Hair Update – 24 weeks post relaxer

30 Jan

I am now +/- 24 weeks post relaxer.  I have never gone this long between relaxers before.  I managed to go this long because I had my hair braided from the 3rd of November 2011 to the 16th of January 2012.  Since I removed the braids I have just been taking care to be gentle with my hair and to keep it moisturised.  I’m actually surprised at how soft my new growth is.  I’m attributing this to all the treatments and moisturising.  I am moisturising with Lusters SCurl Activator Moisturiser and Elasta QP Mango Butter.  I’m also using a bit of coconut oil for sealing.

I have been keeping styling simple since I took out the braids.  I love hair bands so I have been wearing these almost everyday.  The pic above was taken on Friday.  I had done a braid out.

I think I will relax my hair over the weekend.  I will keep you posted.

6 Responses to “Hair Update – 24 weeks post relaxer”

  1. pat 30 January, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    Lusters SCurl Activator Moisturiser where can I buy that moisturiser in Cape Town?

    • Tendayi 30 January, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

      In Capetown you can buy it at Station Cosmetics. They have shops in Belville, Claremont and Kuilsriver.

  2. maame esi 30 January, 2012 at 3:24 pm #

    can c ur new growth is truly soft..n how cum u still have ur hair lookin like dis afta washing ur hair??

    • Tendayi 30 January, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

      After washing my hair I braided it into 6 braids then left it like that until it was dry. Once dry I undid the braids. That is why it is looking like that.

  3. HattieTottie 16 May, 2012 at 5:03 am #

    I am African American and I used to straighten my hair with a relaxer. I used the Shielo Antioxidant Leave In Protector after washing and conditioning and it helps keep the moisture in my hair. After using a blowdryer to straighten, it comes out soft and straight.
    Now I am natural and still use the Shielo Antioxidant Protectant on my curls. They are soft after adding it to my wet hair and it retains the curls and coils I have.

    • Tendayi 16 May, 2012 at 10:28 am #

      I have not seen this product in this part of the world Hattie. I don’t think we have access to it.

Leave a Reply

