My experience with black tea rinses

20 Jul

 

Thought I would give you feedback on the black tea rinses I did a few weeks ago when I was getting excess shedding.  They worked!!  I did the rinses four times.  Each time I brewed the tea the same way – four teabags in about one litre of boiling water left to steep until the water cools.  After washing my hair, I poured the black tea over my hair and scalp.  I then wore a shower cap on my head for about 30 minutes before proceeding to apply deep conditioner over the black tea.  I used Organic Root Stimulator Replenishing Conditioner each time.   I deep conditioned as usual before rinsing off the conditioner and the tea.

Black tea rinses did reduce my shedding.  I didn’t notice anything the first time but I noticed a significant change the second and subsequent times.  I also noticed that it made my hair very soft once the conditioner was applied.  The tea itself hardens the hair as if you have applied a protein conditioner.  Once a deep conditioner is applied it becomes very soft, even when it is all rinsed off.

The only downside for me was that the tea stains towels and clothes.  You have to wear an old t-shirt when doing it and avoid using light coloured towels.

This is something I will continue doing whenever I notice excess shedding.

 

8 Responses to “My experience with black tea rinses”

  1. wisaal 20 July, 2012 at 1:30 pm #

    hey, when you say black tea, can it be any tea – Five Roses etc or did you use a specific brand? Sorry if this sounds silly but I really want to try it….

    • Tendayi 20 July, 2012 at 1:54 pm #

      I went and bought a box that says ‘black tea’ on it to be sure. I got mine in Pick n Pay. Its their no name brand. It looks like normal tea when brewed though 🙂

      • Tendayi 20 July, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

        The pic is on this post http://africanhairblog.com/2012/06/15/black-tea-rinse-for-shedding/

      • audrey 22 October, 2012 at 11:13 pm #

        Hi I love your blog and I am keen to try all that I have learned about my hair.Very enlightening!!Just to clarify about the black tea rinses,it doesn’t have to say “black tea” on the box?Is normal tea ok as well?

      • Tendayi 23 October, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

        I think what we term ‘normal tea’ is actually a black tea. When I did my rinses though I bought a tea that actually sadi ‘black tea’ on the box. When its brewed though it looked just like the other tea I had in the house except it was much stroner because I used many teabags.

  2. Niso Tendai Ngorima 24 July, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    @Wisaal – i use Five Roses it is also a black tea and works just great 🙂

    @Tendayi – gotta love the black tea rinses 4 sure!!

  3. Phro Phro 27 July, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    Thanks for this post. I wasn’t really convinced … but will try it out mid-winter when i tend to get the most shedding!

    • Tendayi 27 July, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

      Give it a try. If anything, it really makes hair soft!

Leave a Reply

