My Destiny Power Cover experience

11 Nov

That's me on the far right

It all started just over a month ago when I saw a competition on the Destiny Magazine website to be on the cover of their 4th birthday issue (November issue).  They dubbed it the ‘Power Cover’.  I was intrigued.  The website revealed that 6 women (they later changed it to 12) would appear on the November cover with 6 mentors.  The competition required that you choose 3 mentors from a list and ask each of them 3 questions.  Winners would be chosen on the strength of their questions.  I reviewed the list of mentors and realised that it consisted of really great women who I would have loved to meet in real life.  My mind was made up.  I was entering the competition.  I decided that my strategy to win would be to ask questions that were personal to me.  That way I felt my questions had a better chance of standing out as they were unlikely to be repeated by others since they were personal to me.  I immediately entered my questions on the website, said a little prayer and then forgot about it.

A few days later I got a call from Tshia.  She said she was from Destiny Magazine and she informed me that I had been shortlisted for the Power Cover competition.  I couldn’t believe it!  I thought I was being pranked!  She assured me that she was legit and asked if I would be available for a photo shoot on the 19th of September at 10am.  I told her I would be available.  She then told me details would follow by email.

A few hours later an email arrived from Joanne congratulating me on being one of the Power Cover winners.  The email gave further details about the photo shoot.  It was to be held in the penthouse suite of the Palazzo Hotel in Fourways, Johannesburg.  Joanne informed us that the colour scheme for the cover would be white and she asked for our dress sizes.  She then asked us to bring nude / black underwear to wear under the white clothes.  The email notified us that makeup and hair would be done but we needed to come with clean hair that was ready to style.  The email ended by asking us not to talk about the cover especially on social networks, as covers were kept secret until a few days before they hit the shelves.  The email got me so excited!  The 19th of September could not come soon enough!  I called Joanne and asked her which mentor I had been paired with.  When I heard it was Lira I so excited!  I am a huge fan of hers and had been hoping I would be paired with her!

The morning of the 19th soon came and I arrived at the Palazzo hotel about 30 minutes early.  I had made sure to wash and deep condition my hair the day before.  I also made sure I had scrubbed my face and used a mask so my skin could be at its best.  As soon as I arrived I was taken aback by the number of people who were in the suite for the photo shoot.  It hadn’t dawned on me just how many people work behind the scenes on a magazine photo shoot of this magnitude.

The first stop was hair.  There were two hairstylists.  Both of them white.  I was a bit worried whether the hairstylist was familiar with black hair.  It occurred to me that if she had done a few magazine covers then she was sure to have worked with black hair before.  As soon as she realised that my hair was my own and not a weave she commented how rare it was for her to work on real hair on a black woman!  She said we so often wore weaves.  She then asked how I would feel about her doing big curls on my hair.  I told her to go ahead, it happens to be a look I liked.  I had also prepared myself that the styling for the photo shoot would very likely require heat.  She applied Moroccan Oil then curled the hair using a flat-iron.

Next stop was makeup.  There were two makeup artists.  I was taken amazed by the amount of makeup they each had.  They each had a large suitcase full of makeup!  I was not sitting in front of a mirror while my makeup was being done so I couldn’t watch as he worked.  Once he was done I walked to a mirror and was surprised!  He had managed to expertly cover all my spots and blemishes.  All I could say was ‘wow’!!

It was at this point that I learnt that because the cover featured 18 women, the photo shoot was being done over two days.  The pictures would be taken in batches and then pieced together in editing.

Next stop was wardrobe.  As soon as I walked into the room I was handed a Jo Borkett shift dress to try on.  It was the right size so that became my outfit.  I was then handed matching earrings.  There were so many white outfits in the room.  I’m sure there were more than 50, all sizes and all shades of white.  While dressing I learnt that I had been paired to Lira with a woman called Jane.  We chatted briefly and I learnt she was a graphic designer and lives in Pretoria too.

It was soon our turn to have our photos taken.  Setting up for the photos took almost as much time as taking the photos themselves.  Getting us into the right positions as well as getting the right lighting took up quite a lot of time.  Once the photographer was satisfied, he took many photos.  Each time he would instruct us on how to stand / sit, where to put our hands, to tilt our heads etc.  I’m sure he took well over a hundred shots.  After the photo shoot we each sat down for a brief session where we answered questions on camera.

I got to chat briefly to Lira.  She was so busy, juggling 2 phones and a tablet computer.  She was in the middle of her Captured Tour at the time.  She came across as a very down to earth woman and we chatted like we had met before. Since this is a hair blog I have to tell you about Lira’s hair!  She keeps it natural, has been for years.  She didn’t even need the hairstylists at the shoot as her hair was styled already!

The magazine hit the shelves on the 19th of October.  A few days later I got a call from the magazine asking for my address.  They wanted to deliver a goodie bag for me.  I got it 2 days later.  It contained copies of the magazine, a handwritten thank you note from the magazine editor ( Khanyi Dhlomo), a framed photo from the magazine shoot and a spa voucher from Camelot Spa.  On the day of the shoot we had been given a goodie bag with Elizabeth Arden products.

This experience is one that I will never forget.  It was totally new to me and I had a great time.  I also gained an appreciation of how much work goes into a magazine cover, especially one with so many people on it.  As I sat down to read the magazine I was in for another surprise.  I had been mentioned on page 101.  Destiny had asked ‘what is your favourite SA blog’ on their facebook page.  My response had been printed in the magazine.  I’m sure you can guess what my answer was!

Destiny is a business and lifestyle magazine for women.  It is available for subscription via Zinio.

Click here to see a short video of me answering a few questions at the photo shoot.

Click here to see a short behind the scenes video of the photo shoot.

Click here for Lira’s facebook page

Click here for Lira on twitter

Click here for the Destiny Magazine website

The front cover

 

The back of the cover

 

The goodie bag

20 Responses to “My Destiny Power Cover experience”

  1. Kavuli 11 November, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    So awesome! This sounds like it was a really great opportunity. Congratulations again 🙂

    • Tendayi 11 November, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      I had a lot of fun Kavuli. Thank you.

  2. Zama 11 November, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Wow Girl!!!! Nice experience….. Congratulation………..You look gorgeous ….

    • Tendayi 11 November, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

      Thank you Zama. It was a good day 🙂

  3. nomahlubi 11 November, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Congratulations lady….I’m sure you were smiling for days…I know I would…enjoy the good bags and the experience from the covershoot…

    • Tendayi 11 November, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

      Thanks Nomahlubi! I still feel like it never happened!! Smiling for months!!

  4. O'bidie Maunze 11 November, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    Wow Tendayi, what an A-M-A-Z-I-N-G experience!!! Certainly a once in a lifetime kind of thing! You looked beautiful; and you are a natural – no one would have believed this was your first cover shoot.
    Great stuff!

    • Tendayi 11 November, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

      Thanks Obidie! I wasnt a natural but the pic doesnt reflect that! I was lost half the time but at least the guys were patient and directed me.

  5. Jo 11 November, 2011 at 1:06 pm #

    this is great thanks for posting. you really look great Tendayi!

  6. NikkiSho 12 November, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    congrats!!! you look gorgeous and i love you hair.

    • Tendayi 12 November, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

      Thank you NiikkiSho 🙂

  7. Fungai Rufaro Machirori 15 November, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Glad to come across this blog and congrats!!!! That must have been awesome!

    • Tendayi 15 November, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

      Thanks Fungai. It was awsome indeed!!

  8. Rati 17 November, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    Wow i can just imagine th excitement! Id love to b on th cover of a mag one day too.how dd u manage to keep it a secret?i wld hv hd a haaard tym keeping THAT secret.

    • Tendayi 17 November, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

      lol Rati!! I kept my mouth shut because I didnt want to jeopardise my chances!! I just imagined them editing me off the cover and replacing me with someone else because of my big mouth!!

  9. Becks 24 November, 2011 at 9:49 am #

    congratulations lady! You looked like a natural and the hair is fabulous! It’s exciting that life offers up such chances from time to time. What a gift!

    • Tendayi 24 November, 2011 at 10:25 am #

      Thanks Becks! It was a great experience!

  10. andybaby23 11 March, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    Omw I didn’t it is you on the cover, I still have this copy

Leave a Reply

