Focus on coconut oil

20 May

Coconut oil has been used for generations in hair care by women in the tropics.  Just looking at the health of these womens hair will have most of us reaching for a bottle to try ourselves!

 Coconut oil has a very light consistency.  It penetrates the hair easily and nourishes it.  Because it penetrates the hair, it is extremely beneficial for those with dry, damaged hair.  It also binds to the natural protein structure of the hair, helping the hair retain its natural moisture content and reinforcing the hair fibre, making the hair stronger.  The oil can be used as a pre shampoo treatment, mixed into deep conditioners, applied to the hair after washing or applied to the scalp.

I have some coconut oil which I bought in a pharmacy.  You can also buy it in health shops as well.  Buy extra virgin / unrefined coconut oil.  This is so your hair can get the maximum benefits.  Depending on the temperature it will either be a clear liquid (in warm temperatures) or a solid block (in cooler temperatures).  To melt it you can place the jar in warm water or simply rub it between your hands.

I have used coconut oil as a pre shampoo treatment about three times now.  Each time I applied coconut oil, placed a shower cap on my head and tied it down with a scarf.  I then went to bed and washed it out in the morning, following on with my usual deep conditioning and moisturising.  Each time I have done this my hair has felt much stronger afterwards.  It can be quite a messy treatment but I have found it to be really beneficial.  I have also recently been using a bit on my ends after moisturising.

 Give coconut oil a try and let me know what you think.

13 Responses to “Focus on coconut oil”

  1. patience 07 June, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    I have started using coconut oil in my hair like this as well, and I have seen the results, my hair is shiny but not the vaseline weighed down look- Cheers

    • Tendayi 07 June, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

      It really works! Keep at it and you will see the changes in your hair!

  2. Zenzi 02 September, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    I will definitely try this out,thank you!

    • Tendayi 02 September, 2011 at 1:24 pm #

      You’re welcome Zenzi 🙂

  3. Tariro 06 September, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    i’ve developed “moisturiser phobia” (nothing was making me happy) so at the moment i am using coconut oil as my daily moisturiser. somewer in between the coconut oil and the castor oil, my hair is visibly thicker and stronger 🙂

    • Tendayi 06 September, 2011 at 10:21 am #

      lol Tariro – ‘moisturiser phobia’!! So how do you use the coconut oil? Do you wet your hair first?

  4. Lu Cavalcanti 20 February, 2013 at 6:45 pm #

    You can make your own coconut oil, you just need the coconut (brown one), the water of the coconut, or if the coconut water is not that much less than 2 tablespoon , you can add water, you mix it in a blender, but enough to make a paste, the quantity of water you add is like 2 tablespoon plus the coconut water, after that you have to boil it, around 8 minutes, then put in a cup, cover with plastic and leave it 48 hours in the fridge, after that you have your own oil, I actually do eat this coconut oil ( for my weight loss diet), but I also use it on my hair.xx

    • Tendayi 21 February, 2013 at 3:51 pm #

      I had no idea this is how coconut oil is made! Thank you!

  5. portia 21 February, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    Hi its portia here pls help a sister out where can I get coconut oil???

    • Tendayi 21 February, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

      Its available in SA from Clicks or Dischem. I buy from Dischemn. Mine is a brand called Milbrook and costs R93 for a 500ml jar.

  6. maureen 22 February, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

    where can i buy this africanhairblog

    • Tendayi 24 February, 2013 at 9:42 am #

      You can buy coconut oil in pharmacies and health shops as well as beauty shops. In South Africa, I but it in Dischem.

Leave a Reply

