My latest relaxer

19 Aug

I’ve finally had my relaxer on Wednesday.  I had it a few days later than I had planned because my hairstylist fell ill and was not coming to work.  I even contemplated self relaxing but I chickened out!  I wasn’t sure how I would deal with the back of my head that I couldn’t see.  I was also nervous about over processing since I am now texlaxing (intentionally under processing) my hair so it (appears) thicker.

I used Organic Root Stimulator (regular strength) just like my last relaxer 12 weeks ago.  The hairstylist left it on for only a few minutes before rinsing and shampooing it off.  She then went on to blow dry and flat iron (after applying Organic Root Stimulator heat serum).  I asked her to trim the ends which she did.  She trimmed off about 0.5cm or so.

It is now 6 months since I started blogging and tracking my hair journey.  It’s also been 6 months since I have been making a proper effort where my hair is concerned.  In the 6 months my hair has made a huge turnaround and I must say the effort has paid off. 

Looking at the pictures, my hair is thicker than it was at the last relaxer.  I do not think it is longer though, it just looks like it has filled out.  I was really worried about this relaxer because it has been cold over the last 3 months and I experienced quite a lot of shedding.  I was actually nervous that my hair may have thinned visibly from the shedding.  I was wrong!

So what are my plans for the next 12 weeks until my next relaxer? 

  •       I will continue to wash and deep condition my hair twice a week.
  •       I will continue adding honey and oil to my deep conditioners.
  •       I will oil my scalp twice a week with castor oil.  I had slackened off on this but I think I will start again.  I had stopped because my scalp no longer itches and I do not get dandruff anymore.  I was thinking though that I should continue to keep scalp problems at bay.
  •       I will be taking some hair,skin and nail vitamins.  We discussed them on the facebook page and I promised to write a blog post about them.  I then decided to take them until my next relaxer to see what effect they will have.  I took my first one on Wednesday (the day I got the relaxer).
  •      I plan to incorporate more protein treatments to minimise breakage.  I really want my hair to be as thick as it can be.  I think I will be using my Organic Root Stimulator Hair Mayonnaise more often.  I feel that in terms of moisture I am covered but I now doubt that my hair is getting the protein it needs.  I have been complaining about breakage for months now.

Will keep you posted how it’s all going!

Change in last 6 months. I'm wearing the same top.

The beginning of my journey vs today

The ends have filled out and thickened since my last relaxer

14 Responses to “My latest relaxer”

  1. Ms. D 19 August, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Your hair looks beautiful! Great progress!!!!

  2. Lungile 19 August, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    All that hard work has definitely paid off, coming to think of it, your regime is nice and simple hey!
    I’m inspired!! Your hair is visibly thicker.

    • Tendayi 19 August, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

      Thanks Lungile. Yes the hard work is paying off. Once you start seeing results it becomes easier to keep at it!

  3. Verah 19 August, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    Does it mean dat organic relaxes hair very well?

    • Tendayi 19 August, 2011 at 12:03 pm #

      Hi Verah. Organic Root Stimulator relaxer is working for me. I have used it for my last 4 or so relaxer and I have no complaints.

  4. Josephine Chomba 19 August, 2011 at 12:00 pm #

    Your hair looks very nice.Which organic root stimultor did you use to relax?Am about to relax my hair and want to change the relaxer

    • Tendayi 19 August, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      Thanks Josephine. Its been a journey! I use the Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Relaxer. I used the regular strength.

  5. Irene Hungwe 19 August, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Oh i love the thickness of your hair – what amazes me is how healthy it looks! Your healthy hair encouraged me to cut my hair and start on a healthy note. Finally relaxed too, growth was so soft and had very little pain compared to my last relaxer (yipee!!!). Plus i noticed the difference in terms of hair texture of my new growth. Initially wanted to cut again the old relaxed hair and just keep the new relaxed hair – guess i am a bit scissor happy need to work on that…. Summer is here so washing hair will be much much easier compared to winter. Will continue to condition, moisturise and use castor oil. Great hair result though tendayi!!!!

    • Tendayi 19 August, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

      Thanks Irene 🙂
      Im so happy summer is here. Winter was really hard on me and my hair. Im so relivied it didnt thin out. It was quite a struggle.

  6. Jane 22 August, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    wow…i love ur hair
    did u say u wash and deep condition twice a week?? n du u visit d salon or u du it urself? i wash ma hair 1nce a wk. du u tink dat is healthy fr hair growth?? n i want to know more abt deep conditioning
    tnks in advance

    • Tendayi 22 August, 2011 at 8:15 pm #

      thank you Jane!
      Yes i wash and deep condition twice a week. I do it at home. It allows me to track changes to my hair as well as add honey and oils to my conditioners. Once a week is great. Our hair thrives on moisture. As for deep conditioning, i have done a blog post about it giving more detail and saying exactly how I do it. https://africanhairblog.wordpress.com/2011/01/17/i-love-deep-conditioning/

  7. Colleen 29 August, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    hey Tendayi…i have a question…i had braids for a month and took them out today. i just washed and blow dried my hair and moistured it cause it has growth and i plan on retouching it on friday. my problem is the last three or so retouches the hairdresser didn’t relax my hair properly in that for a lack of a better term harisi kuibva(hope that makes sense)…this time around, im gonna ask her just to do the growth. now the question is wat can be done to ensure the growth part really becomes straight cause always after a week or two you can see the growth again.

    • Tendayi 30 August, 2011 at 10:04 am #

      Hi Colleen
      Did you change relaxers? I find that some relaxers do not work as well as others on different people. I had the same issue when I used Dark and lovely. When I changed to Organic Root Stimulator I no longer have this problem. You may need to investigate changing your relaxer and trying a different one.

      How long does your hairdresser leave the relaxer on your hair for? Is she not leaving it for too short a time?

      Remeber though to only relax the new growth and not all your hair as this leads to overprocessing of the hair that is already relaxed.

      hth!!

Leave a Reply

