Hair update – 4 weeks post relaxer

13 Jun

Freshly washed and air dryed hair

It has been four weeks since my last relaxer on 7 May 2011.  I have a little bit of new growth but nothing to write home about.  It has been extremely cold this past week and I have been noticing more hair on my comb lately.  I think the cold is making me shed/lose more hair.  It has also been more difficult to keep my hair moisturised in this cold weather.  I want to try and do some pre shampoo treatments to help with the shedding / breakage as well as to increase the moisture in my hair.  Winter will last until August so I need to keep up the tlc until then.  I’m still not decided on whether to braid or not.  I’m hesitant now because I think my hair needs some tlc right now.  Braids though are a protective style when done correctly and braids may help especially with breakage as I wont be manipulating the hair while braided.  I will make up my mind soon enough 🙂

I will continue washing, deep conditioning and oiling scalp (with castor oil) twice a week.  I will also continue moisturising every day.  What I will add is pre shampoo treatments.  I will try and do one every two weeks.  If I do eventually braid my hair I will wash and condition it once a week, spray it with braid spray daily and keep the braids in for 6 weeks.  I will keep you posted!

10 Responses to “Hair update – 4 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Irene Hungwe 13 June, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Hi – loving your hair! I am having my braids done today and i am also cutting my hair before i braid (yes i am a bit scissor happy i think)…so a quick question to you when you are conditioning your hair in braids – do you condition right up to the ends or just condition the scalp. In winter are you still adding honey to your conditioner (i am struggling with the honey mix) so i am adding more of olive oil and avocado oil instead? Looks like Honey and Glycerin really dries up my hair – i think you explain somewhere on your blog about what honey and glycerin does. Do you still wash your hair twice a week with braids or do you reduce your washes to once.

    • Tendayi 13 June, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      When conditioning in braids i will dilute the conditioner with water in a spray bottle and apply up to where my hair ends. I will skip the honey and oils because the mixture will become too thick. I change the washes to once a week. As for now I am still washing twice a week and adding honey and oil to my deep conditioners.

      Why are you cutting your hair?

      • Irene Hungwe 13 June, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

        aha kudzidza hakuperi shuwa….tx for the info will give it a try. i want to maintain it just above the shoulder for a while i am growing it healthy so i am cutting the processed hair a little bit. when i was in zim i only relaxed my hair twice a hair and found my hair was healthy when it was relaxed less ….came here and i fould myself relaxing like 4times a year so i think my hair is over processed…so i took your advise healthy hair first before length (good advise!!)…i was debating for a while whether i should go natural like rumbi but your drive has made me change my mind so i am growing healthy relaxed hair instead….have not relaxed my hair since Feb – conditioning and moisturising like you said! Next relaxer August – that is if i have not gone bald (lol!) but i love your blog….

      • Tendayi 13 June, 2011 at 2:46 pm #

        All the best to you 🙂 You actually have very thick and beautiful hair. Im sure with this tlc it will really thrive. You will get to August Im sure.

  2. Brenda 13 June, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Wow Tendayi, can’t believe how much your hair has grown since I last saw you, it’s very encouraging indeed. I find my ends get very dry, and I am not sure how to keep them moisturised and looking healthy. Please help!

    • Tendayi 14 June, 2011 at 6:10 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by B!!
      My hair is very different from what it was when we last met!! I’ve come a long way. As for your ends, Its a problem I have too. You must try using coconut oil on you ends. Just rub a little on the ends and see if it makes a difference. When i moisturise I do it in sections and I also concentrate on the ends as well. All the best. hair is a work in progress.

  3. Phro Phro 17 June, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    It’s great to see the results so far 🙂 Can’t wait to see it after your next relaxer

    • Tendayi 17 June, 2011 at 10:20 am #

      Thanks Phro. This hair business is a lifestyle 🙂

  4. Sandi 22 October, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    God bless Ur hair 😀

    • Tendayi 22 October, 2011 at 10:54 pm #

      Thank you Sandi 🙂

Leave a Reply

