Hair update – 4 weeks post relaxer

22 Jun

I’m just past four weeks post relaxer.  I had an issue with excess shedding and I have been trying black tea rinses to counter it.  I have done them twice so far and it looks like the shedding is decreasing.  I will write a separate post about the results.

I have a bit of new growth now.  It’s most apparent along my hairline because at my last relaxer the hairline was left out.  Winter is now in full swing in my part of the world.  I have been paying attention to moisturise daily.  I have also managed to seal daily too using coconut oil.  Because of the cold my coconut oil is a solid block.  I break off a small piece and rub it between my palms to melt it before applying.

The picture above was taken after doing a rollerset.  The light colour in my hair that resulted from my use of honey is quite visible.

I’m thinking of getting braids mid-July as a protective style to see me through winter.

18 Responses to “Hair update – 4 weeks post relaxer”

  1. wiscellaneous 22 June, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    I hadnt seen the colour dimension in your air before – its a good look on you. & thanks for the honey tip…

    • Tendayi 22 June, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

      It usually doesnt show on pics. I mixed honey into my deep conditioners twice a week for some months and this was the result. It happened unintentionally though. Ive now stopped using honey so often, just once in a while.

  2. lolo 22 June, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    Hi T. My 2yrs 9months baby girl have a coars hair and I want to grow her hair natural what can I use or do pls help

    • Tendayi 23 June, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

      Concentrate on keeping her hair soft. This will make it easier to manage. Also style her hair in such a way that you can go for a few days without having to comb or detangle. Also you need to wash with a gentle shampoo and condition her hair to add moisture and to make it soft. I always ahve a tub of Dark and Lovely Cholesterol Treatment that I keep for my daughter. Its cheap and it softens her hair very well. There is a great blog I came across written about a mum sho takes care of her daughters natural ahir and styles it. (Its a white mom with an adoptive black daughter). Take a look http://www.chocolatehairvanillacare.com/2012/03/basic-healthy-hair-steps-for-beginners.html

  3. Melissa Taylor 22 June, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

    Looks awesome! You should try some Pro Naturals Moroccan Argan Oil, this stuff helps nourish and condition your hair, plus it de-frizzes and increases shine. It’s good for relaxed hair and it’s worked for me so far.

  4. Dr fomsky 23 June, 2012 at 3:04 am #

    I’ve tried green tea rinses and they really work too for shedding. Jeni from Justgrowalready uses it too. BTW, I never knew honey could change hair colour but I like your hair colour anyway.

    • Tendayi 23 June, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

      I was using honey twice a week for months. I think that also contributed to it. I still love it though but will use it occassionally. I don’t want my hair getting any lighter.

  5. Joy 27 June, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    The highlights from the use of honey looks good on your hair! I didn’t know that I can leave out my hairline when I relax. I’m 9 weeks post relaxer and I think I’ll do the same when I relax in 3 weeks time because my hairline is in recovery.

    • Tendayi 27 June, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      The hair is so fine on the hairline anyway there is no need to relax it each time. This was my first time doing this though. Thanks for the compliments about my hair.

    • lolo 27 June, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

      Hi T. I want natural hair ,how to go natural from relax hair without cutting my hair?

  6. hope 11 December, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    Hello! My sister tried a tea rinse last wk nd she complained about hair breakage? Do u thnk she did something wrong? She added some haor lenghtening oil in her steeped tea b4 rinsing. Cld dat be the problem? Really want to give it a try but scared of breakage my hair is quite scanty.

    • Tendayi 13 December, 2012 at 4:46 pm #

      Did she add the oil and boil it with the tea? That could be the cause because oil should only be warmed when using on the hair. Getting it very hot can change its composition.

      When I do a tea rinse I put conditioner onto the hair over the tea. Tea rinses are great for excess shedding.

      • hope 14 December, 2012 at 11:20 am #

        Kk,thnx! So i dnt need to add any other oil on to my steeped tea then?

      • Tendayi 14 December, 2012 at 11:23 am #

        There are many variations it just depends on what your hair responds well too. Im sure you could add oil on top, just not to boiling tea on the stove.

Leave a Reply

