Meet Kavuli

27 May

I met Kavuli online and was drawn by how healthy her hair looks.  I was also drawn to the fact that she lives in South Africa just like me!  I got to ask her a few hair related questions.  Enjoy!

1.         Where are you from and where do you live?

Well, I’m half South African and half Kenyan but I’ve always called South Africa home.   I live in beautiful Cape Town, South Africa at this point in my life.

2.         What is your hair type?

I have extremely fine and curly hair.  The perimeter is mainly 3c while the centre of my hair is a kinky 4a.   The curls in the middle of my hair need less coaxing in order to be somewhat uniform. 

3.         How long is your hair?

 I recently did a length check and I’m at BSL (Bra Starp Length).   I’m really excited and proud that all my hard work has finally paid off.   My next goal is MBL (Mid Back Length).

4.         What is your regimen?

Daily

  •       Moisturize my ends with Organics by Africa’s Best Carrot Oil Cream because it’s water based.
  •       Seal my ends with Extra Virgin Coconut Oil.
  •       Massage my scalp with my Cayenne Pepper Oil growth aid.
  •       Set my hair in bantu knots, twist & curl or braids and cover with a satin bonnet.

Weekly

  •       Once a week I deep condition with a moisturising conditioner.  Anything that says moisturising on the bottle.  I might add some coconut and avocado oil.   I deep condition overnight and rinse in the morning.  I ALWAYS AIR DRY!
  •       Once a week I deep condition with a protein conditioner.  If I don’t have a protein conditioner, I add an egg to anything and mix it up.  I always add Extra Virgin Olive Oil and Castor Oil and my Cayenne Pepper Oil to my protein treatments.  Don’t ask me why… I ALWAYS DEEP CONDITION OVERNIGHT!

Monthly

  •       I clarify with a clarifying shampoo, and if I don’t have one in stock I just add baking soda to whatever shampoo I do have. (*africanhairblog note – a clarifying shampoo removes all the excess build up of oils, moisturisers, dirt etc you might have accumulated on your hair/scalp).
  •      I do a hot oil treatment with Extra Virgin Coconut Oil or my Cayenne Pepper Oil which has a ton of Coconut oil in it.

5.         Why have you chosen to be natural?

Believe it or not, I stopped relaxing my hair back in the year 2000 when the music I was listening to began to influence my mind.  Music artists like Mos Def, Common, Dead Prez & Pharoah Monch sang about a black womans natural hair and it made me want to drop the ‘Creamy Crack’ (relaxers) and run for the hills.  I grew my relaxer out allowing my natural curl pattern to come through.  It was beautiful!  I haven’t looked back since.

6.         What are the staple products that you use?

 Coconut oil, olive oil, a water based moisturiser and moisturising conditioner.  My hair has all it needs with these staples.

7.         What are some of your favourite hairstyles?

My favourite hairstyles have to be the bantu knot out and the twist ‘n’ curl.  I get beautiful heatless curls without the fuss.

8.         Have you ever had any hair problems or setbacks?

I actually have seborrheic dermatitis on my scalp (*africanhairblog note – seborrheic dermatitis ia a common skin disorder that mainly affects the scalp, causing scaly, itchy, red skin and stubborn dandruff).  If I don’t take good care of my scalp it becomes very itchy.  We all know that scratching your scalp is a big no-no, so I keep on top of my hot oil treatments and deep conditions.  This keeps my scalp happy and my curls growing.

9.         How long has it taken for your hair to get to the length it is?

It took me approximately one year to grow from shoulder length to bra strap length.  I may have gotten there earlier but I try not to stretch my hair for length checks too often.  I feel that a watched pot of water never boils (*africanhairblog note – I love this saying!).

10.     Any hair care secrets you would like to share?

I don’t know if I would call any of this a secret, but I swear by deep conditioning, scalp massages and hot oil treatments.   I deep condition to keep my hair moist, massage my scalp to increase blood flow to my hair follicles and use hot oil treatments on a regular basis to keep my strands soft.  Everything else is left up to patience and common sense.

11.     How do you manage to squeeze hair care into a busy life?  

It’s definitely not easy finding time to tend to my hair.  However, I will say that I always make time for things that are important to me.  If it means that I have to get up an hour earlier or go to bed a few hours later in order to give my hair what it needs…I do it!  I will also say that keeping my regimen as simple as possible cuts down on a significant amount of time spent on my hair.

You can read Kavuli’s hair blog on http://goodhairdiaries.blogspot.com or follow her on twitter on  @goodhairdiaries.

 

Her hair is BSL

 

5 Responses to “Meet Kavuli”

  1. Heldiii 19 June, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

    Hi Kavuli 🙂
    Can You tell me where U buy ur cayene pepper oil and ur extra virgin coconut oil?
    I also stay In Cape town.I Cannot find it at clicks :/ which is the closest farmacy by my house. PLEASE HELP ME.

    • Tendayi 19 June, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

      Hi Heidiii

      I will ask Kavuli to respond to you!

    • Kavuli 19 June, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

      Hi there!

      I believe we spoke via email today regarding castor oil and coconut oil. I purchase them both at Clicks and Dischem in Cavendish Mall.

      As for my Cayenne Pepper Oil, you can find the recipe to make it on my blog. http://goodhairdiaries.blogspot.com

      I hope this helps!

    • Kavuli 19 June, 2012 at 11:41 pm #

      Hello there!

      I believe we spoke via email this afternoon regarding me buying my oils from Clicks and Dischem in Cavendish Mall.

      EVOO can be purchased at any supermarker and the recipe to my cayenne pepper oil is on my website. Just put “Cayenne Pepper Oil” into the search field and all the info you need will pop up.

      Good luck!

  2. Heldiii 20 June, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    Thanks Tendayi and Kavuli :)´
    Yeas Kavuli we spoke via emal yesterday. 🙂
    You guys are helping me alott 🙂
    Thanks and Gud luck For both of You.
    Peace be with You.

Leave a Reply

