Meet Aphro

3 Jun

Another inspiring hair story for you!  I came across Aphro’s hair blog a few months ago and subscribed to it.  From then on I have come to discover that we have a lot of things in common including the fact that we are both Zimbabwean!  She graciously agreed to answer some questions about her hair.  Read on…

1.      Where are you from and where do you live?

I’m Zimbabwean and live in Australia

2.      What is your hair type?

4A hair type

3.      How long is your hair?

It’s between shoulder and bra-strap length

4.      What is your regimen? (daily, weekly monthly)

I believe in simple hair care regimes as I lead a busy life. I created an all encompassing hair care regime that I’ve shared with the world on www.phrophro.com, my hair care blog.  It’s called the ‘Back to Health’ regime which aims to get hair healthy via a targeted approach.

My routine includes the following:

Daily – I wrap my hair every night before I go to sleep.  This ensures that my hair remains straight and means that I don’t use heat on it.  I’ve been heat free for almost a year now.  If my hair feels dry at this stage, I lightly add some coconut oil as it has amazing properties that tie really well with the needs of our delicate hair.

Weekly – My weekly routine is based on 4 steps:

  • Prepoo – I pre condition my hair with coconut oil before I shampoo it.  This is a method of providing hair with moisture before shampooing as shampoos tend to strip required oils from your hair.  I cover my hair in a cap for about an hour and I use this time to do a few things around the house.
  • Shampoo – I then use a sulphate free shampoo.  I use it mainly to wash my scalp and then use the foam to rinse out the rest of my hair.  I do this gently, ensuring I don’t tangle my hair.
  • Condition – I use Vatika products to deep condition my hair.  I place my hair in a cap for about 10 minutes while I shower. I rinse out.  While my hair is still wet, I add coconut-oil – in moderation.  I air dry totally and when my hair is dry, I wrap it.  I DO NOT flat iron my hair at all.
  • Moisturising – I moisturise with coconut oil and S-Curl No Drip, and use castor oil on my edges (massage in gently).

Monthly – I use an alternative shampoo  to clarifying shampoo for my hair as I’d like to go as organic as possible.  I mix baking soda (great cleanser) with water, and massage that gently into my scalp.  After I wash it out completely, I then shampoo and deep condition my hair.

5.       How long do you go between relaxers?
I don’t have a set time between relaxers after the recommended 6 week period. I’m at the stage in my routine where assessing my hair determines what I do next, not necessarily a set time.  I will say this though, for those that want to stretch their relaxers, do so understanding that the different hair textures (relaxed hair vs your growth)  may cause your hair to break.  There needs to be an intense infusion of moisture on the hair and a change in your hair care regime.  If you can’t manage the breakage, it’s best to relax your hair.  Ensure that when you do retouch, avoid over processing which will weaken, therefore break your hair.

6.      Do you wear braids / weaves?  How do you take care of your hair when braided or in weaves?

I’ve never had a weave.  I just recently took our corn rows that I had on for 3 weeks. The last time I braided my hair would have been about 4 years ago.  I do have a video blog of how I took care of it while it was cornrowed.  Generally I tend to avoid braiding and weaving out of choice.  But those two are great protective styles when done right.

7.      What are the staple products that you use?

I believe in using organic products that do not use a lot of ingredients that could be harsh on my hair and scalp. Right now I moisturise with 100% Coconut Oil created by Parachute (Indian Product) and S-Curl No Drip (which has no lanolin, mineral oil, petroleum and petrolatum).  I shampoo my hair with Organix (it has no sulphate).  I also use Castor Oil (simple no brand product from my local pharmacy).

8.      How do you style your hair day to day?

I mostly comb my hair out as I believe in the notion that ‘we should enjoy our hair’ even while we’re going through the journey of making it more healthy.  The products I use do not weigh my hair down, which is critical if you want to have the right manageability and the feeling of flowing hair.  In the colder months, I tie it back more often to protect it from harsh in-door heating and low temperatures outside.

9.      Have you ever had any hair problems or setbacks?

So far with the all encompassing hair care regime that I’ve created, I haven’t had any setbacks.  I will say though that my age old wish is to have thicker hair at my edges. Right now to strengthen them, I’m massaging my edges with castor oil every night before I wrap my hair.

10.  How long has it taken for your hair to get to the length it is?

I really can’t say because I actually got into this to get my hair healthy.  My hair grew up to a certain length (neck length), and then stopped; well in my eyes anyway.  My ends were really dry, hair didn’t flow, was limp, didn’t look good or feel right.  I just wanted my hair to be healthy and I’m learning that a derivative of healthy hair is hair that grows. I’ve shared with my followers, a hair journey photo album that goes through different styles I’ve incorporated while getting my hair into gear.

11.  What do you attribute to the success you have had with your hair?

Understanding my hair, its needs and cutting out (as much as I can) harmful ingredients and practices that hinder the health, therefore growth of my hair.

12.  How do you manage to squeeze hair care into a busy life?

I make sure that the regimes that I incorporate are easy and flow really well with my busy routine.  My Back to Health does just that!

I’ve got a channel on You Tube that goes through the different stages of my hair care routine. If you’re interested in checking out my personal hair journey and learning with me, subscribe today at www.youtube.com/phrochallenge.

 Visit Aphro’s blog to follow her hair journey – www.phrophro.com

Aphro in 2005 - before her hair journey

Aphro in August 2010 - beautiful, healthy hair

8 Responses to “Meet Aphro”

  1. patience 07 June, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    I like her routine. It helps to break the myth you need loads of time and money to have good hair! Simple, effective and lighter on the pocket

    • Tendayi 07 June, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

      You are right. She uses very few products and almost all are natural

  2. kangopie 09 May, 2012 at 8:06 pm #

    i follow Phro already!! good stuff

    • Tendayi 11 May, 2012 at 8:49 am #

      Her hair is even longer now. Go check out her blog for her latest.

  3. Nikki 06 August, 2012 at 5:35 am #

    You two inspire me! I want to start a similar blog to help Botswana ladies move towards this cause! Will keep you posted! Wish me luck! 😉

  4. gabslivin 06 August, 2012 at 5:37 am #

    You two inspire me! I want to start a similar blog to help Botswana ladies move towards this cause! Will keep you posted! Wish me luck! 😉

    P.s – I am half Zimbabwean too 😉

Leave a Reply

