Product review – Luster’s Scurl Activator Moisturizer

6 Sep

I thought I would do a product review for a product that I always have in my cupboard.  The product is Luster’s Scurl Activator Moisturizer.  I began buying Scurl Activator Moisturizer after reading so much about it on many hair blogs.  It is often described as an excellent moisturiser and always gets the thumbs up for being very moisturising without containing any mineral oil / petrolatum.

I use this moisturiser frequently but I use it most often when I am about 6 weeks and more post relaxer and my new growth is coming in thick and fast.  This is one product that can immediately soften my new growth and make it manageable.  I simply part my hair into sections and spray directly onto the new growth.  At other times though I spray into my hands and moisturise my hair in sections concentrating on the ends.  I will often follow all this by sealing with a bit of coconut oil.  I rub a bit of coconut oil in my hands and apply it to the hair.

In South Africa we get the product in a 355ml bottle.  In other countries though they have many sizes to choose from.  The 355ml bottle costs about R25 (approximately USD4).  I buy it from Clicks (It’s more readily available at larger Clicks stores like Menlyn, Centurion, Eastgate etc).  The moisturiser is runny and has a faint smell.  It was initially designed for curly perms / jheri curls but works very well for natural and relaxed hair styles.  As soon as you apply it your hair feels soft and moisturised.

Ingredients:

Water, Glycerin, Cetearyl Alcohol, Propylene Glycol, Acetamide MEA, Ceteth-20, Olealkonium Chloride, Stearalkonium Chloride, Panthenol, Simethicone, Imidazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Fragrance.

Directions on the bottle:

Hold bottle about six inches from hair.  Spray evenly over the entire head, massage completely through, then style.  Use daily to maintain proper moisture balance.

If you have never used this product, give it a try and let me know what you think 🙂

** Note

In South Africa, Clicks no longer stocks Luster’s Scurl Activator Moisturizer.  In Capetown you can buy it at Station Cosmetics.  They have shops in Belville, Claremont and Kuilsriver.  In Gauteng you can buy it at Africa Cash and Carry, Jumbo Cash and Carry and Charlie Parker.

66 Responses to “Product review – Luster’s Scurl Activator Moisturizer”

  1. Rumbi 06 September, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    I was wondering why I couldn’t find it anywhere! I really like Luster’s. It’s one of the few mositurisers that I feel really softens my natural hair 🙂

    • Tendayi 06 September, 2011 at 6:37 pm #

      hey Rumbi 🙂 Go and get it over the weekend!!

      • Patie 26 September, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

        Hi Tendayi,

        so is it back on the shelves again???

      • Tendayi 26 September, 2012 at 5:44 pm #

        Not yet 😦 I will call them again tomorrow and ask what the latest is.

      • Tendayi 19 October, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

        Its still no back on the shelves Patie 😦 Just called the company now and they are saying to check again in November. They said they had been waiting for supply vut will now manufacture it here in SA.

  2. Odi 06 September, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

    I am so glad that you said where you found it. My neighbourhood clicks doesn’t stock it but I would look for it in a bigger clicks. I can’t wait to try it out because I have read some many great things about it that I am curious.

  3. Odi 06 September, 2011 at 8:33 pm #

    Just saw your note about clicks not stocking it. Oh well, would have to take the drive to go get.

    • Tendayi 06 September, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

      Its worth the drive Odi!

  4. mac 03 October, 2011 at 12:47 pm #

    Hi
    I live in Fourways, JHB. Where can I find Jumbo and Africa cash and carry?

    • Tendayi 03 October, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

      Hi Mac

      Here are the addresses:

      Jumbo Cash and Carry
      Cnr Main Reef Road
      Entrance on Locomotive Road
      Crown Mines
      2025
      011 839 4440/7

      Africa Cash and Carry
      Cnr Crownwood Road & Coach Street
      Crown Mines
      Johannesburg
      2025
      +2711 661 6600

  5. grow black hair long 28 December, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    Just started using this on my natural hair. Can’t believe how soft and moisturized my hair feels

  6. Franie 16 January, 2012 at 6:09 am #

    can i miss it with water and oil as a braid spray ?? will it leave build ups??

    • Tendayi 16 January, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

      Hi Franie. Yes you can mix with water and a bit of oil. Wash your hair often though to prevent any buildup. I wash my hair once a week in braids and it worked out fine. The braid spray I use has oils and glycerin in it.

  7. maame esi 30 January, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

    hey Tendayi..want u to put ma mind at rest for me..
    1. Can i apply leave in conditioner to my hair on a daily basis or it is to be used only after washing the hair..

    2. walked into a shop asking for coconut oil n was was given a pomade with the inscription lusters cocnut oil from Nigeria..was tinkin it had to in an oil form..does it sumtimes come in the form of pomade??? tenks

    • Tendayi 30 January, 2012 at 4:37 pm #

      You can use a leave in conditioner just like a moisturiser if you wish. There is no harm in using it daily. The two (leave in conditioner and moisturiser) can be used interchangeably.

      Buy pure coconut oil. The ingredients list will be pure coconut oil / extra virgin coconut oil. There should be nothing else added. Coconut oil is either in solid or liquid form. When it is cold it solidifies but when it is warm / hot it becomes liquid. You will find that often if the shop has air con the coconut oil will be a solid block. Coconut oil is sometimes added into hair products. What you want is the actual coconut oil itself not a product that contains coconut oil.

  8. kangopie 09 May, 2012 at 7:15 pm #

    i have been looking EVERYWHERE for this product. even sent an email to Lusters USA… thanks Tendayi… i am hoping these shops still stock it

    • Tendayi 09 May, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

      You should be able to find it at one of these shops. I got mine from Jumbo a few months ago.

  9. Molly 26 June, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    I have cut my relaxer and did s curl, just want to know can I do treatment at home, what do you recommend unlike going to salon

    • Tendayi 26 June, 2012 at 9:11 am #

      I prefer at home treatments because you get to learn how your hair reacts to each particular treatment and which treatments your hair likes. It helps you to get to know your hair. When you do your own treatments at home you use the amount you want and do the treatment for as long as you like.

  10. keisha 01 July, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Hi there, I am from Cape town and I am trying to get a hold of this product. I have been to both Station cosmetics in bellville and in kuilsriver but they don’t sell the moisturizer. Do you prehaphs know of another place that do sell the Luster no drip moisturizer? Help please.

    • Tendayi 01 July, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

      I will have to try and find out for you Keisha. Those are the places that the distributor had told me.

      • keisha 19 July, 2012 at 10:20 pm #

        Hi there, have you found out anything yet?

      • Tendayi 20 July, 2012 at 3:15 am #

        Sorry Keisha not yet.

      • lebo 02 August, 2012 at 9:13 am #

        There seems to be a stock problem, I have been to jumbo, africa cash n carry and charlie parkers n none of them have stock at charlie parker I was told they v closed down. Has anyone bought this spray recently n if so where in jhb?

      • Tendayi 02 August, 2012 at 9:14 am #

        I just spoke to them! They are having supply issues so you won’t find it. They said they expect stock at the end of August and then it will be available from the usual places in GAutend and Capetown.

    • Tendayi 02 August, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      Hi Keisha
      Just spoke to the guys at Lusters Product about Scurl. They have been having problems with supply and will be restocking end of August. When they restock it will be available at Sttation Cosmetics once again.

      • keisha 13 August, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

        thanx, i cant wait 🙂

  11. lolo 03 August, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    Hey Lebo I did bought Luster in Benoni Voortrekker street opposite the price n pride furniture shop mayb 3 weeks ago

    • lebo 03 August, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

      Thanks Lolo do u know the name of the shop so that I can phone b4 driving 30 minutes to get there?

      • lolo 03 August, 2012 at 7:01 pm #

        Hi Lebo. I don know the name but its next door to La viva shop

  12. kangopie 29 August, 2012 at 8:31 am #

    Happy people its the end of August I hope Lusters is back on the shelves… @tendayi have you heard anything yet?

    • Tendayi 31 August, 2012 at 10:01 pm #

      I haven’t heard anything yet. I will definately find out for you!

    • Lebo 07 September, 2012 at 9:38 am #

      Hi

      I have just been to Jumbo Cash n Carry and they still don’t have it, I saw that the ingredients r the same as the sassy looks one so I took that instead!

      Hopefully my hair won’t complain.

      • Tendayi 07 September, 2012 at 10:50 am #

        The Lusters people say they are still waiting for supply 😦

  13. Eve 29 October, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    Hi Tendai,
    trust you still keeping well.
    thank you for the information about the Luster Moisturiser, Ive heard so much about it. before finding this page i was about to send you a mail asking were i can find one.
    will try Chalie parkers in JNB town, fordsburg is out o my way, but if i cant find it at Charlie parkers i will have to head to Fordsburg ( Jumbo or Africa Cash & Curry)

    Thank you and stay blessed

    • Tendayi 30 October, 2012 at 9:58 am #

      Hi Eve
      It’s currently out of stock at these places. Its been out of stock for a few months now. The only place you can find it in SA is where there is still old stock eg some shops in the cbd. The Lusters people have said it will be available again during November. I hope they are right this time because I had been told October before!

      • lungiswaz 05 November, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

        Hi Tendayi,

        I found a good alternative today, it’s the Isoplus 4 in 1 Activator, it has the same ingredients as the Lusters one. I bought it for R12 at Jumbo Cash and Carry in Durban

      • Tendayi 05 November, 2012 at 2:29 pm #

        Thanks for the heads up Lungiswa. R12 is an excellent price!

      • Lebo 15 November, 2012 at 6:36 am #

        Hello I went to Jumbo Cash n carry yesterday and they still don’t have Scurl spray:-( what other alternatives have been tried cos now I’m thinking of sta so fro line? I couldn’t see the Isoplus one. Eish I’m almost 8 weeks post relaxer I really need a spray

      • Tendayi 15 November, 2012 at 10:23 am #

        Scurl is an originally an activator used to activate (and moisturise) curls when you have a perm / scurl. You can substitute is with other activators and products for perms / scurls. I know Easy Waves has an acitivator. Revlon also has a few in their brand called Special Feeling. I see it in Checkers. I have seen a ‘hair softener’ as well as an activator. I think they may have 1 or 2 others that you could substiture Scurl with. Just check the ingredients and compare with Scurl. Scurl’s main ingredients include water and glycerin.

  14. lolo 15 November, 2012 at 10:32 am #

    Hi Lebo. I bought mine on monday at benoni shop no.8 Jumbo cosmetics

  15. Fungi 28 November, 2012 at 8:51 am #

    Ladies in Zim you can get it at Bon Marche Avondale for $5.95 (236ml bottle)

    • Tendayi 28 November, 2012 at 10:42 am #

      Thanks for the info Fungi 🙂

  16. Titi 31 December, 2012 at 1:51 am #

    Hi Tendayi and fellow healthy hair enthusiasts,

    Thanks a mill for your blog Tendayi – I’ve recently started on my healthy hair journey and although time consuming, I love how good my hair feels.

    I’m just in desperate need of the Scurl – anyone know where I can get it in JHB or if it’s back in stock at the above-mentioned stores?

    Thanks,
    Titi

    • Tendayi 03 January, 2013 at 2:26 pm #

      Thanks Titi

      Still no Scurl to be found in the main stored mentioned above. You may still be able to find old stock in Joburg cbd if you are lucky but unfortunately I cannot direct you to any stores. As soon as it becomes available I will let everyone know via a post on the blog as well as on twittr and facebook.

      • Thabang 18 January, 2013 at 12:00 am #

        Hi i am looking for the Luster’s styling wave gel, where can i buy it ? Can i order directly from you ?

      • Tendayi 18 January, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

        Hi Thabang

        Sorry I do not sell hair products. I think your best bet would be Jumbo or Africa Cash and Carry. Lusters have been having problems lately with distribution of their products. Hope you find it.

  17. MrSA2015 20 January, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

    Hey there guys.. Where can I find lusters Products?

    • Tendayi 21 January, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

      When in stock — In Capetown you can buy it at Station Cosmetics. They have shops in Belville, Claremont and Kuilsriver. In Gauteng you can buy it at Africa Cash and Carry, Jumbo Cash and Carry and Charlie Parker.

      • Jescah 05 April, 2013 at 11:28 am #

        I just found Lusters’s s-curl lite wave gel activator in Randfontein today. The ingredients are the same as those in the spray. I hope it works as the spray does

      • Tendayi 05 April, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

        I saw it some weeks ago at Sweet Penny in Midrand. Please let me know how it works.

  18. Xoe 11 June, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

    Hi Tendai

    Wanted to find out if you hav bought this moisturiser in the last few weeks or months. I have been looking for it with no luck. Tried Jambo and RAF. Do you hav other shops i could try in JHB and a PTA.

    • Tendayi 12 June, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

      Scurl has been out of stock in SA for more than a yr now I think. You wont find it in Jumbo etc. You may find it in the cbd if there is still some stock left over.

  19. soso 08 July, 2013 at 8:28 am #

    Thank you for the review. I plan to grab a bottle in Bellville on my way to school. Cannot wait to try the product, hope it goes well. Thanks again.

    • Tendayi 23 July, 2013 at 12:13 pm #

      Did you find it Soro? It’s been out of stock in SA for more than a year now.

  20. lolo 26 July, 2013 at 12:30 pm #

    Hi T. Wherre can I buy Jojoba oil. Aloe vera. Peppermint oil. Lavender oil. Burdock root oil. Rosemary oil. Saw palmetto. Stinging nettle. I’m from benoni. Thanx T in advance

    • Tendayi 29 July, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

      I find the most variety of oils is found in health shops. Most talks have at least one. Peppermint, lavender and rosemary you can find in Clicks and Dischem.

  21. lolo 29 July, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    Thanx. T. Can I mix all of them?

    • Tendayi 29 July, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

      Yes you can mix any oils.

  22. Zandile 04 September, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    Hi ladies. I just wanted to know if any of you have had any luck finding S Curl Activator?

    • Tendayi 05 September, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

      No luck on my end 😦

  23. JulyWrites 17 October, 2013 at 3:21 pm #

    I gave up looking for Lusters SCurl Activator after numerous trips to Jumbo and Africa Cash and Carry that left me empty handed.

    I decided to try the Easy Waves Curl Activator Gel and Oil Sheen Conditioning Spray and so far I love it on my 4c natural hair. My hair is soft, moisturised and most of all manageable.

    Would have loved to try Lusters though. Hopefully they restock soon.

    • Tendayi 21 October, 2013 at 12:23 pm #

      I have also given up on Scurl Activator Moisturiser. Take a look at this post where I listed a few alternatives (including Easy Waves).
      http://africanhairblog.com/2013/03/20/pics-of-mineral-oil-petrolatum-free-moisturisers/

      • MIller24 03 January, 2014 at 2:51 am #

        I was wondering can i apply a leave in conditioner to my hair and then use the s curl activator on it as well?

      • Tendayi 12 January, 2014 at 12:20 am #

        Yes you can. You can layer products on top of each other especially if your hair is dry. You can also apply a light coating of a natural oil on top of your leave in and scurl just to seal in the moisture.

Leave a Reply

