Time for a length check!

9 May

My hair on 5 February 2011 after a relaxer

My hair on 6 May 2011. I estimate i have gained between 2 and 3 cm in length 🙂

So I’ve finally had my relaxer. I had it on Friday 6 May 2011.

I went to a hair salon.  I haven’t yet mastered the art of relaxing my own hair at home.  I went to the same salon and used the same hairstylist that I used 12 weeks ago.  I will keep going to her because I like her.  She knows about hair and she doesn’t relax my hair bone straight which makes it looks fuller.  She is actually the one who suggested I only relax my hair for a few minutes so it isn’t bone straight.  She has been relaxing my hair that way since then.

I used Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Relaxer (regular strength) – same as last time.  My hairstylist applied the relaxer from the back of my head working towards my forehead.  This ensures that my hairline gets the relaxer for a shorter time.  It’s also ideal for my hair because it is much coarser in the back of my head.  She left the relaxer on for a few minutes before washing it off.  She then blowdried the hair until it was dry, applied a heat protectant and flat ironed the hair.  She went on to blow dry the ends with a large round brush (to add volume).  I asked her whether I needed a trim and she said no.

So what do I think?  Well Im loving my hair.  IT HAS GROWN!!  It is between 2 and 3 cm longer than 12 weeks ago.  I know this because I wore the shirt I wore when I had my last relaxer and marked where my hair reaches now.  The shirt has a seam across the back where my hair reached 12 weeks ago.  It is now about 3m below that seam.  I’m overjoyed.  It seems my efforts are paying off.  Im must also add that my hair has never been this long before.  I’m over the moon!!!

So what do I attribute this growth to?  Well I guess I should list what I have been doing these past 12 weeks.

  • I deep conditioned twice a week religiously throughout the 12 weeks.
  • I added castor oil and honey to each deep conditioning treatment.  I also did this religiously.
  • I applied castor oil to my scalp after each wash when my hair was dry.  I didn’t do this religiously though, I think I did this about 75% of the washes.
  • I paid particular attention to breakage.  I made every effort to minimise it.  I was much gentler when combing and detangling.
  • I did not use any direct heat in the 12 weeks between relaxers.  Just indirect heat when I used a dome dryer for deep conditioning.

So what next?  Well I will continue with what I was doing for the past 12 weeks.  Winter is starting here so I just hope I don’t have a setback.  Winter will bring its own challenges.  I am contemplating getting braids done for between 6 to 8 weeks during winter.  I will only get the braids done when my hair is more than 4 weeks post relaxer when it’s stronger.

I will relax my hair again 12 weeks – around early August 2011.

The wind in my hair! 🙂

10 Responses to “Time for a length check!”

  1. Lungile 09 May, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Hi Tendayi, I came across your blog while searching the net for hair products on friday, and aren’t I happy I did!!! 🙂 For a while I’d been searching and wondering if there are any south african blogs for relaxed hair, so it was such a relief to find yours. I’m starting my healthy/long hair journey and I’ve been reading up a lot. Your blog is very helpful, and clarified a lot of things, so I’ll certainly refer to it from now on. And I must say, I Absolutely LOVE YOUR HAIR!!! You have really inspired me to go for it!! 🙂 🙂

    • Tendayi 10 May, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      Thank you Lungile! I was also frustrated by the lack of hair blogs originating from Africa and written by a woman actually living in Africa. I’ve been trying to feature fellow bloggers with great hair on the blog and I am having a hard time finding African bloggers living in Africa! I’m still searching! Ive realised though that there are many women (in SA) passionate about hair just like I am they just don’t have a blog. I’ve even met one of them!
      I haven’t been on this journey long. I’ve been interested in hair but was frustrated by how all the blogs I read referred a lot to products I had no access to. I decided to write my own blog and in the process document and track what i was doing to my hair as well as what I was using.

      • Mrs. Kavuli Nyali-Binase 23 May, 2011 at 9:28 am #

        Shame Tendayi, I guess you forgot about my blog which originates in South Africa and that I also live in Cape Town. Yes, there aren’t as many bloggers as we would like them to be, but we do exist like you said. I encourage you to check the blog out again. Maybe we could do a collaboration. Cheers!

      • Tendayi 23 May, 2011 at 9:49 am #

        I had not forgotten your blog Kavuli! I have actually been to it several times. I was under the impression that you were only in South Africa temporarily. I didn’t realise you actually live here permanently.

  2. Carda 10 May, 2011 at 7:09 am #

    Hi Tendayi
    Your hair looks lovely and I can also see the visible growth, well done.

    • Tendayi 10 May, 2011 at 10:41 am #

      Thank you Carda!! Its a work in progress. At least I now have an idea of what works for my hair unlike in the past when i would just do things blindly!

  3. Irene Hungwe 11 May, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    hep the growth is there…especially with the picture that you used to show your first hair journey and your hair looks much softer too. Great job! If you have braids please share your regime with me…tried conditioning my hair with braids…not a good experience and went through two bouts of flu…the hair just would not dry fast enough. Thanks for sharing the info….keep it coming!!

    • Tendayi 11 May, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

      Thanks Irene. Will keep you posted on progress!

  4. patience 16 May, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    lovely hair tendayi!!!!

Leave a Reply

