Meet Mwedzi

6 Jan

Early 2011

I came across Mwedzi while browsing the internet.  Her name is mentioned in many forums when members list women with hair that they admire.  What struck me initially was that her name means ‘moon’ in Shona.  When I got in touch with her asking (ok begging!) to do a feature on her hair I learnt that she has spent some time in Zimbabwe!  Im really glad she agreed to answer some questions for the blog.  Her hair is absolutely stunning.  She also wears the most beautiful accessories in her hair.  I hope she provides some motivation, especially for readers with natural hair.

1. Where are you from?

I’m from California, USA, but I now live in Maryland, USA.

2. How would you classify your hair?

I am a type 4b

3. How long is your hair?

My hair at its longest points is 18 inches (45 cm).  This is about waist length on me when straightened.

4. Do you have a hair regimen? What is it?

I don’t have a well-defined regimen.  I struggle along, trying to find something that will make my hair easier to deal with.  My hair is really difficult to me.  In particular it is very time-consuming.  So in general, I don’t recommend that anyone try to copy what I am doing, because there are plenty of other women with beautiful hair whose regimens are well-defined and who would be better role models.

That said, what I usually do is wash once a week.  Before washing, I detangle my hair.  I divide the hair into about 10 sections.  Then add water and oil or conditioner to a section and detangle with a wide-tooth comb.  Every now and then I use my Goody Add+Shine brush to brush the hair as it helps remove shed hair.  I have a VERY difficult time removing shed hair from my hair without breaking it.  The hairs are always wrapped around each other and the shed hair does not slide out easily.  I have to unravel by hand frequently, and this is why my hair takes such a long time to do.  Weekly detangling takes about 3 hours.  After I detangle each section, I twist it up.  Once I’m finished with all sections, I get in the shower and wash with my hair in the twists.  When I get out, I style.  This may be doing twists on the wet hair or blow drying and doing a chunky twist out on the blow dried hair.

5. Have you ever had a relaxer / perm?

I had a relaxer for maybe 5-6 years.  From around the age of 11 or 12 to the age of 16 or 17.  So I haven’t had a relaxer for at least 16 years.  Even then I did not get relaxed regularly.  Most of my family straightened their hair with heat (a pressing comb) rather than with chemicals.  I did not start trying to care for my hair, however, until 2007.

6. Do you ever have bad hair days?

About half my days are bad hair days lol!  I just put a pretty accessory on and hope that detracts from the mess.

7. Have you ever thought of cutting your hair?

Not only thought of it, I’ve done it.  I’ve cut my hair a substantial amount (cutting at least half off) twice.  I just got angry, went to the kitchen, grabbed the scissors, and hacked a bunch off.  But after doing that twice, I realized it didn’t help much.  I would cut off 50%-75% of my hair, but the time it takes me to do my hair would only be reduced by 25%.  I think in order to have my hair be easy, I’d have to cut to less than 3″ (7.5cm).  I don’t want hair that short, so I don’t cut like that anymore.  I have, however, cut smaller amounts (3″/ 7.5cm or less) on multiple occasions.

8. What are your favourite products?

My favorite shampoo and conditioner are from a store called Trader Joe’s – Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa shampoo and conditioner.  They are very affordable, the shampoo is gentle on the hair, and the conditioner softens my hair.  My favorite deep conditioner is Aveda Damage Remedy Intensive Treatment.  I deep condition once per month.

 My current favorite leave-in is one I got from Kimmaytube on Youtube.  It is basically equal parts Kinky-Curly Knot Today, aloe vera juice, and oil.  Usually the oil is coconut oil as that is my favorite oil, but if not that, castor or olive oil.

9. Do you have a favourite style?

My favorite style is a twist out done with big twists on blow dried hair, with hair from the sides pulled back by a clip.

10. Do you have any women whose hair you admire?

I admire Sera2544 on Youtube.  Her hair texture is just like mine, but her hair is longer and bigger.  I admire Kimmaytube’s diligence, patience and meticulousness when it comes to her regimen.  I also admire LongHairDontCare2011, whose hair is unspeakably impressive.

11. What do you attribute to your hair growing to the length it is now?

I’m not sure, but I comb gently and use my fingers a lot.  I’m tender-headed, so I have to treat my hair fairly gently or it will hurt.

12. Do you trim your hair? How often?

I trim my hair 3-4 times a year.  I blow dry and just go section by section trimming off a little bit of the ends.  In the past year, I’ve gone a couple of times to a salon, which is something I haven’t done regularly since my teens.  Reniece is my stylist and she trims my hair when I see her.

13. Have you ever had a major setback where your hair is concerned?

Does cutting my hair with the kitchen scissors count as a setback?  If not, once I put in twists and washed my hair and allowed the twists to dry without undoing them or combing them out.  They matted up so tight after just the one wash that it took me a week to undue them all, and I cut a fair amount of hair off at that time.  Even this year, I tried the Tangle Teezer, which was wonderful in that it made my detangling time so fast!  But it gave me tons of split ends and I and Reniece had to be quite aggressive in the trimming to cut out all the damage.  Setbacks happen to me all the time.

14. Any hair tips you can share?

Even though many people seem to like my hair, I always feel like I am really not the best person to give someone hair advice because I struggle with my hair myself.  I guess the only advice I can give is to know that everyone’s hair is different.  So while you can take general tips from someone whose hair you admire, know that there is no guarantee that your hair will respond in the same way.  Pay attention to your own hair whenever you try something new so you can adjust it as you need to.

You can see lots more pics of Mwedzi’s hair in her Fotki albums or view her videos on Youtube.

15 Responses to “Meet Mwedzi”

  1. Kavuli 06 January, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    Absolutely Gorgeous!!!!! I have a new hair idol 🙂

    • Tendayi 06 January, 2012 at 1:55 pm #

      Her hair is just something else! Stunning!!

  2. Nancy 06 January, 2012 at 3:51 pm #

    Beautiful Hair!!!!! Great interview. Happy new year!! From personal experience I learnt that doing the basics (having a simple regimen) is what matters the most. My hair is currently relaxed and grows pretty fast but is extremely dry and thirsty so it breaks very easily. I did my homework and found out that most(but not all) of the black haircare products available(in South Africa) are either useless or have minimal benefit as they mainly contain petrochemical by-products, artificial dyes and harmful preservatives. But on a positive note, there is also an array of natural, highly nutrative oils such as coconut, olive, Boabab, avocado, marula, shea butter etc. that are readly available as well that make excellent substitutes when used properly. Shea butter and johoba oil are my personal favorates for dry hair and scalp. Getting hair in a healthy state requires alot of experimentation. It takes alot of time, patience and effort and is not an ‘exact science’. Healthy, shiny, soft hair is within everyones reach should be the goal.

    • Tendayi 06 January, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      You are so right Nancy. Mwedzi’s regimen is so simple yet she gets great results. I think consistency is also key. Its important to find what works and stick with it!

  3. glitter 06 January, 2012 at 6:21 pm #

    beautiful hair indeed,wow

  4. glitter 06 January, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

    stunning hair

  5. rencia 07 January, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

    great stuff…my hair on the other hand is quite thin…i cant do without a weave coz the hair brakes a lot.

  6. Gumie 26 June, 2012 at 9:07 am #

    Lately,i have been reacting so much to hair relaxers..and decided to take a break and go natural…Am so motivated by your hair that am gonna go natural …am positive my hair will also grow this long.

    • Tendayi 26 June, 2012 at 9:12 am #

      Go for it Gumie! Mwedzi’s hair is just stunning. It definately gives naturals hope.

  7. Kay Koko 27 January, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    Her hair growth between 2008 and 2009 is almost unbelievable! Gorgeous girl.

    • Tendayi 27 January, 2013 at 5:13 pm #

      Just shows us all that it can be done!

  8. PreciousNonhlanhla 07 April, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

    I have never been able to find a relaxer that doesn’t damage my hair, its been trial and error for a long time. So i decided to cut my hair and start natural a couple of days ago. I ‘ll take some tips from Mwedzi’s regimen. Her hair has motivated me. Thanks Tendayi for this informative blog!

    • Tendayi 08 April, 2013 at 9:04 am #

      You’re welcome Precious 🙂 What I love about Mwedzi’s hair is that you dont find many bloggers with that texture. Often women with that texture think their hair doesnt grow long. She is proof that it does.

Leave a Reply

