I have braids once again

19 Jul

 

I had my hair braided this past Friday.  It’s something I had been contemplating for weeks and I decided late on Thursday that I would just do it.  I used the same woman who braids my daughter.  It took her 6 hours with a few breaks in between.   I asked her not to braid the tiny hair on my hairline so she left some hair out.  I bought some Organic Root Stimulator Edge Control which I will use to smooth the hair on my hairline whenever I need too.

I used ‘Expression’ braid colour 99J.  I can only find this colour in the braids made in Nigeria.  The South African manufactured Expression seems to only come in the usual colours like 1, 2, 4   and 33.  If you like experimenting with colour, go to a Nigerian salon for your Expression braid!

I am going to keep the braids for 6 to 8 weeks.  I will care for the braids the same way I did last time.  I will wash weekly and moisturise daily with braid spray (African Pride).  I decant the African Pride into a spray bottle and use that to spray.  I do this because it’s faster to moisturise braids using a spray bottle.  I also spray until the braids are damp, only concentrating on the parts of the braid that have my hair.  One of my sisters gave me some T444Z hair food which I will try out for my scalp.  She bought it in Zimbabwe but I know it is available in South Africa and other African countries too.  I will let you know what I think of it after using it for a few weeks.

 

21 Responses to “I have braids once again”

  1. Margret Mburayi 19 July, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Hi Tendayi. Your braids look really nice. Have heard so much about the product T444Z. I have really bad edges and was told to try T444Z. Where can i get it in South Africa?

    • Tendayi 19 July, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

      Thank you.

      In South Africa it is distributed through a company called Niche Products. Email them on hair@nicheprod.net. They will respond with an agent selling in your area.

  2. thandeka 19 July, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

    I have using t444z for over a year now and it has worked wonders. My hair dresser, family, friends and colleagues are all amazed at the improvement of my hair. I also emailed you Tendayi to help with my regimen and you were more than helpful. All free help! Thanks very much.

    • Tendayi 19 July, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

      You’re welcome Thandeka 🙂

  3. Khay 25 July, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    Hi Tendayi,
    Also just braided my hair for the winter…but i did not ask the braiders to leave my already ailing hairline out of the whole affair…I can already see the stress. And I’ve decided undo those braids in the trouble area…I think in the long run too much tension in that area is not worth it, and besides I’m dont think it will look untidy in any case…

    • Tendayi 26 July, 2012 at 4:26 am #

      I second the idea of undoing the braids. There are ways to neaten the area is you think its looking untidy. Continuous tension from braids is one of the reasons why many women have disappearing hairlines.

  4. Irene 31 July, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    hi Tendayi, you can also get the complete list of official T444z suppliers in Africa include South Africa and abroad from the T444z website: http://www.t444z.com. It definitely thickens your hair this product. love it! Being using it for a year now …not consistently as i should but it still has made a difference.

  5. Precious 16 August, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Hi Tendayi

    Hope you’re doing great. I just got word from one of the suppliers of T444Z she says they will be a product launch at the HICC this coming Saturday (18.08.12) at 1pm so those in Harare who are keen on trying the product can go there and here more about the product. I just purchased one a few weeks ago and i am yet to see results but i hear its a very good product.

    • Tendayi 16 August, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

      Thanks Precious. I’ll pass on the word.

      • Precious 16 August, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

        Also tell them admission is for free

      • Tendayi 16 August, 2012 at 3:36 pm #

        Will do

  6. Milly 07 October, 2012 at 11:37 pm #

    Hey Tendai,

    I have been experiencing pretty bad hair breakage. So I have been keeping my hair in braids for a while mostly because I’m too depressed by the sight of my hair when its out, sigh 😦 . So Anyway, what are the different braid sprays you would recommend (for both moisture and to help with hair growth)? Most importantly, please do a review for this t444z product. I am extremely skeptical about trying out new hair products and would like to know how you found it…

    Thanks for the great blog..x

    • Tendayi 08 October, 2012 at 11:45 am #

      Hi Milly

      You need to figure out why your hair is breaking. Braiding it is a temporary solution because when you take of the braids your hair will just break again. You need to address the cause of the breakage.

      I like African Pride braid spray. Its very moisturising and it also has oils and protein which I feel is a great balance.

      I will do a review of t444z now that I have used it for 8 weeks. Im still undoing my braids but once Im done I will be able to review it.

      • Khay 08 October, 2012 at 12:34 pm #

        Hi Milly, I agree with Tendayi… try find out why your hair is breaking because you could be moisturizing and conditioning regularly (keeping up with your hair care regime) but your hair can still be breaking if your hair strands are not healthy… some of the questions you want to ask yourself are probably; has your diet changed dramatically recently (try eat foods rich in protein, iron and vitamin B? Have you changed your shampoo (make sure the shampoo you’re using isnt drying out your hair strands)? Or perhaps your hair is shedding not breaking in that case have you been taking any medication that could have those side effects, and again what is in your diet? you might also want to trim off damaged hair…jus thinking… Anyway I hope you find a solution to your hair woes… Believe me I understand what you’re going through.

  7. lungiswaz 09 December, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    Hi Tendayi,

    I’m in braids now, my first week, and I washed them for the first time yesterday. What a mission! It was my first time ever washing my own braids, and to tell you the truth, I am dreading the next time I have to do it.

    But seeing as I have told myself that I want healthy hair, I’m going to have to do it. Please can you give tips on how to make this process less tedious, or just share how you do it. I was even thinking of using a leave in conditioner instead of deep conditioning then rinsing out again. Is this wise?

    Thanks,
    Lungi

    • Tendayi 09 December, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

      Hi Lungi

      I wash my braids while kneeling over a tub. The tub has a shower attachment that I can hold in my hand so I use that. I find this easiest for me. A few times I have washed my braids in the shower. I don’t really like this and prefer washing my braids (and hair) separately from my body. I find the easiets way to wash braids is with a shower. It becoems easier to rinse out the shampoo. If you do not have access to a shower you can go to a salon for a wash if you can affored it. Just tell the person washing your hair to concentrate on the scalp. Once they are done the can wrap your head in a towel for a few minutes until the water has finished dripping and you can leave while your hair air dries.

      A leave in conditioner is fine. Whatever you use make sure it rinses out properly. If it is too thick then you can dilute it with water.

  8. allen 06 June, 2013 at 9:50 am #

    hey, i wanted to ask, how many packets did you use on your head!?

    • Tendayi 10 June, 2013 at 11:25 am #

      I always buy 2 packets. I use about 1.5 packets each time.

  9. Sasha F 04 November, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

    I live in Canada, can I get the 99j shipped, and from what website?

    • Tendayi 05 November, 2013 at 10:47 am #

      Sorry Sasha I buy the braids in a shop. Ive never bought it online so I can’t recommend a site.

Leave a Reply

