Meet Nadege

15 Apr


I came across Nadege’s  (pronounced Na-dezh) blog on the internet while I was reading up on relaxed hair.  I was immediately taken by how thick her hair is and how healthy it looks.  I  got in touch with her and asked if I could do a feature on her.  I’m so glad she agreed!  I asked her a few questions that she answers below.

1.  Where are you from and where do you live?  

I was born in Haiti and moved to the Unites States when I was little.  Currently I live in Florida.

2.  What is your hair type?

I’m a type 4 b/c (see this post on hair types).  I have very thick, coarse hair that’s very fragile.  Breakage has been my enemy for years.

3.  How long is your hair?

Currently my hair is mid back length.  Over the past year or so I’ve focused on obtaining thickness so I’ve switched to a mild relaxer and have seen some great results.

4.  What is your regimen?

I wash my hair once weekly and roller set.  The most important aspect of my regimen is the pre-poo step.  I really take my time to section and apply product to as much hair as possible while it’s still dry.  When my hair is wet I don’t get the opportunity to section the hair like I want to because it’s so fragile.  After I pre-poo, I wash with  Hair One Conditioning Cleanser (*africanhairblog note – in South Africa you can find this product in Dischem).  This “shampoo” helps support the moisture I introduced during the pre-poo.  Next, I deep condition the hair.  I have a few deep conditioners on rotation.  I tend to reach for strengthening moisturising conditioners because my hair revolts when I use too much protein.  Sometimes I’ll mix in a little bit of a protein conditioner into my staple if my hair needs additional support.  Some of my current products in rotation are Aveda Damage Remedy, Biolage Hydrating Balm (*africanhairblog note – I have seen this product in Style Studio in South Africa), Keracare Humecto, and Silicon Mix.  I try to also incorporate ceramides into my regimen so I mix in some Biolage Cera Repair Pro with my leave in conditioner.  Finally, once the roller set is dry, I use Gleau Argan Oil (*africanhairblog note – see Nadege’s blog for more on Gleau Argan Oil) blend to seal in the moisture and create softness.

5.  What are the staple products that you use? 

The only product I use throughout the week is Gleau Oil.  My hair loves oils so this product is perfect for me.  It has such a wide variety of healthy oils in it that my hair gets exactly what it needs whether it is ceramides, protein or fatty acids.  I also like the fact that it’s free of silicones and mineral oil.

6.  What are some of your favorite hairstyles? 

I’m not a protective styler so I wear my hair out most of the time.  Sometimes I’ll start the day in a bun but that doesn’t last long.  Because I know this way of wearing my hair isn’t ideal, I really focus on keeping my hair healthy by giving it hair food vs. hair product.

7.  Have you ever had any hair problems or setbacks? 

Oh yes, my journey has been plagued with set backs.  The first few times the set backs were a result of me not being diligent in my regimen.  Back when I had the most severely damaged areas, I came to the conclusions that I wasn’t sectioning my hair to apply product throughout.  As a result, parts of my hair suffered greatly.  By the time I realized it, the damage was done.  This is why I have such a detailed pre-poo regimen so every strand receives the beneficial product.  I’ve also suffered setbacks from visiting Dominican salons too frequently.  Once I curbed that habit, the thickness started to come back.

8.  How long has it taken for your hair to get to the length it is?

I’ve been on my hair journey for years.  There have been many ups and downs.  I’ve gained length, lost it all and gained it back again.  This time I have more certainty that I’m on the right track.  I feel this way because I’m really focusing on the basics.  I rarely buy new, hot products any more.  I use one product throughout the week and really focus on maximising my wash and set.  My formula for success is to consistently give the hair what it needs while looking for ways to get even better.  The hair responds to everything we do. If we’re too rough, it’ll respond. If we give it what it’s missing it’ll also respond.  I try to pay close attention to what my hair is saying to me and respond accordingly. (*africanhairblog note – this is some great advice!)

9.  Any hair care secrets you would like to share? 

Get healthy hair by starting from the inside out.  I really believe that a nutrient rich diet will manifest itself on the outside in the form of healthy hair.  I also believe in the philosophy of dealing with hair issues one at a time. Prioritise, focus and target your regimen to eradicate the issues one by one.

10.  How do you manage to squeeze hair care into a busy life? 

I have a very simple regimen during the week.  By using just one powerful product that does its job, I’m saving time.  When I wash on the weekend, I take my time and invest several hours so my hair can enjoy the benefit throughout the week.  The more time I invest into treating my hair during the wash, the more time I save later on.

You can read Nadege’s blog on http://relaxedhairhealth.blogspot.com/ to follow her hair care journey.

3 Responses to “Meet Nadege”

  1. Phumzile 05 April, 2013 at 12:30 am #

    ❤ loved this entry

  2. lucy 07 April, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    Hi love her hair especially the thickness!Are you still using Mizani moisturefuse conditioner?I’m considering buying it and just wanted your opinion.Love the blog:)

    • Tendayi 08 April, 2013 at 9:03 am #

      Yes I still use it. I love it. I find it very moisturising and it makes my hair super soft.

Leave a Reply

