What I am doing for ‘tlc’

17 Jan

I mentioned in my post yesterday that I would be giving my hair some tlc before I relax it in about 2 weeks.  I got many emails asking me what I would be doing for this tlc.  I thought instead of answering everyone individually I would just write a blog post that everyone can access.

This is what I will be doing for tlc over the next two weeks:

  • Wash and deep condition my hair twice a week.  I need to up the moisture levels because it is feeling a bit dry.  Right now I am sitting under the dryer after my first wash and deep condition.  I used Organic Root Stimulator Creamy Aloe Shampoo and followed that up with Organic Root Stimulator Hair Mayonnaise.  I am going to use a moisturising conditioner after rinsing off the Hair Mayonnaise because the mayonnaise tends to leave my hair feeling hard.  The moisturising conditioner will soften it.  Im planning on using Mizani Moisturefuse.
  • I will apply some oil onto my scalp twice a week after each wash.  I will oil my scalp once the hair has dried.  I find it easier that way.  I will use castor oil.
  • I will moisturise every day.  I will concentrate on the ends as well as the new growth.  I will be using Lusters Scurl Activator Moisturiser.
  • I will prepoo once a week with coconut oil.
  • I will baggy once a week using Lusters Scurl Activator Moisturizer.  I will do this just to keep the new growth soft and to further enhance the moisture in my hair.

Im hoping all this will keep my new growth soft and will ensure I get minimal breakage.  Im hoping the protein will strengthen the hair before I relax it.

3 Responses to “What I am doing for ‘tlc’”

  1. ndeyak 17 January, 2012 at 12:46 pm #

    Hi. I want to raise a concern that’s been growing in my head about skin and hair care products especially readily available store products like Dark ‘n Lovely, Motions, Dr Miracles, ORS shampoos and deep treatments, shampoos like Organics, Pantene, etc. Most shampoos contain what is called Sodium Laureth Sulphates or Sodium Lauryl Sulphates or derivatives of it. This compound is used for it’s foaming ability. But it is not good for our bodies. The liver supposedly cannot break down this compound and it accumulates in our bodies. It can attack hair follicles causing hair loss or worse, cancer. Then we have hair oil moisturizers and deep conditioning treatments which love to use paraffin liquidum or mineral oil. Mineral oil strips the natural oils from the skin and hair causing chapping and dryness. Isn’t that an oxymoron, something that promises to moisturize stripping your skin and hair of its natural oils? I was wondering if I’m being overly sensitive? I go to my favorite stores like Clicks and Discom and end up not buying anything because I’m always reading the labels. I remember you once recommended the Rainforest Moisture range. The shampoo’s good but the conditioner not so much. And I used to love the Yes to Carrots shampoo and conditioner but Clicks discontinued it. What are your thoughts?

    • Tendayi 17 January, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

      Hi Ndeyak
      The issue of sulphates and mineral oil / petrolatum has been on my mind since I started this hair care journey. I also read labels each time I buy anything so I know what i am buying.

      It is possible to get sulphate free shampoos. I have seen quite a few in Dischem. Ones that come to mind are Hair One (i havent tried it but it gets good reviews on hair boards) as well as African Organics. I think you can get about 5 different sulphate free brands in Dischem. As for hair moisturisers that do not contain mineral oil I have managed to buy ORS Carrot oil and Luster Scurl Activator Moisturiser. I also have a Yes to Cucumbers Leave that is mineral oil and paraben free.

      I have realised though that you can almost eliminate these manufactured products by relying on oils and other natural products for your hair (eggs, bananas, honey, avocado, apple cider vinegar, aloe vera, vegetable glycerin, coconut oil, castor oil, jojoba oil, shea butter, olive oil etc etc). You can also buy other natural based products eg Giovanni online.
      http://africanhairblog.com/2011/01/26/so-what-is-in-our-hair-care-products/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hair update – 44 weeks post relaxer | africanhairblog - 15 October, 2013

    […] I did this twice weekly.  After removing braids I always ensure I give the hair some ‘tlc’ to help up the moisture levels and to strengthen […]

Leave a Reply

