Got a fresh relaxer

14 May

relaxer day

I had a relaxer this past Saturday at 13 weeks post relaxer.  I went to the hair salon and used the same hairstylist I have used for about a year now.  My hair was relaxed with Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Relaxer (normal strength) after applying Softsheen Carson OptiCalm Pre-Relaxer Protector on my scalp.  The pre-relaxer protector was applied to my whole scalp with emphasis on my ears, hairline and nape.  I asked the hairstylist not to relax my hairline so she didn’t apply any relaxer crème onto it.  I felt there was no need given that the hair is so fine there anyway.  As it is, you can hardly notice that my hairline was not relaxed this time round.  After the relaxer crème was neutralised, the hair was blow dried and flat ironed after applying Organic Root Stimulator Olive Oil Heat Protection Serum.

I’m fairly happy with the progress my hair has made.  The layers I had when my hair was cut in February are almost gone now.  I have also gained some length.  I’m still holding on to my goal of reaching bra strap length (bsl) by December 2012.  Over the next three months I will focus on length retention by making sure I minimise breakage to increase length.  I will keep up with my regimen as I feel it is working.  I may also get my hair braided in July since this is the coldest month in South Africa and it will help me protect my hair against the cold.

So what changes am I planning for the next 12 weeks:

  • I will seal my hair with coconut oil each time after I moisturise.  I haven’t been doing this consistently.  I will make sure I concentrate on the ends.
  • I will pre-poo my hair more often.  I have been doing this infrequently, though it makes my hair very soft.

Wish me luck!

Read about my last relaxer here.

February 2012

 

May 2012 – Im wearing the same shirt as above

 

May 2012

63 Responses to “Got a fresh relaxer”

  1. Thandeka 14 May, 2012 at 6:13 pm #

    Your hair is beautiful! Shoo, am sooo jealous! Its looong and sooo healthy. Have u heard of a hair food called T444Z? Its imported from the UK and costs about R300 here in South Africa. I have been using it for a year and has really helped stop my chronic dandruff and my hair is longer. I must admit though that my hair is not yet close to yours…that is beautiful hair!

    • Tendayi 15 May, 2012 at 11:48 am #

      Thank you Thandeka. I must say it doesn’t look like this every day, just the day of my relaxer! I have heard of T444Z. I even have a bottle that my sister gave me. She says it helped grow back her hairline. I havent used it yet though. Im saving it until i have braids before I try it out. I will write a review on it once Ive tried it out. Its just so expensive though!

  2. vee 14 May, 2012 at 6:37 pm #

    Your hair is beautiful! I’m so envious 😉 just a quick question…. (I’m sure you must have answered it in your blog – under your regimen, bout will have to check it soon..)

    Do you roll, blowdry and flat iron by yourself?
    I used to get my hair relaxed at the salon, and then a wash, blow-wave & flat-iron weekly there.

    But now I don’t have the time & can’t afford (I have a 5 month old baby).
    My 4c hair is in desperate need of help. I can get it relaxed, but am just unable to blowdry & flat-iron by myself 😦

    • Tendayi 15 May, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

      I only have these things done once every 3 months when I get a relaxer at the salon. At other times I do my hair at home and I stay away from using heat which can be quite damaging. I just wash, deep condition and moisturise the rest of the time. If I want my hair straight then I set it with rollers and air dry. To get your hair straight without flatironing you could try wrapping overnight. There are lots of videos on youtube that can guide you. Here is one http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UFxIxsjK8tU

  3. wiscellaneous 14 May, 2012 at 7:14 pm #

    looks great, very healthy and love the length…

  4. Olivia 14 May, 2012 at 9:28 pm #

    wow!your hair looks good..i think u made the right choice not relaxing your hairline too…

    • Tendayi 15 May, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

      Thanks Olivia. It just made sense not to relax it.

  5. Kavuli 14 May, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Your hair is really looking great, Tendayi! Well done on the relaxer stretches and the new length. You are very close to BSL!

    I’ll be joining you in protective styling very soon.

    • Tendayi 15 May, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

      Not as close to bsl as I’d like but Im getting there 😉

  6. Miss K 15 May, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    Hi Tendayi
    I have only started following your blog because for a long I have been looking for a blog that concentrates on African hair because African-American hair tends to be softer than ours. Thank you so much for taking time out to write about your hair worries and give advise.
    I had natural hair for two years before, but I could not see any progress. I decided to relax it, but I had to cut it September (3 months after relaxing) because it was breaking badly. I have started to grow it again and only relax it after a while and I use minimum relaxer so it is somewhere between natural and relaxed. It has started to break again and I do not know what the reason for this is. I really want to relax my hair, but I am afraid it will break again. What should I do?
    I might be paranoid, but I think the more expensive the product, the better it will work. I use Organic Root Stimulator (ORS) creamy aloe shampoo, replenishing conditioner and olive oil moisturiser; I aso use Dr Miracles hot gro for my fading hairline (from using weaves) and Soft ‘n Free gro healthy olive oil moisturiser (its a kid’s range that is available exclusively to clicks).

    • Tendayi 15 May, 2012 at 12:19 pm #

      Hi Miss K
      Breaking hair is one of the most common problems black women have with their hair. The most common reason for this is because the hair is not getting enough moisture ie dry hair. Are you moisturising your hair adequately? I do this once a day. Some women moisturise twice – in the morning and before bed. Take a look at these articles I have written on hair breakage for more detail:
      http://africanhairblog.com/2011/01/20/hair-breakage-whats-causing-it/
      http://africanhairblog.com/2011/11/23/bw-why-is-my-hair-breaking/

      As for expensive products, it doesnt always follow that they are the best. The best moisturiser I have come across is Scurl Activator Moisturiser. It is cheap at about R30 for a huge bottle. It is cheap I suppose because the main ingredients are water and glycerin which are inexpensive. That said I do agree though that some of these cheap ‘hair food’ are essentially vaseline and fragrance in a bottle and do nothing for your hair.

  7. jessica 15 May, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    love love love..bra-strap length here you come mainini!!! 🙂

  8. Ravi 15 May, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    lovely, and inspiring! !

  9. Dr fomsky 15 May, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

    I was actually thinking of doing the same thing myself. I’m glad you shared this. I’m definitely going to do this on my next relaxer touch up

    • Tendayi 15 May, 2012 at 3:43 pm #

      I should have done it sooner. Let me know how it goes!

  10. Flossy 15 May, 2012 at 7:11 pm #

    hey girl have been following ur blog for a while I just want you to know that u have changed one woman’s hair and thats me, my hair is shoulder length now. Like a good student I want to be BSL like u and with u I know its a matter of time guess May / June 2013 for me.

    • Tendayi 16 May, 2012 at 10:27 am #

      BSL will happen for a Flossy! We just need to be patient and not waver from our goal.

  11. Thembi Mkhize 15 May, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    Absolutely gorgeous hair Tendayi. Am inspired. Great to see your beautiful face too. With protective styling you will reach BSL soon. I tried a mix of castor oil, peppermint eo, eucalyptus & rosemary eo for my hair line. After 6 months the results were great. All the best with your hair journey.

    • Tendayi 16 May, 2012 at 10:26 am #

      Thanks Thembi. All the best to you too 🙂

  12. Thandeka 16 May, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    How does one deep condition plaited hair? I prefer plaiting my hair.

    • Tendayi 16 May, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      How do you plait it Thandeka? Braids or cornrows?

      • Thandeka 16 May, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

        In cornrows with my own hair.

      • Tendayi 17 May, 2012 at 4:00 pm #

        You can dilute shampoo with water then wash them. You can then dilute conditioner in a spray bottle and spray onto the hair. Wear a shower cap for some hours then rinse the conditioner off.

        Washing and deep conditioning cornrows does make them look messier quicker though. Depending on how long you keep them you could deep condition them when you undo them before getting them done again.

  13. Precious Hozheri 21 May, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    Hi Tendayi u’ve got lovely lovely hair i should say. i have braids at the moment and I just want to enquire on how i can take care of my hair during this period i am in Zim and also for how long a period should i go on with them?

  14. Au Naturale 22 May, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    What a Great blog (greetings from a new subscriber)! I just happened to come across it. Your progress from your last relaxer really shows, it’s definitely gotten fuller and you’ve gain some length.

    • Tendayi 22 May, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

      Than you Au Naturale! I have gained a bit of length. Not enough though 😉

  15. Pumi 22 May, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

    Tendayi thank you so much for all the insight, we really appreciate it. Especially since there is such a shortage of information regarding ethnic hair. I am following your progress and have also embarked on this journey to grow beautiful healthy hair and the results are PHENOMENAL. THANK YOU SO MUCH

    • Tendayi 22 May, 2012 at 4:59 pm #

      You’re welcome Pumi. Remember to take pictures to document your progress. It’s really motivating when you begin to see changes. You can begin by taking a pic every month.

      • Pumi 22 May, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

        ABSOLUTELY! Thank you once again, you are making such a wonderful contribution cause of your guidance we are also reaping the rewards. MANY THANKS

  16. maame esi 23 May, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    Tendayi…great hair u have der…lovin d lenght and the body (volume)…
    keep up d gud wrk.!

  17. lolo 25 May, 2012 at 11:23 am #

    Hi Tandai. I want to know that if I change from dark and lovely to organic relaxer its ok I won’t damage my hair ? Because I was thinking to do single braids maybe for 8 weeks to get some more new growth for the new product on my hair. Pls help ASAP

    • Tendayi 25 May, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

      Hi Lolo
      Changing relaxer shouldnt harm your hair. Remember the relaxer should only go on the new growth NOT on all your hair. The only issue you may find is that the ORS relaxer will relax differently from the D&L one meaning the hair may have slightly different textures. This shouldnt be a problem though because it can also happen when using the same relaxer.

      • lolo 25 May, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

        Thank you Tandai. So can I do single braid in 7weeks post relax and stay 8weeks with my braids?

      • Tendayi 26 May, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

        Yes you can. As long as you look after you hair while braided your hair will be ok.

  18. florence 27 May, 2012 at 6:59 pm #

    Hi Tendai thanx for the blog. Hope u cn help me I’m so clueless when it comes to maintaing my hair for the past 4 years I’ve been just relaxing it every month then I apply dark ad lovely oil moisturiser once a day bt my hair hasn’t made any progress that I cn c so I cut it off last year ad kept it natural for a year I ws only braiding it then I relaxed it in March 2012. I’ve gained considerable length ad ma hair for the first tym is even thru out its normally longer at the front then short at the back. Will you please help me on which products to buy and how to maintain it. I wish to use organic products. Will be relaxing my hair sometym nextweek just give me a rough idea on what to do sorry for making the story long. I’ll be doing my own hair at home this time

    • Tendayi 28 May, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

      Hi Florence
      Its really difficult to prescribe products because what works for my hair may not work for your. I think the best is to focus on proper hair care. Make sure that your hair is adequately moisturised. Wash and deep condition your hair weekly and moisturise it daily. Take a look at these posts for the basics of hair care http://africanhairblog.com/category/beginner-wednesday/
      This post lists the products I use and how I use them – http://africanhairblog.com/my-regimen/

      When hair is breaking, it seems like it is not growing because it is not getting longer. The main reason why hair breaks is because it is dry. This is why it is improtant to keep hair moisturised.

  19. lolo 29 May, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Hi T. I have sew in weave now I want to remove it tomorrow and I want to do single braids can I do my braids on thursday its ok or not pls help

    • Tendayi 30 May, 2012 at 11:49 am #

      I would suggest you go for a week (or 2 if you can) between the weaves and braids. In that time deep condition your hair and give it some tlc. That way you will strengthen it and prepare it for the braids.

  20. lolo 30 May, 2012 at 4:26 pm #

    Hi T. Thank you so muvh for your advice, I like to know that can I mix castor oil with my mosturizer and use it on my braids?

  21. thandeka 01 June, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    Do u think the improvement in your hair is caused by frequent deep conditioning?

    • Tendayi 02 June, 2012 at 9:30 am #

      I think the improvement is caused by the regular moisture and deep conditioning is a big factor in that. I think without it I would have seen lesser results.

  22. Dee 13 June, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    Hi Tendayi

    I have a big problem with my hair had been using Dark nd luvly for a while e other parts used to come out well relaxed then e other parts like e side will remain natural, I even tried using e whole kit its jus e same. I have tried out all e best relaxers on e market during my xul days except for Organics Root Stimulator. I cut my hair 4 months ago now I wanna relax it m so afraid nd thinking what if it doesn’t relax my hair well jus like dark nd luvly. I really need help. I hev tried different hair stylist nd I prefer going to e saloon with my own kit so therez no way e relaxer can be fake. M willing to try anything, what do u suggest girls here I aslo need ur advise.

    • Tendayi 14 June, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

      With me the back of my head and sides are quite coarse while the front is softer. When getting relaxed those are the parts that get the creme first. I use Organic Root STimulator and its working well for me. The problem with relaxers is that what works for one may not necessarily work for someone else because our hair is different. I use the regular strength. Maybe what you need is to use Super Strength for coarse hair. If I wasn’t using ORS I would probably be using Mizani. It get quite good reviews on the internet and it is available here in SA where I am. With relaxers, they also need to be applied / used properly otherwise you do not get good results. You need to picka stylist who knows what they are doing and works quickly so that the relxer is even, starting with the coarse parts and ending with the finer parts eg hairline.

      Sorry this isnt helpful. Its really about trial and error until you fnd the one that works.

  23. Dee 14 June, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    Thanx a lot Tendayi, we probably have the same problem (sides and back). M also in SA will try both Mizani and Organics Root Stimulator. Will give u feedback soon.

  24. Molly 27 June, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    Hi , which brand is the S curl activator moisturizer ?

    • Tendayi 28 June, 2012 at 11:20 am #

      The brand is called Lusters

  25. judith 19 November, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

    SHOULD YOU COMB YOUR HAIR BEFORE YOU RELAX IT OR YOU SHOULD COMB IT ALONGSIDE

    • Tendayi 19 November, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

      You should detangle your hair proior to relaxing to make it easier to part your hair and apply relaxer creme I find that combing hair while relaxing breaks it. Rather smooth the relaxer with your hand or the back of the comb.

  26. Agrieneth reneilwe 15 January, 2014 at 2:26 pm #

    Hy Tendayi ,i have been relaxing my hair at home every month since last year November nd now i want to change to organic root stimulator olive oil ,will there be any effect?

    • Tendayi 17 January, 2014 at 4:41 pm #

      You are able to switch to another relaxer with no ill effect. Remember to only relax the new growth and try to stretch longer than every month between relaxers to avid overprocessing your hair. I would day try and stretch for between 6 and 8 weeks.

  27. Abi 12 February, 2014 at 3:58 pm #

    Your hair is lovely, my goal this year is to grow my hair to my shoulder, at the moment it is just below my ear.

    • Tendayi 16 February, 2014 at 6:23 pm #

      Thank you Abi. With proper care it will grow.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Relaxer Update « africanhairblog - 05 November, 2012

    […] Read about my last relaxer here. […]

Leave a Reply

