Ethnique Hair and Beauty Show 2011

29 Nov
I went to the Ethnique Hair and Beauty Show in Kliptown, Soweto yesterday.  It was my first hair show so I didn’t really know what to expect.  When I arrived I immediately realised it was a very small show.  I was able to walk around the room and view the stands in less than 30 minutes.  Some of the big name brand I saw were Crème of Nature, Profectiv, African Pride, Revlon Realistic, Isoplus and NexSheen Arganics.  Though it was called a hair and beauty show I did not see any beauty brands represented.  Granted I went on the last day and some exhibitors may not have shown their goods on the last day.

I managed to stay for a hairdresser competition.  About 8 hairstylists were competing for prizes in categories like Everyday Style, Street Style and Avante Garde.  I was impressed by some of the hairstylists skills though I felt that some of them could have made more effort.  Unfortunately I had to leave early to avoid traffic so I didn’t get to see who was crowned the winner. 

I wonder why the big brands didn’t support this hair show.  Notably absent were Mizani, Dark & Lovely, Lusters, Ladine, Sof n Free, Organic Root Stimulator, Sta Sof Fro, JoM, Jabu Stone etc.  It just left me wondering why these brands were shunning this show.  Some of them were at the show last year (according to the website).  Again, I acknowledge that I only attended on the last day so I may have missed some exhibitors if they chose not to show on the last day.

Below are some pics from the event:

The Isoplus stand

One of the Avante Garde contestants

The back of the hairstyle above

One of the Street Style contestants

Street Style side view

One of the 'Everyday" styles

Street style

The back of the style above

8 Responses to “Ethnique Hair and Beauty Show 2011”

  1. Tira 29 November, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Hey Tendai have u used Nexsheen products?

    • Tendayi 29 November, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

      No I haven’t. I was given lots of samples yesterday though. Im sure I will get round to using them as soon as my braids come out.

      • sunshynec 30 November, 2011 at 9:05 am #

        In Bulawayo, there are a lot of NexSheen Arganics products available. I have the neutralizing and clarifying shampoo and the infinite repair conditioning treatment. I bought them because I was desperate. I couldn’t find organics products so I decided to try out NexSheen.They are infused with argan oil so maybe its the burnt orange colour of the shampoo that puts me off or the fact that its actually for relaxed hair but either way I really don’t like the shampoo. I felt it did nothing for my hair. But the conditioner is quite nice. I felt like my hair was refreshed after using it and the jar is BIG so it lasts for quite some time.

      • Tendayi 30 November, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

        If its a neutralising / clarifying shampoo that means its quite strong because it is designed to neutralise relaxers and to remove mineral and product buildup from the hair. You musnt use it too often because it can be very drying and stripping. I use a clarifying shampoo only once a month. I will check if I was given a conditioner sample.

  2. Kavuli 29 November, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    In my humble opinion, it is unacceptable for Organic Root Stimulator, Dark and Lovely and Sta Sof Fro to not to have been there this year. Don’t even get me started on Jabu Stone, which is a proudly South African brand not representing in Soweto. These brands must really learn to work hard at impressing us, because they could be easily be replaced by the next new thing. Especially here in SA! They better watch out because I have a funny feeling that Creme of Nature is going to rock the boat very soon.

    Well done on the post 🙂

    • Tendayi 30 November, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

      I agree Kavuli. Jabu Stone was there last year so I just wonder is something happened and they decided to not exhibit this year.

  3. sunshynec 30 November, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    I forgot to talk about the hair show lol I wish I had been around to go with you. Maybe last year’s turnout was not impressive so the bigger brands decided not to take part this year? Was it advertised the way they do with the food and wine show etc because I’m sure they would have had a better turnout. Looking at the pictures you took and comparing to Chris Rock’s movie, we still have a long way to go with our hair shows but at least they exist…

    • Tendayi 30 November, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

      The advertsising wasn’t in your face like the Expo’s and Food and Wine Shows. Compared to those it was one hundreth times smaller! I found out about it from someone else ie word of mouth. I then googled to get more info. As for comparing with the Bronner Brothers show – there is no comparison!

Leave a Reply

