Hair update – 8 weeks post relaxer

20 Oct

Once again I am 8 weeks post relaxer.  I have 4 more weeks to go until I relax my hair again.  The past 4 weeks have been uneventful really.  I have kept up with my bi weekly washing and deep conditioning.  I have also kept up with castor oil on my scalp twice weekly.  I really believe this has softened my new growth because it is not as coarse as I remember it being last time I was 8 weeks post relaxer.

I am still mixing honey into my deep conditioners.  I mentioned a few months ago that honey is supposed to lighten hair but I wasn’t seeing that yet – well I am seeing it now!  My hair is a lot lighter in some places (you can see this in the pic above).  It almost looks as if I have had highlight added to my hair.  It shows more when I am standing in the sun.  I quite like it. 

I have managed to take my hair, skin and nails vitamins every day since I started 8 weeks ago.  I really can’t tell if the vitamins have made any changes to my hair.  I think it will be easier to tell after I have a relaxer in 4 weeks time.  It will be 12 weeks of taking the vitamins daily and I can compare freshly relaxed hair to freshly relaxed hair from 12 weeks before.  I can definitely say though that my skin is no different from before I started taking them.  It looks exactly the same!  As for my nails, I have always had strong nails and I can’t really tell a difference in strength.  I do think though my nails are growing faster than before.  I am definitely cutting them more frequently.

So what are my plans for the next 4 weeks until my next relaxer:

  •     Moisturise, moisturise moisturise!  I will focus on moisturising to prevent breakage.  This becomes imperative at this stage because I have all this new growth to deal with.  I am using Scurl Activator Moisturiser.
  •     Gentle detangling and combing with a wide tooth comb to minimise breakage.  I do not comb my hair if I don’t need to.  I am also very gentle when combing.
  •     I will continue with bi weekly washes and deep conditioner treatments.
  •     I will continue to apply castor oil to my scalp twice a week.
  •     I will continue to add honey to my deep conditioner treatments.  I will revisit this after my next relaxer and see if I want my hair to keep getting lighter or if I should use the honey less frequently (or stop).

My next update will be in 4 weeks time just before I get a relaxer.

14 Responses to “Hair update – 8 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Phro Phro 20 October, 2011 at 11:57 am #

    Great stuff. One of the things that has really worked is using 100% glycerin on your growth, especially along the edges. That really nourishes your tresses and makes them even easier to work with daily. What also worked for me with my edges, was putting a tiny bit of it on my edges and massaging it every night before I went to bed. It’s worked wonders for a lot of people…perhaps something to try. Happy Hair Journey 🙂 great to see your results

    • Tendayi 20 October, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      Thanks for the tips Phro. Will give the glycerin on my edges a try. I have never used straight glycerin before, just glyerin based products. I noticed you had a bottle of Clere glycerin in one of your videos. I have seen that in the supermarket here. The last 4 weeks of a stretch require ingenuity!

      • Phro Phro 20 October, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

        you are so right. it’s the toughest stage to be in cause of the different hair textures that your’e dealing with. How long do you think you’ll stretch for/

      • Tendayi 20 October, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

        Im going for 12 weeks. Will try for 14 weeks if I can manage. If I see increased breakage I will relax. No point in stretching just for stretchings sake!

  2. Phro Phro 20 October, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    oh…i neglected to say. castor oil on your edges daily before you go to bed works wonders for the hair line. that coupled with straight glycerin really moisturises your hair.

    • Tendayi 20 October, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

      Thanks Phro. I do castor oil twice a week. Had stopped doing it religiously but went back to it 8 weeks ago when I did my last relaxer. So far so good.

  3. L.Jean 22 October, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

    I love glycerine.it works wonders on my natural hair.- get the Pick nPay brand as it is vegetable glycerine. I did read somewhere though that it may work better when mixed with a bit of water. Its a humectant so when used in the abscence of water it MAY draw moisture from your hair versus into it. Try checking online to find if there is science backing that logic. But since I read it I always dilute my glycerine. Cheers 🙂

    • Tendayi 22 October, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

      Thank you L.Jean! Pick n Pay brand it is. I will mix mine with water and oils. I think that would be the best combo for my hair. Maybe a bit of aloe vera too!

  4. Maidei 24 October, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    Would really like to stretch my relaxer to 12 weeks but feel it looks untidy – what’s a girl to do

    • Tendayi 24 October, 2011 at 10:35 pm #

      Hi Maidei. The best way to start stretching relaxers is to not do it all at once. If you are currently waiting 6 weeks between relaxers, try 7 weeks next time. Then 8, then 9 and so on. That way you can also learn what your hair can tolerate. If it begins to break excessively then relax your hair. As for the hair looking untidy, normally from around 8 weeks onwards I will exclusively begin wearing protective styles like buns and braidouts that hide or camouflage the new growth coming in. You can also try drying your hair in what is called the scarf method. This is when you tie a scarf on your head after washing and conditioning. The scarf is tied like a head band and enables the hair on your hairline to dry flat and straight making it look neater. Take a look at this video that demonstrates this method. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Aj73YI8vBUA

      • Maidei 09 November, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

        Tendayi

        Very helpful indeed. Am really inspired to stretch out my relaxer. At the moment i am 8 weeks post relaxer and still managing. The other query is if some damage has been done to your hairline through weaving, how long should you wait before weaving again?

      • Tendayi 09 November, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

        Thanks Maidei. If your hairline has been damaged by weaves then continuing weaving will just compound the problem. My advice is that you stop weaving so your hairline can recover. If you want to continue weaves then get a weave done that leaves out your hairline altogether eg a weave with a fringe. To continue pulling on the hairline will just make it worse. Many women (including myself) have recovered their hairlines using castor oil. I massage it on my scalp twice a week.

  5. awurabena 31 October, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    hi Tendayi,God bless you for sharing these good secrets with us.Is it okay to moisturise with castor oil,coconut oil or organic root stimulator oil moisturising lotion because in Ghana i have not yet seen the WONDERFUL SCURL ACTIVATOR MOISTURISER you and Phrophro love so much!
    Awurabena-Ghana

    • Tendayi 31 October, 2011 at 11:58 am #

      I also use ORS oil moisturising lotion. I really like it. It moisturises and makes my hair soft. Oils are great. They are natural and you dont have to worried about added chemicals and other adverse ingredients. I also use castor and coconut oil. The way I use it is to moisturise first or even wet my hair with water then apply a bit of oil on top to seal in the moisture. It works well for me.

Leave a Reply

