My daughter’s hair

23 Apr

Washed and lightly blowdried in preparation for braiding

My daughter got her hair braided this weekend.  I thought I would share some pics of her hair and braids.  She spends ¾ of the year in braids.  This is a selfish decision on my part really because this styling option doesn’t require regular detangling, which normally results (despite my attempts at being gentle) in battles between us!  With braids I just make sure I wash them weekly and moisturise them daily (using African Pride Braid Spray).  I have written before about how I take care of her hair in braids.  Take a look at the post here.

After getting braided

Her hair is braided by the same person each time.  I prefer this because this person now knows how particular I am about her hair and her hairline. She also has a lot of experience with braiding children, she makes sure that the braids are not too tight.  My daughter has never complained while getting her hair done by her.

My daughter’s hair is natural.  In the pics it has been blow dried in preparation for braiding.  I do this so that there is no tangled hair while braiding.  When she is not in braids I take care of her hair at home.  I use the same products I use on myself, though for her I tend towards more natural products like natural oils.  I feel it is my job to look after her hair and make sure it is healthy until she is old enough to look after it herself.

Do you have a daughter?  How do you take care of her hair?

31 Responses to “My daughter’s hair”

  1. Mudadisi 23 April, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    Wow she has lovely hair! When did u start using natural oils on her hair?? My daughter is 2 and a half, still has bold patches. Can I use oils on her hair to help make it stronger or its to early?

    • Tendayi 23 April, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      Oils are great because they are natural. There is no harm in using them. Just make sure they are carrier oils as opposed to essential oils. Essential oils need to be diluted. They cannot be used directly as they are too strong. See this post for more detail http://africanhairblog.com/2011/02/22/oils-and-hair-care/

    • Tendayi 23 April, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

      I have beed using natural oils for more than a year now. I mostly use coconut oil when her hair is not in braids.

  2. Patience 23 April, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

    How about a young baby, 1 yr what products can i use on her hair?its tangled and can be rather tough to comb out. so far i just shampoo with Elizabeth Ann shampoo and moisturise with aqueous cream ;(

    • Tendayi 23 April, 2012 at 12:35 pm #

      Concentrate on sofetening the hair so that its easier to detangle. Moisturised hair becomes soft. You could even mix a bit of glycerin with water and an oil like coconut. Glycerin is a humectant (it draws water from the atmosphere). It makes hair very soft. You can start off with 1 part glycerin to 5 parts water. You can then add a tablesoon of oil. These measures are just a guide. You can adjust to your own preference. Too much glycerin will make the mixture sticky. To much oil will make it oil. Just use water to dilute until you find what you like.

  3. Naomi 24 April, 2012 at 7:40 am #

    Your girl has lovely hair! All natural? Amazing! I have a 20 month old daughter, at this point,I only ever plait the hair with wool. She absolutely hates it though. She has extremely kinky hair, that usually is completely dry come noon. I use my home made moisturiser on hair. It’s working a little too good on me, but not so well on her hair, I have to spray her hair twice a day sometimes and I don’t even need to spray my hair everyday.

    • Tendayi 24 April, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

      I also did wool plaits on my daughter until she was about 5 when I started the braiding using extensions. She didnt like them either! I think for my daughetr and I its the other way round, my hair is extremely kinky and difficult to adequately moisturise.

  4. Ifai 25 April, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

    After reading your previous post on caring for your daughter’s hair, I took notes and began intensive care of my daughter’s and I tell you, her hair is doing soooooo well her dad even commented how long and nice it looks. I still use wool cos she’s 2 and a half years old. Just want to say thanks for the information passed across

    • Tendayi 25 April, 2012 at 12:30 pm #

      you’re welcome 🙂

  5. DElight 19 July, 2012 at 8:27 am #

    loving the info, can you ask your sister where she bought TZZZ4 i cant find it in shops back here. thanks

    • Tendayi 19 July, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

      Thanks Delight. She bought it from an agent in Harare. I will ask for the details.

  6. Lukundo 12 August, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    When do u think is the right time to start braidin or plaiting childrens hais with wool or conrows?
    My daughter is 5 months n I don’t know when I shud start styling her hair. Right now its a little over 2″

    • Tendayi 13 August, 2012 at 11:00 am #

      I started when she was 5 years old. Before then all I did was just tie it up into little ‘puffs’ and when it was longer I would occassionally do 4 loose braids on her head.

  7. Paula 11 November, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    My daughter is almost 3 and has natural hair. I want to grow long and healthy without relaxing it but not sure how best I can achieve this. Any tips please? P/s it’s very kinky and complains when combing it!
    In fact I’m hoping for Tendayi’s daughter kind of look for my little girl.

    • Tendayi 13 November, 2012 at 11:59 am #

      The first step with looking after childrens hair is to keep it soft. To do this you need to make sure it is washed and deep conditioned as well as moisturised daily. Regular deep conditioning helps hair to be soft. Moisturising daily also helps with this. The way I do it for my daighter is I wash her hair then apply the deep conditioner and put a shower cap over her hair. I then leave it in while for a few hours. I let her play and just get on with things while the conditioner is on. When I rinse it off the hair is soft. I then moisturise the hair while still damp and style it and leave to dry in the style. Another thing is to style the hair in styles that last a few days to a week. This will nesure that you are not combing and detanglin the hair daily. My daughters hair is in braids 3/4 of the year. I get her hair braided for 8 weeks at a time with breaks in between before rebraiding again. It works well for both of us.

  8. Paula 13 November, 2012 at 5:28 pm #

    Would it be too early to braid my daughters hair now? She is almost 3 and has a head full of hair. Im considering braids coz they are long lasting so we won’t have to fight constantly when it’s time to wash, comb etc. any harm in trying it now?

    • Tendayi 14 November, 2012 at 10:05 am #

      I started braiding my daughter when she was 5. I think the answer depends on how it is done. The braids have to be relatively loose. You dont want tight braids on a child. Either do it yourself or have someone you trust do it for you. Its really sad seeing a child with tight braids and hairline issues. Also if you go ahead and do the braids, wash the hair weekly and spray daily with braid spray.

      • Paula 14 November, 2012 at 10:33 am #

        Thanks Tendayi! Your blog is giving me hope and I’ve been shopping for products like a mad woman.
        I’m soooo excited for my daughter and I and will keep you posted. 🙂

        I have neck line length fine hair which I’m hoping to revamp with tips from this blog.
        Watch this space!!! Lol

      • Tendayi 14 November, 2012 at 10:56 am #

        All the best Paula!! I will watch this space!!

  9. mommyincolor 05 August, 2013 at 9:13 pm #

    I wash my daughter’s hair every week and sometimes I condition and sometimes I ise a leave in after washing because she is very impatient. I use Neno Natural Growth Stimulator on her scalp and L.OC. Her hair stays in ponytails the majority of the time and every now and then I’ll do bantu knots or a twist out. I am horrible with braids so it rarely is in braids.

    • Tendayi 06 August, 2013 at 4:06 pm #

      Sounds like you are really taking good care of it. Would love to see a pic of your daughters hair 🙂

      • LaTasha 08 August, 2013 at 12:32 am #

        Hi Tendayi.. I have a 7 year old daughter who’s her is natural and when ever she get’s it braided, about a week later it looks really old. her natural start curling up out of the braids. normally it is braided with synthetic or kankelon weave. Is there anything u could recommend for me to do for her to last longer?

      • Tendayi 08 August, 2013 at 10:56 am #

        Before My daughter gets braided I lightly blow dry her hair to straighten it and make it easier to part while braiding so it doesnt get snagged and so she doesnt feel pain. I also think the skill of the braider contributes to it too. The braider I use her braids look neat even at 8 weeks when I undo them. This is true for both my daughter and I.

      • mommyincolor 25 October, 2013 at 3:26 am #

        You can see pics of it @ mommyincolor.wordpress.com. Its in the post called “Bubba’s Hair-y Situation”

      • Tendayi 05 November, 2013 at 11:12 am #

        I’ve viewed the post. She’s so pretty!! Her hair looks great too.

      • mommyincolor 06 November, 2013 at 12:46 am #

        Thank you!

  10. Gomotsegang 14 October, 2013 at 6:09 pm #

    @Tendayi. where is this hairstylist that does children’s hair. am living in jhb, but have a niece in pta who would benefit from a hairstylist with gentle hands. Regards, Gomo

    • Tendayi 15 October, 2013 at 12:01 pm #

      I’ve emailed you her details.

  11. mommyincolor 21 October, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

    I use a sulfate free shampoo on my daughter’s hair weekly. Rarely do use a ckarifying shampoo or chelating shampoo on her. I don’t deep condition because I just know she wouldn’t want to leave the product on her hair. So, I L.O.C with EVOO and right now I’m using cantu shea butter deep treatment masque. I love African Pride Braid Spray for her twists&braids. I don’t use synthetic hair for her braids and so far the most they’ve ever lasted is two weeks. I want to start washing her hair with braids in, but my mom says that will make the hair frizz worse. Is that true?

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2013 at 11:05 am #

      I only ever wash her braided hair when she has added synthetic hair. It doesn’t frizz because of washing when she has synthetic hair added. On the occasions when I do braid her own hair I probably will braid 4 /6 braids only and remove them before washing. Without added synthetic hair, I only keep them in for a week or so, not very long.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Blog hopping: African Hair blogs (Relaxed and natural) | Soul Hair - 25 April, 2012

    […] was looking at a post Africanhairblog wrote about her daughters hair and I noticed how healthy and well groomed her daughters hair was. On the link on her facebook page […]

Leave a Reply

