Beginner Wednesday – Have you heard about baggying?

16 Nov

Today I thought I would talk about something I am yet to try.  It’s called ‘baggying’.  Baggying is beneficial when you have really dry hair and are struggling to keep it moisturised.

To baggy you apply a small amount of a water based moisturiser to your hair and then place a shower cap over your hair for a few hours to overnight.  The shower cap adds moisture to your hair by trapping in the heat.  Once you take off the shower cap your hair is moisturised.  Moisturised hair leads to less breakage as well as length retention.  You can also baggy just the ends of your hair.  This is done by gathering your hair into a ponytail, applying moisturiser to the ponytail and then covering the hair in the ponytail with a shower cap or a plastic sandwich bag (hence the term baggying).

Some tips for baggying:

  •  Use a small amount of moisturiser.
  • Use a shower cap, sandwich bag, cling wrap or even a plastic bag from the supermarket.
  • Do not baggy too often as your hair can become over moisturised.  Begin with baggying for a few hours and see how that goes.  Remember the aim is to keep your hair, in particular the ends moist and hydrated.
  • If you do not like the sound a shower cap makes while you sleep, use cling wrap.  It is silent!

If you are suffering from chronic dryness with your hair maybe you can give this a try.

10 Responses to “Beginner Wednesday – Have you heard about baggying?”

  1. FroChic 23 November, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

    This is really interesting. I didn’t even know it was called baggying. I’ve only spent hours (sometimes overnight) with a cling wrap on (covered by a headscarf of course) when I deep condition or doing a pre-shampoo oil treatment; and i must say my hair feels very soft & well moisturized afterwards.

    • Tendayi 23 November, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

      I have also done overnight dc’s with a plastic cap as well as prepoo treatments mainly with coconut oil. I am yet to try baggying but I hear its great especially for natural hair. Will let you know when I try it!

  2. Molly 08 October, 2012 at 10:57 pm #

    Hi tendayi
    Where can I buy the proper headscarf for sleeping here is south africa. But at the same time the silk one comes out at night. Any tip how you manage this scarfs?

    • Tendayi 09 October, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

      I have quite a few scarves from all over. Silk ones you can get in Woolworths. You can also buy polyester, these are available everywhere. Just stay away from cotton.

      The way I tie my scarves it I tie it first at the nape of the neck then bring the ends to the front and tie again. It stays on the whole night until I remove it in the morning. If all else fails get a satin pillowcase. That way your hair wont rub against rough fabric.

  3. Ziyanda 11 November, 2012 at 12:01 am #

    I tried this earlier this week and it really works.

  4. luxolo 27 November, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    Hey there,I just wana know if steam is good or bad for hair because whenever I wear a shower cap I find that my scalp gets really itchy so wen I bath I don’t wear anythin on my head.any tips?

    • Tendayi 28 November, 2012 at 10:44 am #

      There is no problem withs steam. Its just water!! The reason we often wear shower caps while showering is to protect they hairstyle, not the hair per se. I hardly wear a shower cap to shower / bath because my hair is usually in a style that is not ruined by steam / water.

  5. busi 01 June, 2013 at 11:02 am #

    hi, please can you give examples of water based moisturisers in south africa

Leave a Reply

