoy this very much. TL’s for the advice.

  7. grace 22 May, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    Hi Tendayi I used to braid my hair now in on the forehead the is no hair what should I do to have my hair back

    • Tendayi 23 May, 2013 at 5:09 pm #

      Hi Grace

      I have a post that deals with hairline thinning. Take a look here – http://africanhairblog.com/2013/02/27/thinning-hairlines/

      What i can tell you is that hairlines thin for a reason. It could be anything from hairstyles (tight braids and weaves) to hormones (pregnancy, post pregnancy, menopause, presence of ovarian cysts, birth control pills etc). It can also be hereditary. You need to find out why your hailine is thinning before you can begin dealing with it. Read the artice because it has lots of detail.

  8. Diamond 12 June, 2013 at 4:35 am #

    Ok thank you so I can’t use coconut oil for my edges

    • Tendayi 12 June, 2013 at 4:13 pm #

      off course you can if thats the oil you prefer. Its just that castor oil is specially known to help with hair regrowth.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Relaxer Update « africanhairblog - 05 November, 2012

    […] pre shampoo treatments at least once a week with coconut oil.  I really see the benefits of this when I do […]

  2. Cornrows are out | africanhairblog - 03 July, 2013

    […] castor oil mix between the lines. I then undid the cornrows and wore a shower cap overnight as a pre shampoo treatment using the oil mix on my hair. The next morning I shampooed and deep conditioned and then put the […]

Leave a Reply

