Finally- the braids are out!

16 Jan

I have detangled but I havent yet washed it

My braids are finally out!  I had planned to be done by Sunday but it didn’t work out so I had to finish off this morning.  It looks like I lost quite a bit of hair from shedding and breakage.  I know its all the hair I shed over the 8 weeks I was braided but it still looks like a lot. I am now about 20 weeks post relaxer.  I will give my hair some tlc for about 2 weeks before relaxing it.  I will need to be very careful when handling the hair over the next two weeks because of all the new growth I have.  I just have so many different textures in my hair at the moment.

Shed hair. I have put the comb next to it for scale.

8 Responses to “Finally- the braids are out!”

  1. Parrot Bubble 16 January, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    i sooo hate to see my hair break,…..i try always to be carefull!!!

    • Tendayi 17 January, 2012 at 11:36 am #

      Im with you on that! Unfortunately some breakage is inevitable.

      • salome 17 May, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

        hi i actually just saw your blog today. I started on my regimen this month and quickly put braids on but the problem is that im scared to wash my hair too often because they get old quicker. How did you keep you braids clean and keep to your regimen at the same time?

      • Tendayi 18 May, 2012 at 11:07 am #

        When washing I concentrate on the scalp. I dont disturb the braids much. The braids and hair get washed mostly by runoff of shampoo and water. That said if your braids are done well washing them will not really affect their appearance. They will still look neat even after 8 weeks of washing weekly.

  2. Kavuli 17 January, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    You’ve done well, Tendayi!

    • Tendayi 17 January, 2012 at 3:04 pm #

      Thank you Kavuli 🙂

  3. poshpabby 18 January, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    . i took off my braids my hair is badly damaged esp. the thin line. the worst part is anytime i try to comb it it just keep on breaking. it’s soo embarassing

Leave a Reply

