Weekend roller set

26 Mar

 

I did a roller set on Saturday after months of being too lazy to use rollers to style my hair.  I must say I was pleased with the results.  I used plastic rollers (pictured below).  I thought I would just take the opportunity to share what I do when roller setting.

I have been using plastic rollers to straighten and style my hair for years.  It’s my go to style if I want straight hair without using heat.  I washed and deep conditioned my hair as usual.  After rinsing the deep conditioner off my hair I applied some Organic Root Stimulator Oil Moisturising Hair Lotion.  I then sealed this with a bit of coconut oil.  I then proceeded to set the hair.  When I roller set I start from the front of my head (the hairline) and work towards the nape.  I put the rollers randomly on my head (some women prefer to work in lines).  I find that this is best for me as I do not comb my hair when I have a roller set and the randomness helps me to disguise the lines.

Once all the hair was in rollers I let it air dry.  This is a style I only do when I have time because airdrying hair on rollers can take quite a long time, especially if you have long hair.  I left the rollers on my hair for about 3 hours.

Once I removed the rollers I applied a bit of castor oil on my scalp along the lines formed while I was applying the rollers.  I then massaged my whole head with my fingertips.  While doing this I also erased the lines where I had sectioned the hair to put the rollers.  I then applied a bit of coconut oil to the hair for added shine.

At night I pin my hair up and tie a scarf before going to bed.  The next morning I apply a bit more coconut oils and massage my head to bring the curls back to like.  I usually keep this style for about 3 days.  I make sure to keep away from water based moisturisers (and steam in the shower) as this will destroy the curls.

Some tips for roller sets

  • Use a product that will give your hair some hold.  You do not want to remove the rollers and the curls all flop!
  • Do not be heavy handed with products.  This can also make your curls flop.  The best looking curls are light and not weighed down.
  • Small rollers give tighter curls while large rollers give looser curls.
  • When putting the rollers on your hair, make sure the ends of the hair lie flat on the roller.  If you don’t do this the curls will be frizzy at the ends.
  • Once you have removed the rollers, stay away from water based moisturisers.  These can ruin your curls.  Stick to oil based moisturisers or a natural oil.
  • The thing about roller setting is that you get better with practice.  On your first try you will probably have to tie your hair back in a ponytail because it won’t look too good! I can promise you that it will get better!
  • There are many different types of rollers e.g foam, steam, magnetic and flexi rollers.

 

I use the rollers in the picture above.  I use the orange ones when I am looking to just straighten my hair and not necessarily have a curl.  I use the yellow ones when I am looking for curls.  I sometimes mix both depending on the look I am going for.

 

My hair today

14 Responses to “Weekend roller set”

  1. vee 26 March, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    I’ve been roller-setting for years now, but am still not able to have my hair look nice & fresh the next morning.

    When you put a scarf overnight, due you leave it flat down (tight) on your head, or just loosely tied?
    And how do you pin it up?

    I always end up have to ponytail my hair, sadly

    • Tendayi 26 March, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

      I tie it down losely but not so loose that it comes off during the night. I pin the hair up with one bobby pin at the back of my head. I do this so that the hair doesn’t come out of the scarf and is all covered.

  2. luckyluwi 26 March, 2012 at 4:15 pm #

    Hey there, Sunshine. I’m sure you get this all the time…I nominated you for The Sunshine Award. Congrats! You’ve brought the sunshine in with you! Your friend, Lweendo @luckyluwi

    • Tendayi 26 March, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

      Wow thank you Luckyluwi!!! 🙂 I appreciate it.

  3. tinashe 26 March, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    the set looks awesome Tendayi, really nice. i will give mine a try and see what happens. i am due a retouch just need to get it done by the end of this week.

    • Tendayi 26 March, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

      Let me know how it goes Tinashe. All the best!

  4. luckyluwi 26 March, 2012 at 11:57 pm #

    Your blog was one of the first ones I followed AGGGEESS ago even before I started blogging, I subscribed and my hair is a bit healthier since then 🙂 It was only fitting

  5. Kavuli 28 March, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    This roller set is so pretty!

    • Tendayi 28 March, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

      thank you Kavuli 🙂

  6. Tendayi 12 April, 2012 at 3:07 pm #

    In the beginning thats the hardest thing! I make sure I rotate the roller several times at the ends of the hair to make sure the ends lie flat. It takes a bit of practice in the beginning.

  7. Crystal 03 May, 2012 at 8:57 am #

    did u use setting lotion? if so which brand?

    • Tendayi 03 May, 2012 at 11:05 am #

      No, I just used Organic Root Stimulator Moisturising Hair Lotion and a bit of coconut oil. I find it gives my hair some hold.

  8. tata 24 July, 2012 at 7:15 am #

    Tendayi i was looking to buy the roller i couldn’t find it whats the brand name and were did you buy it ???
    thank you !

    • Tendayi 24 July, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

      I got them in Style Studio at Menlyn Mall in Pretoria. They are in a clear pack with no name on it. I suspect that somewhere along the line they are repackaged from a bigger pack.

Leave a Reply

