I now have braids

7 Nov

I’m in braids now.  I decided to have braids done this past Thursday (3 November 2011) to take a bit of a break with my hair.  I will still continue to look after it while it is in braids.  I plan to keep the braids for around 6 weeks.  This will depend largely on how easy I am finding looking after my hair in braids and also on appearance given that I plan to wash my hair every week.  I decided to go with twists done with ‘expression braid’ colour number 4.  The braids were dipped into hot water once done to ‘set’ the ends to prevent unravelling. 

The braiding took nine hours!  We took frequent small breaks and one long one when I had to fetch my kids from school.  I was done at 7pm having started at 10am.

This is how I will be maintaining my hair while it has braid extensions:

  •  I will spray braid spray daily.  I spray the braid spray generously onto the braids up to where my hair ends.  My braids are damp when I am done.  I will be using African Pride Braid Spray.  I like the ingredients on this braid spray as it contains oils (olive fruit oil and tea tree leaf oil) and herbal extracts (peppermint leaf extract, nettle extract, rosemary leaf extract, wild cherry bark extract etc) as well as some protein (silk amino acids).  I also have the African pride Braid Spray marketed for children.  This particular one also contains oils (olive fruit oil, soybean oil, coconut oil, jojoba seed oil, grape seed oil, avocado oil, flaxseed oil, wheat germ oil), protein (hydrolysed vegetable protein, hydrolysed oat protein, hydrolysed soybean protein, hydrolysed wheat protein).  The reason I bought the two is because I find the scent on the adult one a bit overpowering so I plan to use it only about once a week and use the kids one the rest of the time.  The children’s fragrance is milder in my opinion.
  •  Wash braids weekly with shampoo.
  •   Dilute conditioner with water and pour over braids concentrating on the parts with my hair.
  •   Massage castor oil onto a clean scalp once a week.

 

18 Responses to “I now have braids”

  1. Kavuli 07 November, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

    Looking great girl!

    • Tendayi 07 November, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

      Thank you Kavuli 🙂

  2. naturallychique 08 November, 2011 at 5:15 am #

    Love them braids! Makes me want to braid too
    http://www.naturallychique.blogspot.com

    • Tendayi 08 November, 2011 at 10:59 am #

      Thanks Naturallychique!

  3. Susuan Okang 09 November, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    nice braids. i want to know whether washing it every week will not cause entangling. haven ot tried that before.

    • Tendayi 09 November, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

      Hi Susuan
      Washing every week shouldnt tangle the hair. The only concern I have is that they wont last as long as they otherwise would. I keep my daughters hair braided about 3/4 of the year. I wash it every week. I do it mainly to keep it clean because she is young and often plays with sand at school. I have never had a problem with entangling. Her braids last 8 weeks at a time washing weekly. I do not do twists for her though, so far i have just done normal brais.

    • Tendayi 09 November, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

      Hi Susuan
      Washing every week shouldnt tangle the hair. The only concern I have is that they wont last as long as they otherwise would. I keep my daughters hair braided about 3/4 of the year. I wash it every week. I do it mainly to keep it clean because she is young and often plays with sand at school. I have never had a problem with entangling. Her braids last 8 weeks at a time washing weekly. I do not do twists for her though, so far i have just done normal braids.

  4. Taylor 10 November, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    You look fabulous T! I do my own braids and it takes me 24h minimum. At the end of it, I am cursing and swearing never to self-braid again, hahaha. I also find that when I wash weekly, the braids quickly become untidy and appear frizzy so that by week 4, they look like a hot mess. At the same time, the weekly co-washes and daily braid-spraying leaves my hair very soft and detangled by the time I take the braids out. Hayi, this African hair can be a challenge!

    • Tendayi 10 November, 2011 at 10:16 am #

      Lol Taylor! I’m finding that understanding my hair makes it less frustrating! You are right about the weekly washing! I don’t know if I will get to 6 weeks as I had planned. It may end up being 4 weeks like you say.

  5. Parrot Bubble 13 January, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    this is a nice twist…i am also one of those women that are fond of their hair….i am able to self-twist my hair aswell as do normal braidings, i enjoy it so much more than i enjoy doing it in somebodies hair as i finnish quicker on myself……i must say you got very good hair too, i like it so much and thanx for the usual tips on taking care of African hair, thanx alot and do keep it UP!!!!

    • Tendayi 13 January, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

      Thank you. I wish I could twist and braid my own hair. It would eliminate so many headaches for me! It would probably take me a whole week though 🙂

  6. Lisa 17 July, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    Do you believe that braids are worth it in the end in relation to retention?

    • Tendayi 18 July, 2012 at 1:21 am #

      They are worth it only if you take care of your hair while in braids. If not it will break and you will not retain anything! Im actually in braids now. I got them a few days ago. Will blog about it soon.

  7. tsungi 13 November, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    Hey Tendai I think I’m having a blonde moment pliz usandituke. Were u say u dilute conditiner with water ad pour it on hair do u wash it out or leave it in. I’m planning on getting braids this monthend so I’m just doing my homewrk

    • Tendayi 13 November, 2012 at 11:06 am #

      You wash it out!! The reason to dilute the conditioner is so that it is easy to rinse off and doesnt leave buildup. If you use it undiluted it can be difficult to rinse off especially if the conditioner is thick.

  8. Nancy Sam 06 December, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    Really lovely your blog! and I love braids too! thank you doing many special things

  9. Latisha 15 March, 2013 at 5:44 am #

    I just wanted to say thanks for the info on the products that you use

Leave a Reply

