Product review – Organic Root Stimulator Anti-Itch Scalp Oil

8 Dec

I thought I would do a review of a product I started using about 2 weeks ago.  The product is Organic Root Stimulator Anti-Itch Scalp Oil.  I have used it before on my daughter who spends about ¾ of the year with her hair braided.  I use this product on her scalp occasionally if it is looking dry.  I decided to try it on myself and I must say I am glad I did.  The product is quite thick and it has a ‘gel’ consistency so it doesn’t run.  It also has a very faint smell.  I applied it at night before I slept and I couldn’t smell it while I was sleeping.  This is a big plus for me!  I applied it to my scalp after washing my braids.  I waited until the braids were dry before applying it.  I find it’s easier to apply product to the scalp once the braids are dry.  I then proceeded to spray braid spray on the braids themselves.  I like this product enough to keep using it until I remove my braids in a months’ time.  I will apply it to my scalp after each weekly wash.

Directions for use on the bottle:

Apply directly to your scalp and massage in when you feel itch or dryness.  Use after braiding or twisting to relieve tightness.  May be used regularly to help maintain a healthy scalp.

Ingredients:

Soybean oil, isoproyl myristate, polyethylene, almond oil, aloe vera oil, benzocaine, lanolin oil, menthol, propylparaben, bht, fragrance.

14 Responses to “Product review – Organic Root Stimulator Anti-Itch Scalp Oil”

  1. nomahlubi 08 December, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    Need to go buy one for my daughter…she has braids now….how much is it selling for?

    • Tendayi 08 December, 2011 at 11:13 am #

      I bought it for R56.95 in Charlie Parkers. Its a 100ml bottle.

      • Dee 24 June, 2013 at 10:37 am #

        Thanks Tendayi 🙂 . I have gone to almost all clicks stores but never found it.

      • Tendayi 25 June, 2013 at 9:25 am #

        Clicks has discontinued it unfortunately. You will find it in smaller stores like Sweet Penny (Boulders Mall in Midrand or Pretoria cbd)

  2. Kavuli 08 December, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    I will be adding this scalp oil to my ‘wish list’ of products I want to try.

    Thanks, Tendayi!

    • Tendayi 08 December, 2011 at 4:40 pm #

      welcome 🙂

    • awurabena 09 December, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

      Hello Kavuli I visited your website.You have lovely hair!I wanted to ask with the cayenne pepper recipe is it ok to leave out the MSM powder because I doubt I can find it in Ghana.I will check though

  3. awurabena 08 December, 2011 at 2:53 pm #

    Thank you.I would like you to throw more light on washing braids.I tried it once but my hair got knotted.So i’m still hesistant about it.Infact I havent’t had braids in a long while so I do corn rows because I can manage them well.
    And please throw more light on conditioner washing.

    • Tendayi 08 December, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

      When I wash my braids I concentrate on the scalp. I put shampoo on the scalp and massage. The actual braids and hair gets washed by the shampoo running from my scalp. I do not think the knots are caused by shampooing. The knots will occure even if you do not shampoo the whole time your hair is in braids. The reason you get knots is because your hair is shedding and the shed hair gets caught in the braid. This combined with general dirt, dust and any build up from product will cause the knots. I have a daughter whose hair i keep in braids about 3/4 of the year. I wash her hair every week. I have never had an issue with knots when taking her braids out. I have kept her hair in braids for more than a year now with no issues.

      As for conditioner washing (also called co-washing), this is simply washing your hair with conditioner as opposed to shampoo. This is usually done by women who like to wash their hair often and dont want to dry their hair out with shampoos or those that generally find shampoos too drying for their hair. You would use a moisturising conditioner when co-washing.

      • awurabena 09 December, 2011 at 3:49 pm #

        Thankyou very much.Will try the weekly washing when my hair is in braids

  4. awurabena 08 December, 2011 at 3:02 pm #

    i’ve read that protein conditioners should not be used co washes.which means only the moisturising ones can be used.I saw that you use this moisturising conditioner by mizani i think i will see if its available in Ghana and try it.

    • Tendayi 08 December, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

      The Mizani conditioner I use is rather pricy (about US$20 where i buy it). Depending on how often you co wash you may want to look for a cheaper moisturising conditioner. You will find that on hair boards they are referred to as cheapie conditioners. The reason is that it may seem somewhat of a waste to use a pricy conditioner just to leave it on your hair for a few minutes and wash off. You would rather keep it for when you do deep conditioners.

  5. Patience 12 December, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    My scalp always itches too so I will give this a try. Not smelling when I am sleeping is also a plus for me unless it smells like Lavender 🙂

    http://www.justpatience.com

    • Tendayi 12 December, 2011 at 8:27 am #

      Let me know how it goes Patience 🙂

Leave a Reply

