Focus on honey

13 Jul

I have been using honey on my hair since around February 2011. I kept coming across it on hair boards and decided to try it out. My hair has greatly improved since then as can be viewed on these pics that show my progress from February 2011 to July 2011. I use about a teaspoon to a tablespoon. I mix the honey into my deep conditioner (along with castor oil or any other oil I’m using that day). I make the mixture just before I use it. I then apply it to my hair and sit under a dryer for about 30 minutes to an hour. Others choose to use it as a preshampoo treatment.

Honey is a great natural humectant (it attracts moisture to your hair). It is also antifungal. I find it really moisturises my hair and makes it soft and shiny. I have read that it can lighten the hair. I think this had begun to happen to my hair though I’m not sure. I don’t mind – I could use some natural highlights.

Try this out and let me know what you think!

*10 June 2012 note – The honey did lighten my hair.  I’m not using honey as often now because I don’t want my hair getting any lighter. For more read here.

2 Responses to “Focus on honey”

  1. Marie Jones 14 July, 2011 at 2:57 am #

    Thanks! I’ll try this and let you know how it was. I am going all natural and have been for some time now. I have a problem with keeping my hair soft and drying out. Try a lot of new natural things. Like, olive oil and canola oil mix. I love the way my hair looks and feels after a nice shampoo and conditioner. the problem, keeping it that way, nice and curly with out drying out.

    • Tendayi 14 July, 2011 at 8:17 am #

      All the best Marie. Give it a try and let me know what you think. Keeping hair moisturised can be a battle. You may need to try out a few products before you find the best one for your hair. You should give glycerin based products a try (like scurl or wave nouvea). Also try this, put a glycerin based product like scurl on your hair before you get into the shower. Shower with your hair uncovered. You hair will be extra moisturised after your shower as glycerin will draw moisture to your hair.

Leave a Reply

