Hair update – 4 weeks post relaxer

12 Mar

I am 4 weeks post relaxer once again.  I don’t have much new growth to speak of (which is worrying given my ‘BSL by December 2012’ goal).  Given this goal, I have been deep conditioning and moisturising religiously.  I am deep conditioning twice a week and moisturising every day.  I have also used the Huetiful steamer about four times now since I got it.  I really love it.  I will do a review after I have used it for a month.

I’m contemplating getting my hair braided next month (at 8 weeks post relaxer).  I haven’t made up my mind yet though.  I will let you know when I do.

12 Responses to “Hair update – 4 weeks post relaxer”

  1. pat 12 March, 2012 at 11:17 am #

    Thank you for an awesome blog!Do you ever have issues were your hair won’t relax in the middle or it refuses to process at all and I have to switch to another relaxer then switch back? My hair does that sometimes. I get it relaxed using Ladine. What’s your view on using essential oils as part of a hair regime like peppermint oil and rosemary oil diluted with a carrier oil? When ever I try to air dry my hair it just ends up frizzing up. So I just roller set it an sit under a dryer,well my hairdresser does it for me.

    • Tendayi 12 March, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

      Thanks Pat
      I have been texlaxing for a while now so my hair has been deliberately underprocessed for some time. As for essential oils, I dont use any but I think they are great especially if you want to address certain issues eg dandruff etc. Many women seem to get good results by using peppermint, eucalyptus and tea tree oils.

      I air dry my hair each time I wash it (twice a week). Once I am done washing, deep conditioning and moisturising I braid it at the back of my head and let it air dry like that. The result is what you see on the pics on this post. Occasionally I will roller set at home but I always air dry roller sets too.

  2. Shannah 12 March, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    Have you tried the ORS Wrap set mousse? It is really amazing! I want to try their Carrot oil. How does it make the texture of the hair feel?

    • Tendayi 12 March, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

      I have not tried the ORS wrap set mousse. I have ORS carrot oil. It is quite moisturising but I find it can make my hair quite oily especially if used each day over a few days. I will normally use it once and alternate with another moisturiser before I wash my hair again.

  3. Asma 12 March, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    nice texture..

  4. Mary-Anne 12 March, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

    Hi

    How can I get my hands a steamer here in SA?

    • Tendayi 12 March, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

      For the Huetiful steamer, you would need to order it from their site http://www.behuetiful.com. For other brands there are a few places you can get them. You can try Hair Health and Beauty tel 011 372 4420 or Headquarters tel 011 839-0009/13. These two companies sell salon equipment and accessories.

  5. Nancy 13 March, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

    Hi. Havnt read your blog in awhile. Can see Ive missed out on alot. Your last 3 posts have been awesome. Keep goin strong. Im currently 8 weeks post (aiming for 10) and struggln with new growth. Was ready to cave in til I read this post. Think of were u came from and were u wuld have been if u hadnt started you hair journey.

    • Tendayi 13 March, 2012 at 10:25 pm #

      Thanks for reading the blog Nancy. I appreciate it.

      My advice for handling new growth is to keep it moisturised and soft! If its soft its easier to handle and put up with!

  6. Maame Esi 16 March, 2012 at 6:49 pm #

    Tendayi..tnx fr d education each time.. i got myself the carrot oil n i find it b/n thick n light.. the oil swims around this thick puddle..is dat the normal ting with the carrot oil??
    i tink i like d organic root olive oil better.. n how much can i use to moisturise d hair.
    tnks

    • Tendayi 16 March, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

      I always mix it up before I use it. I also dont use it daily because it can get quite oily. Just use a bit at a time. Concentrate on the ends of your hair.

Leave a Reply

