Hair update – 8 weeks post relaxer

13 Apr

I’m back to 8 weeks post relaxer.  My new growth is now much more pronounced and these next four weeks before my next relaxer are always the most challenging because of all the growth I have to deal with.  I’m concentrating on keeping the new growth soft so it’s manageable.  I’m also keeping my hair mostly tied back now.

It will be winter soon in this part of the world.  It is already getting cooler.  The coldest months are June and July.  I’m wondering if I should braid my hair as a protective style through winter (June and July).

My next relaxer will be in early May.  I will have gone 12 weeks since my last relaxer.  I will keep you posted.

8 Responses to “Hair update – 8 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Dee 16 April, 2012 at 3:38 pm #

    Hi Tendayi. I have been reading your blog for a few months and I plan on starting my own hair regimen this May. So far I have not heard you mention anything about hair food (the stuff they use at salons after relaxing your hair). You only talk about hair moisturiser and natural oils. Is hair food not good for the hair?I had dread locks for 7 years (till end of 2010) so my hair knowledge regarding relaxed hair is still very limited but I must say, reading your blog has really taught me a lot about hair.

    • Tendayi 17 April, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

      Hi Dee
      The hair food that is used in many salons is made up mainlky of petrolatum and usually doesnt have many ingredients that will actually benefit the hair. Moisturisers normaly have water as a first ingredient, followed by other ingredients like oils abd humectants that benefit the hair. The aim is to keep your hair moisturised. I find that hair food does not do that. It usually just leaves your hair greasy and sticky.

  2. Maidei 17 April, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    Hi Tendai

    What can you use to oil your scalp if you have a weave or braids. Also some weaves are just better if you don’t wash them. Is it ok to not wash your weave for the three weeks that it’s in your hair.

    • Tendayi 18 April, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

      You can use natural oils like coconut oil or castor oil. They are really great for the scalp. Just remember to use sparingly. A little goes a long way. You can go 3 weeks without washing your hair but ensure your hair is moisturised. Whats results in damaged hair is that we tend to ignore the hair while its in a weave leading to dryness and breakage.

      I would say a weave that can be washed is a better investment because it makes it easier to look after your hair.

  3. Naomi 19 April, 2012 at 6:57 am #

    I’m also 8 weeks post. I don’t think I’ll be able to stretch further than this. I’m losing more hair in even though I try to keep my hair moistured at all times. I will be relaxing my hair over the weekend.I’m still trying to find away to air dry my hair nicely. It comes out looking soooo wrong

    • Tendayi 19 April, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

      If you are beginning to lose hair then you should relax. There is no point in stretching relaxers just for the sake of stretching. Stretching relaxers is not for everyone!

  4. Naomi 19 April, 2012 at 7:01 am #

    Still weighing options between a weave and braids for winter. The weave is winning so far because it allows me to leave my badly damaged hairline untouched while it recovers. It’s almost starting to feel like it’ll never grow back. I baby my hairline so much yet it doesn’t seem like there’s much of a change since I started treating it

    • Tendayi 19 April, 2012 at 10:58 pm #

      Sounds like the weave is winning since it leaves your hair out!! Give your hairline time to recover. If you leave it alone and not pull it, it will. Be patient 🙂 Im sure you will soon begin to see results.

Leave a Reply

