Meet Joanne

15 Jul

I met Joanne on the internet on the Keepitsimplesista website.  I was drawn by her picture that showed long healthy looking hair.  The fact that she comes from Kenya was a bonus too 🙂She kindly agreed to answer some questions for the blog even though she is in the middle of preparing for a big exam.

 1.      Where are you from and where do you live?

I was born in Nairobi, Kenya and I have lived in Kenya almost all my life.  At the moment I am a student in Germany.

2.   What is your hair type?

I am not very sure but I guess it´s 4a/ 4b.  The back of my head tends to be a lot softer than the rest of the hair on my head.

3.   How long is your hair?

My hair is BSB (*africanhairblog note – BSB is below shoulder bone length.  Some use BSL – bra strap length).  This is the longest my hair has ever been.  Caring for it has really made a big difference considering I was shoulder length before starting my hair journey.

4.   What is your regimen?

Daily

I moisturise with S curl Activator Moisturiser and seal my ends with coconut oil.  I love protective styling so my hair is often in braid outs or buns so I don´t need to comb my hair at all until my next wash day.  I always protect my hair with a satin scarf at night to keep my hair from losing moisture.

Weekly

I wash my hair with any sulphate free shampoo, and follow with a deep conditioner.  I alternate many deep conditioners mostly between Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner and Lustrasilk Mango Shea Butter Conditioner.  The former is a protein conditioner while the latter is a moisturising conditioner.  Most of the time I mix the two together and add some olive oil to the mixture.  Even though I use a sulphate free shampoo I still do pre shampoo treatments with coconut oil before I shampoo.  I always air dry.

 Monthly

I use a clarifying shampoo – Organic Root Stimulator Uplifting Shampoo.  I also use an egg mixed with olive oil as a protein treatment.

5.   What products do you use?

Shampoos

  •       sulphate free baby shampoo(any)
  •       Organic Root Stimulator Uplifting Shampoo.

 Deep Conditioners

  •       Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner
  •       Lustrasilk Mango Shea Butter Conditioner

 Leave Ins

  •       Scurl  Activator Moisturiser
  •       Homemade Glycerin Spritz

 Moisturisers

  •       Scurl Activator Moisturiser
  •       I have also used Kids Organics Shea Butter Moisturiser and I liked it too.

 Oils

  •       extra virgin olive oil
  •       extra virgin coconut oil
  •       Argan oil( moroccan oil) this is great to seal the ends.  It makes hair silky straight and it´s even more amazing on skin and nails, it has made my nails harder and my skin smoother
  •       castor oil
  •       peppermint oil
  •       tea tree oil

 Heat Protector

  •       Organic Root Stimulator heat serum

 6.   How do you style your hair day to day?

I try to do protective styles as often as possible.  Buns and braid outs are my favourites.  I flat iron my hair after every relaxer so I can take pictures to compare length.

 7.   Have you ever had any hair problems or setbacks?

Since the beginning of my hair journey I have had two major setbacks due to protein overload and not detangling properly after a weave.

 8.   How long has it taken for your hair to get to the length it is?

It has taken me one year and about five months.   February 2010 – June 2011.

9.   Any hair tips you can share?

-First and foremost I advise everyone on a hair journey to just find out what works for them and not just take over other people´s regimens.  Just listen to your hair and in no time you will know what your hair likes and what it doesn´t like.

-Never go buying all the products you see other people using, just get yourself one of everything that you need for a start.  Give the products time to work and then change if you don´t like them.

– Stay away from too much heat.

– Be patient, growing healthy hair takes time don´t go taking pictures everyday to compare.  Every three months is good.

-If you relax your hair try to stretch the relaxers for at least 8 weeks.  I stretch mine for 12 weeks and this time I´ve made 16 weeks but I think I´ll stick to 12 weeks since I have experienced breakage during this stretch.  Also don´t stretch just because someone else did it and got good results.  Stretch as long as you can but when you start getting too much breakage just go ahead and relax or else you could suffer a setback.

– Don´t relax previously relaxed hair.

– If you get your hair braided or weaved make sure it is done gently.  You don´t need too much tension.  This causes breakage.  I have been nursing a bald spot caused by braids being done too tight in September 2010.  Thank God it has grown back.

– Never start doing your hair if you don´t have enough time or if you have to be somewhere else.  I once took out my weave and had an important exam the following day.  Before detangling I got into the shower and washed .  BIG MISTAKE!!  My hair was so matted and tangled.  I got so angry and I literally cried seeing all that hair coming out.  I had to get my boyfriend to help me detangle so that I could study for the exam.  This was the major setback I mentioned earlier on.

– If you get a product that works for you don´t change it.  Stick with it.

– Know that products do not grow your hair.  They just help you to maintain and retain your growth.

 10.   How do you manage to find time for your hair?

Since I don´t have much time during school days I only wash my hair once a week.   I then thoroughly moisturise and seal after air drying.  As for the rest of the week I just moisturise in large sections to save time.  At the beginning it is a little bit difficult but after you know exactly what to do it goes a lot faster.

 11.    How do you take care of hair in winter vs summer?

My hair regimen stays the same during both seasons but I tend to moisturise more often in winter.  The cold really dries out my hair.  This winter I will get myself a lace front wig as a protective style.

Joanne before embarking on her hair journey

8 Responses to “Meet Joanne”

  1. Ruth 15 July, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Wow! The hair is really stunning. I will try washing and conditioning my hair at home as well and see how it goes. I have never done that actually. I always go to teh saloon for my washes and in washing, thats where i always have the greatest and most horrible setbacks when my hair tangles and ends up in the bin.

    • Tendayi 15 July, 2011 at 10:36 am #

      Give it a try Ruth. The great thing about taking care of your hair at home is that you get to really know your hair. You also can assess how it feels after using certain products. At home you can also use things like natural oils, honey, avocado, egg etc etc. I haven’t yet been to a salon where these things are used.

  2. Chanda Kaka 15 July, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Wao this is amazing!! I just wish I cud hav a closer luk at the hair.The pic seems a bit dark.Am gettin so much inspiration from this.I got work to do!

    • Tendayi 15 July, 2011 at 11:34 am #

      Yes Chanda it is amazing! Lets grow healthy hair!!

  3. O'bidie Maunze 15 July, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    This is sooooo inspiring!

    And i totally understand what she means by saying ‘Never start doing your hair if you don´t have enough time or if you have to be somewhere else’. I learnt that lesson the hard way and my hair paid an even higher price. I went to a salon i had never used coz my hairdresser was booked solid that day. Girl, the guys at this other salon were rough with my hair, trying to comb it out when it was wet and obviously tangled! I took the comb and combed it out myself but the damage was pretty much done:( My hair was horribly tangled i lost more hair on that day alone than in the 11 weeks since my last re-touch. I was devastated and it took my all not to cry; more so when after a this past Monday i noticed a bald spot somewhere in the middle of my head – around 1cm in diameter . This spot has hair which is barely 1cm in length yet my hair is between cbl and shoulder length…. It is also noticeably thinner. I didn’t even cry or fret about it – just shrugged it off coz i knew i had no one else to blame except myself:( 😦

    I know my hair will never grow to be ultra long or ultra thick but it can be healthier and that is my goal right now. My hairline is also coming together nicely (though i still dream about those luscious weaves and braids…) I have resisted these temptation thus far but the scissors is also calling me at times…

    I’m in month 6 of the journey but it’s like i am back to the beginning. Good thing is now i know what does not work for me and i am avoiding it like a plague. Still, more lessons are bound to come my way. This time though, i hope the lessons don’t come in exchange for my hair!

    • Tendayi 15 July, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

      Hang in there Obidie. I know it can be discouraging. You will recover from this setback. I have also had cases when my hair broke and was left very short in a section. Thinking back its actually happened to me several yimes but before i had begun this hair journery. Keep giving your hair tlc and it will recover. All the best to you.

  4. Aphro 15 July, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    Very encouraging! Very similar regime simple and effective. Love love love #TeamBlackHairGrows in effect

    • Tendayi 15 July, 2011 at 1:58 pm #

      🙂 I agree. Her regime is very simple and its working too! Lots of inspiration!

Leave a Reply

