How I take care of my little girls hair

1 Jul
My daughters hair

I thought I would do a post on how i take care of my little girls’ hair.  I have a 5 year old daughter and as I have been travelling on my hair journey, her hair has also benefitted because I treat her hair just the same way as I do mine.

My daughter has generally been blessed in the hair department.  She has had only one haircut since she was born.  That was when she was 4 months old.  Since then the only hair setback she has had was when she used a disposable shaving stick to shave off her hairline!  It looked terrible and we nearly cut her hair off.  I then decided to get it braided (using synthetic braids) and disguise the hairline that no longer had hair.  Her hairline has fully recovered now.

Around the time she was 3 years old i began styling her hair.  My most common style was using wool (as in the picture above).  I found this style easy and I could do it while she was playing in the bath.  I would also do the style while she was taking a nap.  I would also shampoo and condition her hair each time before styling it.  I wasn’t very knowledgeable about products and would use whatever I had in the house.

When she had her mishap with a shaving stick I began braiding her hair (using synthetic braids).  Initially I had her hair braided to disguise her shaved hairline but i soon realised how convenient the braids were.  I was also learning more and more about hair care and her hair also benefitted.

Right now I have her hair braided for 8 weeks at a time.  I use ‘Expression’ fibre (I find that it is light) and I wash it once a week.  I use The Body Shop Rainforest Moisture Shampoo.  I also dilute conditioner and pour / spray it over her braids.  I then leave it on for 30 minutes before I rinse it out.  I spray her hair daily with African Pride braid spray.  I use the braid spray generously until her braids are damp.  I also make sure I spray the length of the braid right up to where her hair ends.  I have noticed that when using this regimen, her hair is soft and moisturised when I take the braids out.  When I take out the braids I make sure I detangle and comb out the hair from each single braid as I am undoing them.  This prevents having to deal with a full head of knots which just leads to tears.  Also after I have undone a section I loosely braid / twist it so that the hair doesn’t get detangled before I have finished undoing her whole head.  She does not lose much hair when I undo her braids this way.

I go about 2 weeks or so in-between braids.  In this time I wash and deep condition her hair.  To deep condition I apply conditioner and make her wear a shower cap.  I then let her play for a few hours before I rinse out the conditioner. I let her hair air-dry in twists.  I always keep her hair in twists or braided loosely because it detangles easily if I just comb it and leave it out.  I make sure to keep it moisturised.  I also use a bit of castor or coconut oil especially on the ends.

Her hair has really thrived this way and comes down to her waist when stretched.

 

 

20 Responses to “How I take care of my little girls hair”

  1. Odi 01 July, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Thanks for this post. I have been trying to bash together a hair care routine for my two year old. Something work and others not so much…

    • Tendayi 01 July, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

      All the best Odi. I have found that it gets easier as they get older. Let me know how it goes:)

  2. Maureen 04 July, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    I also do have an eight year old daughter who has a shoulder length hair but i have noticed whenever i take her for braiding lines using her hair the hair line doesnt come out neat this is because the the hair around the hairline is too short and slippery and sometimes am tempted to shave it off? how do i take care of her hairline so that the lines can come out neat?

    • Tendayi 04 July, 2011 at 11:30 am #

      Have you tried using products that will smooth the hair down so that it looks neat. I have seen products by Organic Root Stimulator made for this purpose (Smooth n Hold Pudding as well as Edge Control). Im sure other brands also have their own products. With my daughetrs hairline, when she shaved it off I left it alone until it grew back and was long enough to braid.

  3. Lyn 15 July, 2011 at 4:15 pm #

    Good job with your little girl’s hair! I also have a five year old whose hair is recovering from when my mom-in-law decided to randomly cut it! I never deep condition her hair though, but i have found S-Curl no drip acitvator moisturiser to be the best. As a leave in i use a mixture of Aloe vera juice and glycerin works like a bomb very moisturising.and then i spray Schwarzkopf Gliss Total repair serum for protein. I seal with coconut oil as i do my hair.
    My hair is same length as yours and i am also Zimbabwean(Shona) my goal is BSL by December!

    • Tendayi 21 July, 2011 at 7:02 pm #

      hi Lyn. We need to meet for coffee and swop tips!

  4. ndeyak 01 September, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    Hi. I came across your blog and I’m so glad I did. I too live in SA but I’m from Namibia. I wanted to comment on this article about your daughter’s hair. I grew up with my dad and mum shaving off me and my sisters’ hair. At that time I hated how it got me teased at school, how it made me feel. But today I look back and I am so grateful my hair got cut off regularly. I relaxed my hair after high school and I have good hair – it grows very fast, my scalp is very healthy and I don’t get dandruff so easily. The same applies to my sisters’ hair. A lot of my peers who had their hair relaxed while still kids suffer from damaged hair, their scalps are problematic and always ask me how I do it.
    What I loved about having my hair cut regularly was:
    * Being able to jump into the shower each morning (I loved that part and I miss it so right now)
    * Combing my hair with a roller
    * Getting so dirty after playing in the dirt and not having to worry about messing up my hairstyle
    * And finally, I believe it made life easier for my mother who had to take care of 5 girls!
    I just wanted to share my experience on this.

    • Tendayi 01 September, 2011 at 2:14 pm #

      Thanks for sharing Ndeyak
      I think we have a few things in common 🙂 I too relaxed my hair after high school. I had natural hair until then. With my daughter I can’t bring myself to cut it 🙂 She has beautiful hair that grows relatively fast and I would like to think its because its responding to the care I give it. I plan on keeping it natural until she is in her late teens and can take care of it herself regardless of the style she chooses. I secretly hope she will choose to keep it natural her whole life! In the meantime I will keep it braided most times to save her from constant styling and detangling. This way I can keep it clean and moisturised and also looking neat without spending too much time on it.

  5. Sandi 22 October, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Hey I know a tip to help her better than braid that my mom did since I was little. My mom would put me coconut oil and she would was then my hair after I slept with it and would use shampoo and conditioner, then after that she would dry my hair natural, then after it completely dried she would untangle it and use the comb and brush to do 3 buns and my head. By that time I already had like so much hair due to the coconut oil and it was already really thick. Then she would do 3 buns everyday and after the 4th day she would do 2 ponytails. My hair is coarse, very thick and alot imagine that. So put castor oil and coconut oil on her hair and watch her have too much hair even though she already has alot :D.

    • Tendayi 22 October, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

      Thank you for the tip. I realise I hardly use oils on her hair. Will give it a try. I have plenty of coconut oil that I use on my own hair.

  6. ifai 20 January, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    I recently started taking care of my daughter’s hair and it’s still short. Your post have given me excellent ideas on how to make this journey fruitful. Keep up the good work.

    • Tendayi 20 January, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

      Thank you Ifai. All the best with your daughetrs hair.

    • Monica 24 April, 2012 at 10:26 am #

      Thanks very much for these advices. I have seen a lot of suggestions on different products to use on natural hair but would like to know the best products or oils to use on me and my daughter’s natural hair.

      • Tendayi 24 April, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

        You can try coconut oil and see if you like it. I really like it for my daughter as well as myself. Though my daughter is natural I am relaxed and it works for both of us. A little goes a long way. Have you tried Scurl Activator Moisturiser? It works well for natural hair because it contains glycerin which is a humectant. This means it draws moisture from the atmosphere to itself.

        There are other great oils for hair like jojoba, castor, grapeseed and olive etc. They are widely available in most health shops as well as Clicks / Dischem in SA.

  7. Jasmine 27 April, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    Hey,
    My daughter is 19months and I’m unsure as to which products would be safe. Can you help?? What was your method at this age?

    • Tendayi 30 April, 2012 at 9:42 am #

      Hi Jasmine
      At this age all i did really was wash the hair with baby shampoo and put some moisturiser. I would then tie the hair into little ‘pom poms’ after detangling gently. I used to do all this while she was in the bath so she was distracted. Knowing what I know now, if i had a toddler I would likely do the same but also introduce coconut oil and use that lightly on her hair. would also check the ingredients of the moisturisers before i use them. Some of the moisturisers marketed for kids are quite good and make the hair soft.

  8. AfroAngel 20 May, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

    Hey Tendayi!

    What conditioner do you use, or rather, what conditioner would you recommend for an adult with braided natural hair?

    • Tendayi 21 May, 2012 at 9:57 am #

      Hi AfroAngel
      I have quite a lot of conditioners that I rotate around. When I had my hair braided I used Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner. Its not too thick so it was easier to use. I diluted the conditioner with water and poured it over the braids, concentrating on the parts with my hair and ignoring the parts where there is no hair.

  9. Buhle 18 April, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    Hie my 2yr old has beautiful natural hair but i fail to comb it out properly because she will b crying.wat can i use to soften it thats not relaxer

    • Tendayi 22 April, 2013 at 11:39 am #

      Dry hair is painful to comb. Always make sure you comb the hair while it is damp and has conditioner or it has been moisturised. Also make sure you are washing and conditioning the hair regularly. This helps make the hair soft. Many moisturisers that contain glycerin help make the hair soft because glycerin is a humectant that draws moisture to the hair. One such moisturiser that I started using recently is Revlon Special Feeling Super Soft Activator. I find its really making my hair soft especially now when I am about 6 months post my last relaxer.

      Take a look at this post which has a list of moisturisers. Almost all of them are glycerin based. http://africanhairblog.com/2013/03/20/pics-of-mineral-oil-petrolatum-free-moisturisers/

Leave a Reply

