Meet Gerry

5 Aug

I met Gerry Elsdon at a function I attended about two months ago.  She was the MC at the function and looking gorgeous as ever.  I had posted her picture in the ‘celebrity hair to inspire’ album on the facebook page and I had wondered about her locs and if they were all hers!  When I saw that she was MC’ing the function I was attending I was over the moon and wondered if she would agree to answer some questions for the blog.  I went over to talk to her and to my surprise she gave me her details and asked me to get in touch!  About a month later I saw her on the cover of True love (South Africa) magazine and my heart sank.  Would she make time for a tiny blog like mine when she was busy with interviews for glossy magazines?  I’m glad to say she did make time and allowed me to ask her some questions about her hair:

1.          How long have you had your locs?

I have had my locs for the last 20 years

2.          What method did you use to start your locs?

I have no clue, I did not know there were methods, my hair was short and natural and I simply started playing with it.

3.          How long are your locs?

My hair is down to the middle of my back.  I trim it 4 times a year to keep it at that workable length.

 4. How often do you retighten your locs?

I retighten my locs every 2weeks, I salon treat only, and when I tighten I style as well.

 5. Do you sometimes add extensions to your locs to make them longer?

No.  I find no reason to.  My hair is strong and grows exceptionally well.

6. How do you take care of your hair?

 On a weekly basis I use a moisturising spray and I oil my scalp.  Every 2 months I do a colour rinse to make my hair look refreshed as locs tend to easily become dull.

 7. What hair products do you use?

I only have my hair salon treated and therefore use salon specific products.

 8. How do you prefer to style your locs day to day?

I prefer my hair in an up style out of my face.  When it is down I prefer it curled so it has more body.

 9. What advice would you give other women planning on starting locs?

My advice would be for women not to think of it as a quick solution or a lazy style.  Locs are just as much hard work as any other hairstyle and they are not for the faint hearted.  Without a commitment to allowing them to grow as they should, you will soon find yourself cutting your hair and changing your hairstyle.

 10. How do you manage to find time for hair care in your busy schedule?

I make time.  I make it part of my routine.

 

For more information on Gerry as well as lots more pictures of her gorgeous locs visit her website: http://www.cinnamoncommunications.co.za

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.490294616336.283612.374913376336&type=1#!/pages/Gerry-Elsdon/374913376336?sk=wall

 

14 Responses to “Meet Gerry”

  1. Aphro 05 August, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

    This is too awesome!!!!!!

    • Tendayi 05 August, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

      it most certainly is!!

  2. Ruth 05 August, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    Wow! The locks are amazing! Too lovely!

    • Tendayi 05 August, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

      You can say that again Ruth!!

  3. Yeukai 05 August, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

    See why i went for Locks, lol! They are truly beautiful. I love the concept of the colour rinse, will definitely try it!

  4. Ms. D 05 August, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Stunning! Her hair is beautiful (so is she). I would love locs, but I get tired of single braids after 5 weeks…doubt I could handle years of locs.

    • Tendayi 05 August, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      You never know Ms D!!

  5. Lungile 06 August, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    Thanks for the post Tendayi, Gerry is so beautiful and her dreadlocks are to die for. It shows that she really takes good care of them.

    • Tendayi 06 August, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

      welcome Lungile. I think it shows that consistency pays off.

  6. Good Hair Diaries (@GoodHairDiaries) 08 August, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    Oh, I love Gerry! She has such a bubbly personality and really seems to be comfortable in her own skin. Those gorgeous locs are to die for indeed. I can not wait until my hair reaches the middle of my back like hers!

    Great job, Tendayi!

    • Tendayi 08 August, 2011 at 11:07 am #

      thank you 🙂 And to think i used to think she adds ‘hair’ to ge her locs to look so thick! Boy was I wrong!l

  7. Anne 12 August, 2011 at 4:44 am #

    Gosh she seems a lovely person, gorgeous hair. Am loving your blog Tendai well done. One question, I have always wondered what the process is to undo your locs, is cutting them off the only solution…

    • Tendayi 12 August, 2011 at 10:23 am #

      Thanks for the compliment Anne 🙂 Im loving blogging!
      About undoing locs, I dont have much knowledge about locs. I have seen many internet sites that cliam that its possible to undo locs. They say it takes long but it can be done! There are even some bloggers who say this too.

Leave a Reply

