I’m not using honey as often anymore….

10 Jun

I am using honey less often on my hair.  The reason for this is because it has lightened my hair and I don’t want my hair to get any lighter.  My hair has light streaks now, sort of like highlights.  They are more obvious when I stand in the sun.  I think it actually looks quite good but I do not want my hair getting any lighter.  I used to add honey to my deep conditioners twice a week but now I do it occasionally when I feel my hair needs some extra moisture.  Read up more about the benefits of honey here .

I’m not sure why the different colours in my hair don’t come out in pics.  I always feel my hair looks darker in pictures than it really is.  In the picture  above, you can see some of the ‘highlights’.

7 Responses to “I’m not using honey as often anymore….”

  1. Sethi 11 June, 2012 at 5:55 pm #

    Honey made my care hard and my scalp itch like crazy. I tried it once as a sub for glycerin in my daily moisturizing spritz. Even though I tried to vary the amouts it didn’t work out like I hoped.

    • Tendayi 11 June, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

      I used it for deep conditioning and it worked well (besides the change in hair colour), maybe because I was rinsing it out.

    • Adeola 21 June, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

      Hi, that’s because you left it in your hair,you need to wash it out. You should condition your hair with honey mixed with your normal conditioner, don’t use it alone as it will harden your hair and can be difficult to wash out and don’t use it as a moisturizer either.

  2. Joy 11 June, 2012 at 7:37 pm #

    I replaced honey with coconut oil yesterday when I deep conditioned but will continue to use honey once or twice a month. Tendayi, do you know where I can buy Hercules Sagemann seamless comb in SA?

    • Tendayi 12 June, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

      I have seen them in a catalogue for a company called Hair, Health & Beauty. They are based in Sandton. I fon’t know if they sell to the public as they supply professional salons etc. Maybe give them a call and hear what they say. These are the Hercules Sagemann combs they show on their website- http://www.hairhealthbeauty.co.za/productlist.php?category_id=17

      • Joy 13 June, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

        Thx Tendayi, I’ll give them a call. I am curious to find out which comb do you use for your hair? I am using Denmar at the moment xxx

      • Tendayi 14 June, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

        I use those plain black combs. I buy them in Dischem. I use the large, detangling one. I also have a tail comb that I use to neaten the hairline as well as for sectioning when applying oil to the scalp.

Leave a Reply

