Hair update – 8 weeks post relaxer

25 Jul

 

I have now reached 8 weeks post relaxer.   Between my last update and this one I suffered from excess shedding but I dealt with it using black tea rinses.  The excess shedding was caused by the cold since we are experiencing winter where I live.  I got braids done almost two weeks ago.  I plan to keep them for six to eight weeks.  My next relaxer will be around 16 to 18 weeks post relaxer because once I remove the braids I will give my hair some tlc for two weeks before relaxing it.

So far so good with the braids.  I have already washed them twice.  If braids are done properly washing them will not make them unravel or look untidy.  When washing I concentrate on the scalp.

 

19 Responses to “Hair update – 8 weeks post relaxer”

  1. lolo 25 July, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

    Hi T. The t444z its a mosturizer or hair food and how does it works

    • Tendayi 26 July, 2012 at 4:39 am #

      They call it a hairfood and they market it for use on the scalp. Thats how I will be using it too. The ingredients are – Aloe, Herbal extract, Rose oil, Chamomile, Menthol, Rosemary Leaf Extract, Castor Oil, Peppermint, Papaya Extracts, Vitamin A, Carrot Extracts, Shea Butter and Essential Oils.

      Looking at the consistency I think if you wanted to use it on the hair you would use it to seal in moisture rather than as a moisturiser.

      • lolo 26 July, 2012 at 7:42 am #

        Thanx T. I hope its works if you started using it pls tell us the feedback pls T I want to try it

      • Tendayi 26 July, 2012 at 3:02 pm #

        I definately will.

  2. Felistas 26 July, 2012 at 8:38 pm #

    Hi
    Your braid is lovely.Can I have contact details for the person who did your braids.I’m in Johannesburg. Does she do house calls?

    • Tendayi 27 July, 2012 at 1:28 am #

      Let me email you her details

    • lebo 02 August, 2012 at 8:25 am #

      Hi I also love those braids, can you give me the contacts of the person who did them wow they r so neat! I also live in the south?

      Have you used the dark n lovey leave in spray mist if so what do u think of it?

      What is your hair type?

      • Tendayi 02 August, 2012 at 8:28 am #

        Thanks Lebo. I’ll email you too. I havent used the leave in spray mist so I really can’t comment. My hair type is 4c and I’m relaxed.

  3. Kay 05 August, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    Hi there, I also would like to try the Jamaican oil. I will use it on my scalp once a week and use the t444z once a week too. I went on a spree 2 weeks ago looking for the African Pride hair spray and the Luster scurl oil moisturizer, I managed to get only the hair spray at Jumbo cash and carry, but noticed that even Africa cash and carry sells it. I am still in the search for the scurl oil moisturiser.

    • Tendayi 06 August, 2012 at 9:48 am #

      Lusters in SA has been having problems with supply. They told me it shouls be back to normal at the end of August and that Scurl Activator Moisturiser will be available again at the usual stores ie Jumbo and Africa Cash and Carry.

  4. Grace 06 August, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

    Hi, I have had my braids for 6 weeks now, but now my scalp hurts when I do a ponytail or hold my hair up. Is this normal and what could be causing this?

    • Tendayi 06 August, 2012 at 3:41 pm #

      Im not sure what the cause could be since you have had the braids in for 6 weeks. Could it be your scalp is dry?

  5. Grace 07 August, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    Hi Tendayi, That could be it cos I don’t spray everyday *hides* I only use hair food everytime after I have washed my hair. once a week.

    • Tendayi 07 August, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

      Which hairfood are you using? You should consider using a natural oil on your scalp eg coconut, jojoba or castor oil etc.

  6. Grace 07 August, 2012 at 4:41 pm #

    I was searching the blog to find information on “hair type” I have seen a few comments about how we all have different hair types. Did you write about that? I would like to find out what hair type I am.

  7. Khay 27 September, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

    Hi Tendayi,
    I need some advice, I’ve had my hair in braids for about 2 and 1/2 months now and I need to undo them… but I don’t want to have to deal with styling hair admin after a re-touch cause i’m so busy… So i was thinking of undoing my hair, giving it a little tlc for about two weeks then rebraiding and just forgo the retouch for now…. I want to go for thick-ish braids. Do you think this is ok? I’m a little concerned cause even though my hair has been braided its been a while since my last retouch and maybe braiding it for another six weeks might just result in breakage.

    Any thoughts?

    Khay

    • Tendayi 28 September, 2012 at 3:55 pm #

      Hi Khay

      There are no ill effects of prolonging your relaxer as long as you look after your hair in the meantime. Some women only relax twice a year with no ill effects. The problem comes when you neglect your hair, especially if you do not moisturise it, in those cases it will break. If you do decide to braid again just take care with the hairline. This is usually the most vulnerable, especially when braiding back to back. If you can leave out the tiny hairline hair and then you can just brush it lightly to neaten it or you can use product to make it lie flat.

      • Khay 02 October, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

        Thanks for the advice… 🙂

Leave a Reply

