Happy New Year!!

5 Jan

My braids today

Happy New Year!!!  I decided to take a break from blogging and social networks during the festive season to spend time with family.  I hope you had a great holiday and I wish you all the best for 2012.  I’m now back and feeling refreshed.

Today is the blogs one year anniversary.  I began blogging on 5 January 2011.  It doesn’t feel like I have been blogging for a year now!

I still have braids on my hair.  I have had them for 8 weeks.  I plan to begin removing them over the weekend.  There were many instances over the holidays when I felt like removing them but I just didn’t have the time.   The braids still look good but I don’t want my hair to knot too much which is why I am removing them.  I will give my hair some tlc for about 2 or 3 weeks after removing the braids, before relaxing it.

So what are my hair ‘goals’ for 2012:

  • I’m hoping by the end of 2012 I will have eliminated the thin ends from the days I was relaxing my hair bone straight.  Since I now only texlax my hair, I essentially have 2 textures, bone straight hair at the ends and texlaxed hair.  The thin ends will be eliminated by regular trimming.
  • I want to gain more length and be full BSL (bra strap length) by end of 2012.  I have been hovering on APL (arm pit length) for too long.
  • I will continue to wash and deep condition twice a week as well as moisturise daily.
  • I plan on practising more protective styles during the year.  I hope this will help me with retention and to reach full BSL.

I’m looking forward to the year ahead.  I hope you are too!

 

2 Responses to “Happy New Year!!”

  1. republicofsunshyne 10 January, 2012 at 11:06 am #

    Hey sis

    Didn’t know where to leave this so I’ll just comment here. I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Why? Because you’re awesome and your tips are doing wonders for my hair 🙂 So you can follow this link to see your nomination… http://sunshynec.wordpress.com/2012/01/10/versatile-blogger-award/ to accept.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Relaxer Update « africanhairblog - 05 November, 2012

    […] had hoped.  It’s definitely not as long as I wanted it to be!  I still have not given up on my goal of at least grazing bra strap length (BSL) by end of December 2012.  I’m planning my next […]

Leave a Reply

