Hair update – 12 weeks post relaxer

4 May

My growth today – washed and lightly moisturised hair

I’m 12 weeks post relaxer now.  I have not yet made an appointment with my stylist for a relaxer.  I have quite a busy weekend coming up so I don’t think I will be able to do it then.  I may just stretch another week and have the relaxer done next weekend.

Since I’m 12 weeks post I am not doing much to my hair in terms of styling.  I’m relying mostly on my hair bands as well as just tying it back.  I have also had to up on moisturising because my hair seems to get drier the further away I get from my last relaxer.  I have continued to deep condition twice a week for this reason too.  At this stage I am very careful with my hair and I take extra care to make sure that the new growth stays soft so it’s manageable.

On another note, those of you who have read my regimen page will have read that I like Keracare Humecto as a moisturising conditioner but could only get it from the US.  My friend Irene recently told me that there was a distributor in Johannesburg who sold Avlon products (Keracare and Affirm).  I called the distributor and she does have Keracare Humecto in stock.  I should be buying some soon.

Anyone else hovering around 12 weeks relaxer?  How are you coping?

14 Responses to “Hair update – 12 weeks post relaxer”

  1. Mudadisi 04 May, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    You are brave! I tried to follow, got to 12 weeks this past weekend, my hair was getting so dry and unsightly, so I bought myself a relaxer kit, relaxed it myself and it has grown a whole lot. I’m using almond oil to soften it and add shine. Is it wise to deep condition it this week so soon after retouching?

    • Tendayi 04 May, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      There is no harm in deep conditioning it. You can even deep condition straight after your relaxer. No problem at all.

  2. trini krys 04 May, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Such beautiful hair. Wish I could stretch that long.

    • Tendayi 04 May, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      You can try Trini. Just do it slowly adding a week each relaxer you get to your desired time.

  3. Shan 04 May, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    My hair is also at 12 weeks and I must say deep oiling regularly really helps, I use ORS moisturizer and caster oil, I also have stopped ironing my hair, I deep condition and roll my hair once a week hair. My hair used to break so much but know its getting its density back. I’m not stressing about length but rather on having healthy hair. I used to be teased in school about my hair, I’m coloured, my mum has has straight hair. I on the other hand ended up with my dads hair, which is very thick. Coloured people refer to thick hair as “CROOS HAIR”. A very mean and derogatory phrase.I used to disguise my hair with hair pieces. Those days are gone, because I realized theres no such a thing as bad hair, just perhaps unhealthy hair.

    • Tendayi 05 May, 2012 at 12:38 pm #

      Good for you for embracing your hair. That is one of the things that we really cannot change. We can relax, flat iron etc but nothing can change the hairs texture so it comes out straight! I have realised that we all have hair gripes, those with straight hair are constanly looking for thicker hair – buying volumising products and blow drying with big brushes to make the hair look fuller. Those with thick hair on the other hand are flat ironing and trying to tame their curls!

  4. noleen 06 May, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    i recently received the keracare for UK and i can’t believe i can for a week without shampooing my NATURAL HAIR, would you ming giving me the johannesburg distributor for the keracare, that will be a life saver

    • Tendayi 07 May, 2012 at 8:31 am #

      Hi Noleen

      Which Keracare product did you use?

      The distributor is called Botlhale Distributors tel 082 419 9002. The woman I spoke to is called Sharon.

  5. Kavuli 07 May, 2012 at 2:11 pm #

    Hi Tendayi!

    I just want to let you know that I think your blog is one of the best things since sliced bread. I present you with the “One Lovely Blog” award. Please accept it and pass the love around http://goodhairdiaries.blogspot.com/2012/05/one-lovely-blog-award-my-acceptance.html

  6. blueandlessed 23 June, 2012 at 6:12 am #

    WOW WEE! You’ve got a ton of new growth….Luv it! ♥BnB♥

    • Tendayi 23 June, 2012 at 4:06 pm #

      Thank you! Its not really a ton though lol!!

  7. Nono 06 July, 2012 at 7:00 am #

    Hi Tendayi. I wanted to ask you if its fine if I blow dry or use a straightening iron on a regular basis? The reason being that when I air dry my hair it comes out frizzy. Will the heat from blow drying the haÍr limit my growth or damage my hair?

    • Tendayi 09 July, 2012 at 10:47 pm #

      With many women, frequent blow drying / flat ironing dries out the hair. I am one of them. It depends how regularly you will be using heat. Make sure you use a heat protectant each time. To eliminate frizzy hair when air drying you can try braiding it up (just a few loose braids) while wet so it dries that way. You can also put it into a bun or let it dry in rollers. You can also wrap it after it ia about 70% dry and tie it down with a scarf. I find I get very frizzy hair if I let it just fry without tying it down or braiding it.

Leave a Reply

