Hair update – 12 weeks post relaxer

10 Aug
12 weeks hair

Im now 12 weeks post relaxer once again.  The past 12 weeks have flown by so fast.  I have quite a bit of new growth but I have managed to keep it under control with regular deep conditioning.  I have come to realise that deep conditioning keeps new growth soft and really manageable.

Its been 6 months now since I started making more effort with my hair.  Looking back at the picture I took of my hair in January 2011 I see that my hair has come a long way.

So how have the past 12 weeks been?  I have managed to wash and deep condition twice a week religiously! I have also battled increased breakage and shedding because we experienced winter during the 12 weeks.  I’m really praying that my hair hasn’t thinned visibly from the shedding and breakage I experienced over winter.  I will only really notice once I have relaxed it.  What I have not done religiously is apply castor oil to my scalp twice a week.  I have applied it when I felt my scalp needed it but most times my scalp felt just fine.  Dandruff and itchy scalp seems to be a thing of the past for me.

I plan on relaxing my hair over the weekend.  I will post the results on Monday.  Crossing my fingers till then 🙂  Between now and then I plan on doing a protein treatment tomorrow.  This is to strengthen my hair and prepare it for the relaxer.  I will be using Aphogee 2 Step Protein Treatment for the first time.  As far as I know it is not available in South Africa.  I dont know if it is available in any African country.

6 Responses to “Hair update – 12 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Irene Hungwe 10 August, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    Hi …i always thought that you should wait at least 5-7days when you wash your hair before you relax because your scalp will be supper clean and could cause irritation on the scalp. I assume your protein treatment will require a wash right? is it the one that hardens into your hair….i chickened out on that one but it will be interesting to see your results though. All the best with your relaxing. Are you going to do it by yourself this time?

    • Tendayi 10 August, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

      Yes the protein treatment will require a wash. I wait just two days or so. What i do is carry on with my normal regimen right up to relaxer day. The treatment directions say it will harden on the hair then I should rince it out and apply a moisturising conditioner. I will relax at the salon. Im not yet brave enough to do it myself.

  2. Lungile 10 August, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    Your hair is still looking good. There’s something about this year’s winter, it’s been way too cold!!
    I’ve also been struggling with breakage, but I make sure to pre-poo before every DC. What I’ve learnt is perhaps the middle of winter isn’t the best time to try out new products, by next winter I hope to have found what works best for my hair, and hopefully I’ll have less breakage then.

    • Tendayi 10 August, 2011 at 2:28 pm #

      My number one hair issue is breakage. I know its unrealistic to expect no hair on the comb but i feel i see too much hair on mine. Its an ongoing battle.

  3. Pattie 18 August, 2011 at 5:43 am #

    good luck!! im scared for the winter too. thinking of getting a lace front wig so i dont have to deal with it.

    • Tendayi 18 August, 2011 at 8:16 am #

      Thanks Pattie 🙂 Ive had my relaxer now. I will post about it soon. Just need to download pics.

Leave a Reply

