Hair update – 12 weeks post relaxer

5 May

12 weeks post relaxer. Not bothering to comb my hair anymore!

I’m finally 12 weeks post relaxer!  Really glad this day is here.  I have so much growth and it’s a lot of work dealing with two textures of hair (the new growth and the straight relaxed hair).  Im having a relaxer tomorrow and I will take pics and write up a post.  I will probably share them after the weekend.

I have a lot of growth but I must say it is much softer than the last time I was 12 weeks post relaxer.  I’m attributing that to the castor oil and honey.  I think my hair is lighter as well.  I read somewhere that honey makes hair lighter.  I don’t mind though, I’ll just call it natural highlights!

As for growth, I definitely have lots of new growth but I don’t know if that will translate to visible length.  I will take pics after the relaxer and compare with pics I took soon after my last relaxer 12 weeks ago on the 5th of February 2011.  Just looking at my hair though it doesn’t look longer!  Will see tomorrow!

Growth has definately set in!

2 Responses to “Hair update – 12 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Irene Hungwe 05 May, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    Noku definitely has your hair genes tendayi…just that you did not notice that you have beautiful hair like your daughter. A quick question – should you increase the number of times you condition your hair once the growh start cripping in to avoid breakage. Can you also do a article on pre and post retouch – what have you done in preparation for your retouch tomorrow…and what are you going to do after your relax. Cant wait to see the pictures of your hair tomorrow…

    • Tendayi 05 May, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

      Thank you Irene. The major difference between my hair and Noku’s is our hair type. Her curls are quite loose. When her hair is wet it actually straightens. I think her hair type is 3c. Mine on the other hand is very kinky!

      To answer your question, usually around 8 weeks or so I start conditioning my hair more often. Instead of twice a week i start conditioning it every third day. I do this to keep it moisturised because i find the more growth i have the more difficult it is to moisturise. I also step up on the protein treatments as well. My first deep conditioning after the relaxer will be a protein one. This will be to counteract the chemical process of the relaxer as relaxers can be damaging to the hair. Like you suggested, I will work on a post so I can explain exactly what I do.

Leave a Reply

