My face broke out due to hsn vitamins

4 Jun

So I tried out the Solal Beauty Nutrients and my face broke out! I got big ugly pimples on the right side of my face.  I’m thinking this may be because of the high levels of biotin in the pills.  The supplements have 10mg of biotin (the other hair, skin and nails (hsn) vitamins I was taking only had 0.2mg).  I took the supplements with plenty of water but it doesn’t seem to have made a difference.  I may try again after maybe 2 weeks just to be certain that the break out was indeed caused by the pills.  I really feel it was though, because I did not introduce anything new during this time.

So after spending R189 (approx. US$25) I’m sitting with a bottle of vitamins I can’t take!  I need to get in touch with the manufacturers, maybe I can swap my bottle for another.  I noticed that they have a product called Collagen Plus, it’s also an hsn vitamin but it has only 60mcg / 0.06mg of biotin.  If the biotin is the problem then these may work.

The ingredients in the Beauty Nutrients vitamins:

Omega 3 extract (from fish oil)       300mg

Vitamin E                                             15mg

Astrareal astaxanthin                        1mg

Biotin                                                    10mg

Silicon                                                   2.5mg

Vitamin A                                             10,000 IU

Collagen tri-peptide                           50mg

Zinc                                                       10mg

 Have any of you ever had negative reactions to hsn vitamins?

22 Responses to “My face broke out due to hsn vitamins”

  1. Tina 04 June, 2012 at 2:27 pm #

    i’ve bn taking natva (hair, skin & nails) supplements for the past 2 mnths, have had no side effects, just compared ingredients, and the Natva have less of wat u have bn taking

    • Tendayi 04 June, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

      I have seen the Nativa range in Clicks. Let us know if you start seeing results.

  2. Belle 04 June, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Hi Tendayi,

    I don’t know exactly why you’re taking supplements, but maybe you should try something other than hsn vitamins.
    I started taking zinc for my skin at first but then I read that it also benefits your hair and reduces shedding. Since taking it, I’ve realised my hair has gotten thicker. Anyways, my point is, maybe hsn isn’t working for you, for eg. because you already have the required daily intake for all it’s ingredients and maybe you should read up on other supplements you could take. I hope you soon find something that works for you.

    • Tendayi 04 June, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

      I started taking them to see if they would have any effect on my hair. More of experimentation really. The Beauty Nutrients have 10mg of zinc. I will definately let you knwo when I find something that works!

  3. Niso Tendai Ngorima 04 June, 2012 at 4:16 pm #

    some vitamins increase your sebu production which in turn causes acne… it may be wise to read the leaflet for indications, contraindications and side-effects before trying them again…

    • Tendayi 04 June, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      They don’t mention acne or pimples as a possible side effect. What they mention is a possible rash but what I got is definately not a rash.

  4. beautyisay 06 June, 2012 at 6:23 am #

    Sounds like it’s the biotin, with biotin I believe you have to take other B-vitamins and vitamin C.

    • Tendayi 06 June, 2012 at 10:20 am #

      I’m convinced its the biotin too 😦

  5. Joy 07 June, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    Hi Tendayi,

    My comment is not about this recent article on hsn vitamins. I stumbled across your blog two weeks ago and I just want to tell you how grateful I am of the work you are doing. I went on a journey last year to grow my hair but I gave up along the way because most of the information I received from the African-American blogs were not that relevant to me. I found the information useful but it was a struggle for me to find the products they recommended in South Africa.
    When I came across your blog two weeks ago, I read all the articles you wrote within few hours and I felt like God finally answered my prayers regarding hair growth. The following Monday I went on a mission to buy all the products you recommended and started following your regime even though I twisted it to suit my lifestyle. I go to the gym three times a week and run outside on Sat and Sun. I used to be so stressed in the past because of sweat on my hair and that made my hair even more difficult to manage. I now co-wash three times a week using TreSemme no silicone conditioner mixed with glycerine, apply ORS live in conditioner, carrot oil/Incredibly rich oil moisturizer and seal with Jojoba or Coconut oil. I deep condition on Wed using Mezani Moisturefuse ( bought it for R115 at Ambience Salon at Fourways Crossing) mixed with honey and castor oil and also on Sun using ORS Replenish conditioner or Hair mayonnaise mixed with castor oil and honey. I also bought a Carmen hooded hair dryer at Game and it is a great investment.

    I am six weeks post relaxer and my hair has never felt and looked this good and healthy. I also apply Glycerine on my hair twice a week before I shower and do Baggying with Coconut oil once a week as a Pre-poo.

    I just want to let you know the positive difference you have made in my hair life and I am forever grateful. I have been trying to save and cut costs in my life and finally I did it when coming to my hair. I can now wash and deep condition at home without going to the salon. I just calculated that I will be saving R500 every month and I am now adding this money towards my savings of taking a vacation overseas sometime next year.

    My apologies for such a long love letter but I just wanted to tell you what impact you have made in my life.

    Kind regards,
    Joy

    • Tendayi 07 June, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

      Wow Joy! Thank you for sharing your story. It definately makes me feel good 🙂 Im glad you are seeing results and I hope your hair improves from strength to strength. I have since slowed down on using honey in my hair because it has lightened my hair. My hair now has streaks. I actually like how it looks but I dont want it to get any lighter. If you find your hair getting lighter and you don’t want it to, ease up on the honey – that will be the cause! I used to use it once or twice weekly, now I use it only occassionally.

      I will write an article about the effect of the honey on my hair – just need to take a pic that shows the streaks clearly.

  6. Joy 07 June, 2012 at 8:19 pm #

    Thank you Tendayi, I’ll take note of that. What have you replaced honey with for your deep conditioning mixture?

    • Tendayi 07 June, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

      I haven’t replaced it with anything. I just leave it out and use it occassionally. When I leave it out I just add oils to the deep conditioner. I have also been using coconut oil which I love.

      • Joy 08 June, 2012 at 3:20 am #

        Thx, I’ll use honey occasionally and add coconut oil to my deep conditioning mixture xoxo

      • Tendayi 08 June, 2012 at 8:58 am #

        Buy a small bottle to begin with and see if you like it too. I use it for pre shampoo treatments (apply to hair and scalp, wear a shower cap, tie down with a scarf and go to bed. The next morning I wash and continue as usual). I add it to deep conditioners and I also use it to seal after I moisturise. I dont do all these thing in one sitting though! If you find you don’t like it you can use it on your body (oreven face). Its great for that too!

  7. millie 07 June, 2012 at 10:38 pm #

    its the biotin ,I broke out too 😦 after spending soo much

    • Tendayi 07 June, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

      What brand and dosage were you taking?

  8. Taylor 08 June, 2012 at 11:32 am #

    Hi Tendayi,

    Check out Tshepiso’s blog post at gahl.ning. She also had break-outs from HSN vitamins and she postulates that it was because she stopped taking her B complex vitamins with the HSN. It appears that in order to avoid break-outs, you need to take the HSN with B vitamins.

    • Tendayi 08 June, 2012 at 11:36 am #

      Thank you Taylor. Im heading over there now!

  9. Ruwa 26 October, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    I noticed there was Omega 3 in the HSN vitamins I have been taking Omega 3 with Vitamin Supplements and my skin has just gone crazy, so perhaps that’s what it was.

    • Tendayi 27 October, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      Maybe thats what it is. I just thought it was the biotin because I have read of others reacting to it.

  10. GH 10 August, 2013 at 8:34 pm #

    I also got these a few weeks ago, excited bout the high biotin content. I’ve never had perfect skin, but after one week of use I noticed more pimples than before, and more pronounced. I’m on a week break, my skin has settled and I’ll try them again for one more week to see if they are the cause.

    • Tendayi 14 August, 2013 at 12:27 pm #

      Let me know how it goes GH. For me they just didnt work at all!

Leave a Reply

