How I undo my daughter’s braids

10 Jul

I am in the process of undoing my daughter’s hair so I thought I would share with you how I do it and how I detangle her hair.  When it comes to my daughter, undoing her braids takes a few days because I undo a small portion at a time.  I find this is the easiest way to do it as it’s very hard to make her sit for hours at a time while undoing her hair.  It’s not a problem when she is getting new braids done because she is always excited to see how the new braids will turn out.

I always begin by washing her braids before I begin undoing them.  The reason I do this is to wash off any dirt, dust etc that may just add to knots.  I also find it’s just better (and more pleasant!) to work with clean hair.  Once washed, I let the hair air dry.  This usually takes a couple of hours.

Once dry I smother the hair with Organic Root Stimulator (ORS) Shea Butter Softening Hair and Scalp Lotion.  I use the ORS lotion as a detangler.  I find it softens my daughters hair and makes removing braids that much easier.  I’m sure there are many other alternatives that can be used.  This is just the first one I tried and it works well.  I apply the lotion to the braid only up to where the hair ends.  I apply the lotion to each braid one at a time to ensure that each braid is covered.  I then tie the braids back and leave the lotion on overnight.

The next day I begin removing the braids.  I pick up a braid and apply ORS Shea Butter lotion (again!).  I then immediately begin to undo the braid.  I use the ‘tail’ end of a tailcomb. 

Once the braid is undone I apply a bit more ORS hair lotion to the knot at the base of the hair.  This knot is made up of shed hair, dust and dirt that was held by the braid.  The ORS lotion softens the knot and makes it easy to detangle.  I then comb through the hair, starting with a comb with wide teeth and ending with a tail comb.  I make sure the hair is thoroughly detangled before I move on and repeat the process.

After doing a small section I twist up all the hair.  The reason I do this is to prevent it from tangling again especially given that it takes me a few days to undo her whole head.  Once I have undone her whole head, I undo all the twists and I wash the hair again.  This time I deep condition and moisturise it.

I do this every time I undo her braids.  She has her hair braided about 75% of the year because I find this is the easiest way for me to maintain her hair, I just concentrate on keeping it clean and moisturised.  Undoing her braids and detangling her hair this way ensures that her hair doesn’t break and she loses the least amount of hair during the process.  I also undo my braids the same way.

Click here for a few pics of my daughters hair.

30 Responses to “How I undo my daughter’s braids”

  1. Irene 10 July, 2012 at 9:27 am #

    Honestly tendayi i wish i could do that with my daughter’s hair… but eeeeeh its a hair raising experience when you touch her hair – whether it’s to wash it, comb it, oil it or do anything – her hair is NO GO AREA not matter how fun we make it – the fun ceases when you touch the hair….its actually a very exhausting exercise doing her hair – my suggestion was to cut it and keep it short…but then again we have to deal with the washing of natural hair especially to get the sand out of the hair from nursery school so that is a no no . ….any solution to that!

    • Tendayi 10 July, 2012 at 12:40 pm #

      I would go with keeping it short and then growing it when she is a bit older. You can cut it short enough to just brush in the morning. That way it will be quick. You can then wash it while she is in the tub as you wash her face. Just use a gentle shampoo and a bit of conditioner to keep it super soft so there is no pain whatsoever when brushing. Soon she will be asking to grow her her so she can look like a girl! Thats what happened with me. Whenever I talk about cutting her hair she says no way! ‘I don’t want to look like a boy’. You will be at that age soon!

  2. Raviro 10 July, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    that is a great way which requires a lot of patience. I wet my daughters hair with warm water concentrated conditioner. it makes it soft and it doesn’t break that much.

    • Tendayi 10 July, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      It definately requires time and patience. Thats also why it takes me a few days.

  3. wiscellaneous 10 July, 2012 at 10:59 am #

    This seems like a really gentle way to go about it. Didnt know you had a daughter, she looks cute from what I can see 🙂

    • Tendayi 10 July, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 She is cute!

  4. Lerato 10 July, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    Hi dear I want to go natural, which website can you recommend.

  5. Irene 10 July, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

    Thanks tendayi…i am really contemplating cutting her hair – but i don’t know if she will allow us to brush her hair in the morning….phew!!! We are experimenting with thick braids on her though ….maybe that will be our solution…will see. taking my braids off soon will try your method for sure 🙂

    • Tendayi 10 July, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

      Try it. I promise you will lose less hair to breakage.

  6. Pattygora 11 July, 2012 at 5:38 am #

    Ahww beautiful daughter you have good tips

    • Tendayi 11 July, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      Thank you Pattygora 🙂

    • lolo 12 July, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

      Hey T. Where can I buy coconut oil nd how does it look like I really don’t know the oil

      • Tendayi 13 July, 2012 at 12:26 am #

        In SA its available in Clicks and Dischem plus health shops as well as Indian shops. You can also find it in health food shops too. Its a white solid block at temperatures below 18 degrees celsius or so. Above 18 degrees celsius it is a clear oil. It depends on the temperature in the shop. Since its winter now mine is a solid block. In summer it is a clear oil. I melt it by placing the bottle in a sink of hot water. Sometimes I use it as it is, I just melt a bit by rubbing it between my palms then I apply.

      • lolo 13 July, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

        Hey T. How do you dry your hair?

      • Tendayi 16 July, 2012 at 3:26 pm #

        I air dry it. I usually tie it back and let it dry that way. Sometimes I will tie it back and braid the hair in the pony tail and leave it until its dry.

  7. lolo 11 July, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

    Hi T. I lke to know I relax my hair with dark n lovely, can I use the product that you use the conditioner,shampoos nd mosturizer is it fine?

    • Tendayi 11 July, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

      Hi Lolo
      Don’t be afraid to mix product brands. I use products from many different brands and it works fine. Just pick the products from a brand that work for you. Its very rare to like all the products from one brand manufacturer.

  8. Abena 18 July, 2012 at 11:26 pm #

    Hi tendayi, i just stumbled on your blog and i love it. I have been reading a lot of blogs about hair care and im super excited someone from africa is doing this. I also get very frustrated knowing most of the products in other blogs are not obtainable here in GHana but i have been inspired to start taking better care of my hair with the products available to me. Keep doin what you are doin. Lots of love from Ghana…abena

  9. Loreen 15 December, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    What relaxer is suitable for thin kinky hair

  10. jekanyika 10 January, 2013 at 2:09 pm #

    Hi tendayi, can you get the ORS Shea Butter lotion in SA? If so, could you advise where? thanks

    • Tendayi 10 January, 2013 at 5:14 pm #

      Yes you can. I have found it in smaller shops like Charlie Parkers as well as these 2 small shops at Boulders Mall in Midrand. One of them is called Sweet Penny i think. The shops are close to each other.

  11. jekanyika 11 January, 2013 at 11:47 am #

    Thanks v much – any idea if these shops are in CT too? will try do my own investigating 🙂

    • Tendayi 11 January, 2013 at 11:54 am #

      I think you may find it in Jumbo. I dont think those other shops are in Cape Town.

  12. Lavoire Beauty Co. 13 August, 2013 at 12:07 am #

    wonderful post. such great tips for undoing braids without the stresses of tangling and lots of breakage. simply fantastic!

  13. Hildah Wanjiru 11 September, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

    my hair is natural an want to try ur tips,but my worry is that i don’t know where to get this items am in Botswana though am a Kenyan plz help me.

    • Tendayi 11 September, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

      You don’t need to use this exact product to detangle. You can use any other product that will make your hair soft. The idea is to focus on the techniques of how to undo the braids.

Leave a Reply

