Beginner Wednesday – Why is my hair breaking?

23 Nov

In today’s post I will just list some of the most common reasons why we encounter hair breakage:

  • Overlapping relaxers.  Remember to only relax new growth and wait at least 6 weeks in between relaxers to avoid overlap.  Overlapping relaxers causes over processing which leads to breakage.
  • Dry hair that is not getting enough moisture.  Ensure you are moisturising your hair adequately.  African hair needs moisture to thrive.
  • Styling techniques – Be wary of braids or weaves that are too tight.  These can lead to breakage.  It often becomes a cycle where you get braid or weaves to hide breakage but those same braids and weaves are just worsening the breakage you are experiencing.  Avoid any hairstyle that is too tight.
  • Hair colour can be damaging if used too often especially hair colour that involves bleaching hair and making it lighter.  Remember that lightening your hair involves removing your original colour (called lifting) and then depositing the new colour.  This can be a damaging process.
  • Over manipulation of hair, rough combing or rough brushing can lead to unnecessary breakage.  Use a wide tooth comb to detangle your hair.  It is not necessary to use those ‘tailcombs’ to comb your hair.
  • Excessive heat styling from flat irons, hot blow dryers etc can be damaging to the hair.  Always use a heat protectant when using heat.
  • Medical conditions and various treatment procedures can also lead to hair breakage. In such cases, once you stop the particular treatment or are cured from the ailment, the hair breakage will stop.

Read this post for more on hair breakage

9 Responses to “Beginner Wednesday – Why is my hair breaking?”

  1. Nancy 12 December, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    I decovered ur blog after readn about u in Destiny Magazine. I started my own hair regiment 5 months ago. I find that relaxing and heat styling are big contributors to dryness and breakage. Therefore I decided to reduce the time during relaxing from 20 to 15 minutes,airdry hair after washing during the first 4 weeks post relax and blowdry once a week there after. I also started using natural oils and honey to boost moisture levels. Ive seen a marked improvement in the health of my hair. Thankyou for the great blog. The info is spot on keep it up.

    • Tendayi 13 December, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

      Thans you Nancy for the vote of confidence 🙂

  2. Maggie 27 January, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    Hi there, my hair keep on breaking infront and becoming fewer, what can i do. i now have weaved hair in to hide the break places. The girl who did it did not pull them. I love my own hair and would like to see it grow.

  3. PHALESSY 11 April, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    MA HAIR Z GIVIN ME HELL AM EVEN THNKN OF KEEPN IT SHORT…

    • Tendayi 15 April, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

      Whats wrong Phalessy??

  4. Varaidzo Mgodi 11 April, 2013 at 3:05 pm #

    Hi Tendai. I can’t seem to get rid of breakage completely. I’ve been on a healthy hair journey for 2 years now, and I’ve managed to get from neck length to almost bra strap length. The thing is, no matter what, my hair still breaks when I detangle or comb. When I look at the hair I’ve lost after detangling, it’s a mixture of long shedded hairs and short broken hairs. Do you have the same issue and is it possible to completely get rid of breakage?

    • Tendayi 15 April, 2013 at 5:55 pm #

      You cannot completely eliminate hair loss There will always be a bit of breakage from the detangling / combing process. Shedding is also a natural process that is always occuring. We shed hair every day. The idea is to minimise breakage and keep it to a minimum as well as to make sure that hair does not shed excessively. Going from neck length to bra strap length in 2 years is great progress!!

  5. Ruth Jackman 13 April, 2013 at 3:30 am #

    I know for sure that years ago the perm destroyed and made my hair fall out in so many places, now I have gone natural and so much happier, each person has to make their own choice. I came to the realization that when you perm your hair and the perm gives you even a little tingling or burning that it could not be good for your scalp. I would advise to do some research about what is in perms and what it can do to the scalp and the brain, it’s a bit scary actually, so just research for yourselves and get the knowledge which is power.

Leave a Reply

