Beginner Wednesday – Conditioner Washing

14 Dec

Conditioner washing (or co washing) is simply what the name suggests – washing the hair with conditioner.  It is quite a popular practice especially with women with natural hair and those who work out regularly.  Co washing helps the hair retain moisture especially if you like to wash your hair often and want to avoid the drying effects of sulphates in shampoos.  Co washing keeps the hair moisturised while also keeping the scalp clean.

To co wash you simply use the conditioner like a shampoo.  First rinse your hair for a few minutes with water.  Apply the conditioner onto the hair and lather.  Rinse out the conditioner.  If you like, you can apply the conditioner again and let it sit for a few minutes before rinsing. Most women use cheaper conditioners to co wash as the conditioner is only left on for a few minutes before rinsing off.  It seems like a waste to use a more expensive conditioner and simply rinse it off after a few minutes.

I have tried co washing before.  I tried it while on holiday in a very hot place.  It was so hot that my hair was feeling dry especially when I went outside.  I decided to try co washing to help keep my hair moisturised.  I used VO5 Moisture Milk Strawberries and Cream Moisturising Conditioner.  I bought this conditioner after looking for reviews on hair boards.  This particular conditioner came highly recommended for co washes.  I must say co washing worked for me then.  I would co wash daily then bun my hair while wet.  It really helped to keep my hair moisturised.

When co washing you may find that you need to shampoo your hair occasionally to get rid of eventual build up especially if the conditioner you use has silicones.

6 Responses to “Beginner Wednesday – Conditioner Washing”

  1. Beth 14 December, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    I’ve heard of co-washing and tried it but I find it’s not as good if u have moisturiser in your hair- my hair didn’t feel clean and I was using it between washes

    • Tendayi 14 December, 2011 at 5:02 pm #

      I found I really had to rinse my hair thoroughly first before applying the conditioner. I also kept up my twice weekly shampoos.

  2. Sithe 02 January, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Thanks Tendayi for this. I heard very good things about VO5 Moisture Milk Strawberries and Cream Moisturising Conditioner. Where do you get it from in SA?

    • Tendayi 03 January, 2012 at 4:31 pm #

      I have not seen it in SA. I have seen VO5 shampoos and conditioners in Clicks and Dischem etc but its not the Moisture Milk ones. The ones I have used I have gotten from the States. Each time I have family coming from or going to the States I ask then to bring me one bottle!!

  3. Hlengi 02 August, 2013 at 2:06 pm #

    Hi 🙂
    I might be a bit behind but I’ve just started taking personal care for my hair and making my own hair regimen. I’ve been watching youtube videos and reading hair blogs. I have relaxed hair by the way. I’ve been looking for the VO5 moisture milk in SA and I can’t find it. Which other moisturing conditioner would you recommend I use in this case because I workout 3-5 times a week?

    • Tendayi 05 August, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

      Moisture Milks is not available in SA though you can find some other VO5 conditioners. There are many moisturising conditioners to choose from. I eally like ORS Replenishing Conditioner. It does have a bit of protein in it but I have no problems using it regularly, often even twice a week. I have also heard great things about Tressemme Naturals Moisturising Conditioner. It comes in a huge bottle which lasta a long time. I really love Karacare Humecto and Mizani Moisturefuse but they are expensive and I wouldnt advise using them too often else theyll burn a hole in your pocket!!

Leave a Reply

