Got my hands on a few new products

1 Aug

 

I managed to get my hands on some products from the United States.  Once in a while I get an opportunity to buy products from abroad and I always grab it.  I do not consider these products staple products though because I only get them once in a while.  I thought I would share with you what I bought.  From left to right the products are:

1.  VO5 Strawberries and Cream Moisturising Conditioner
I use this to do a cowash.  I find that it makes my hair very soft.  Sometimes I will apply it after rinsing off deep conditioner just to further soften the hair.  It makes detangling so much easier and it does not contain silicon which can coat the hair.  It’s also cheap.  I got it on special for US$0.79.

2.  Organix Macademia Oil Hydrating Shampoo (sulphate free)
I have used Organix Coconut Milk Nourishing Shampoo which I really like.  It’s also sulphate free.  This is a new one in the Organix shampoo line and what attracted me to it was that the bottle said ‘hydrating’.  I’m looking forward to trying it out.  It smells great. I bought it for US$6.99

3.  Keracare Humecto Creme Conditioner
This is now available in South AFrica where I live.  I came across it and bought it because I figured it would be cheaper than back home.  Its a moisturising conditioner that I find makes my hair very soft.  I often alternate it with Mizani Moisturefuse.  It is quite pricy though.  This 468g / 16oz. bottle cost me US$20.

4.  Aphogee Keratin 2 Minute Reconstructor
I have used this product before and I like it.  It is a light protein conditioner that I can use more often than my Organic Root Stimulator Hair Mayonnaise which I use about once a month.  The 468g / 16oz. bottle cost me US$11.95 on Amazon.

5.  Aubrey Honeysuckle Rose Moisturising Conditioner
This is the best moisturising conditioner that I have ever used!  It has great ingredients and my hair is at its softest when I use it.  It is also a breeze to detangle.  I often wish we could get it in South Africa.  This bottle cost me US$7.65.

6.  Shea Moisture Curl Enhancing Smoothie
I got this for one of my sisters.  She has natural hair and has been wanting to try this product for a long time.  It features in many ‘top 10 best product’ list on many natural hair blogs and forums.  I’ll ask my sister for feedback after she has used it for some time.  I bought it for US$10.99.

7.  Tropical Isle Living Jamaican Black Castor Oil (Not pictured)
This is another product I was curious to try.  Jamaican Black Castor Oil is mentioned on so many hair blogs as a great product.  The oil is unrefined and is supposed to give better results than the clear castor oil.  I bought this off Amazon for U$6.52.

 

 

 

 

37 Responses to “Got my hands on a few new products”

  1. maame esi 01 August, 2012 at 5:31 pm #

    Can d aphogee 2 minute reconstructor be used weekly as a deep conditioning treatment??

    • Tendayi 01 August, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

      It can be used weekly but I don’t think as a deep conditioner since its only left on the hair for 2 minutes. The way I use it is I wash my hair, apply it for 2 – 5 minutes then rinse it off. I then apply deep conditioner and deep condition as usual.

  2. Hope 02 August, 2012 at 3:50 pm #

    I have 4c relaxed hair and have been using ORS carrot oil as a moisturiser, sealing with olive oil lm not impressed by the results. I havent bought the s curl no drip activator as yet. I have pure gylcerin the clere brand can l mix it with something and apply it as moisturiser? l also have coconut oil but not sure how and when to use it.

    • Tendayi 02 August, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

      Yes you can use glycerin. It makes a great moisturiser because its a humectant ie it draws water from the air to itself (an to the hair. Make sure to mix it though and not use it straight. What you mix it with is a matter of preference but you can mix with aloe vera juice, rose water, essential oils (just a few drops) like peppermint, rosemary, lavender, tea tree etc, carrier oils (a bit) like jojoba, sweet almond, grapeseed, wheatgerm, castor, coconut etc. You can mix in all or some of these. You can even add some of the ORS carrot oil moisturiser if you like. As for coconut oil, its really versatile. You can do pre shampoo treatments with it ie apply to hair and scalp, wear a shower cap and keep it on for a few hours to overnight then wash and deep condition as usual. You can add coconut oil (about a teaspoon or so) to your deep conditioners. You can also use it to seal in moisturisers. Its a great oil. Im never without it.

  3. nancy 03 August, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Am soooo jealous. Have been dying to try that organix macademia oil range. Please do tell use if its was worth the wait.

    • Tendayi 03 August, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

      I definately will 🙂

  4. Kat 04 August, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    Hi Tendayi, firstly I would like to thank you for a great blog. I have a few questions that I would like your help with.
    Firstly, where can I get affordable shea butter? When I go on natural hair care sites this is a product that keeps getting mentioned and I want to get my hands on it!!! I’ve searched in all the big chemists like Clicks and Dischem, but I can’t find it anywhere! (P.s. I live in Gauteng)

    Secondly, I’ve heard about all the great things that castor oil can do, I bought it (Clicks brand) and it just brought up horrible childhood memories, and it triggered my gag reflex- so is there anyway to disguise the smells effectively.

    Lastly, what coconut oil do you suggest? I bought the Clicks brand, and I have no complaints except it doesn’t have the amazing smell that I get when I use other coconut-based beauty products.

    Sorry about bombarding you with all these questions but I really want to start treating my hair well.

    • Tendayi 06 August, 2012 at 9:46 am #

      You won’t find shea butter in Clicks or Dischem. Your best bet is health shops. I have seen it at the health shop at Menlyn Park Mall. The shop is called Health Yard. I think the price was R130 (approx US$16) for the jar.

      As for the castor oil smell. You can mix the castor oil with other oils that smell better eg sweet almond oil. You ca also add one or two drops of essential oils eg peppermint or lavender if you prefer these smells. The beauty of oils is that they can be mixed!

      I use coconut oil I bought from Dischem. Its an extra virgin coconut oil and the brand is called Millbrook. I got it from the health food aisle. This one has the coconut oil smell!

      All the best with your hair 🙂

  5. jekanyika 05 August, 2012 at 7:08 pm #

    Hi there, I really want to purchase on Amazon and I don’t know how to find these products. I mean, I can find them where they deliver to US or Europe but can’t find any suppliers on Amazon who deliver to South Africa. Could you advise how you go about it and your experiences: identifying suppliers, delivery time and customs charges? I really am dying to get my hands on these goodies! Thanks. Ps. Love your blog.

    • Tendayi 06 August, 2012 at 9:52 am #

      Thanks Jekanyika 🙂

      Yes they don’t deliver to SA. What I do is that when someone I know travels overseas I ask them if I can buy product from amazon so they can bring it for me. I then do the purchase but as a delivery address I give that persons name and hotel address. They then bring the stuff for me. On the occassion that I have the opportunity to travel then I get the stuff delivered to where I am. The price of the product plays a huge part in my decision of which supplier to pick as well as delivery costs.

    • Sthe 07 August, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

      Jekanyika, If you really need to get your hands on these goodies try takealot.com(USA/UK imports), I’ve used them before. I like that their prices include shipping charges(no suprises), they take 10-20 days to deliver. Some of their products are reasonably priced, some are are way too expensive(especially if you’ve never used the products and not sure whether you are going to like it or not)
      Tendayi – I am natural and really love your blog, awaiting your reviews for the following 1.Curl Enhancing Smoothie 2.Aubrey Honeysuckle Rose Moisturising Conditioner 3.Jamaican Black Castor Oil

      • Tendayi 07 August, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

        Thanks Sthe. Thats a really great suggestion. 10 to 20 days is not bad as long as you know your product is coming. Let me check out the prices. I remember once getting a price of R600 (approx US$75) for some Jamaican Black Castor Oil! I can’t remember which site it was.

  6. odi 06 August, 2012 at 6:40 am #

    I love the shea moisture curl enhancing smoothie. I am relaxed and I use it for twist outs and a little goes a LONG way. I also use it as a deep conditioner for myself and my daughter (who is natural). I wish that they would bring it to SA so that I can get my hands on it more easily.

    • Tendayi 06 August, 2012 at 10:01 am #

      It does get really excellent reviews. I saw somewhere (I think it was twitter) where it was mentioned that they were considering bringing their products to SA. Lets keep our fingers crossed!

  7. tamsyn 06 August, 2012 at 7:37 am #

    hi tendayi. can you please tell me where I can purchase the Keracare products since they are available in south africa? can you tell me which click’s still stock the Yes to carrots/cucumbers line? thanx

    • Tendayi 06 August, 2012 at 10:15 am #

      Keracare (and Affirm) products ae distributed in South Africa by Botlhale Distributors. You can contact them on 082 419 9002.

      Clicks has now dicontinued the Yes to Cucumbers line. If you do come across it, then it will be old stock. You can call Clicks Customer Care and ask them if they still have some available. They can tell you if there is a store in your area that still has it.

  8. Tumi 06 August, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Hey there, cant wait for your Black Caster oil review, a lot of bloggers are raving about it and im really curious about the results. Love the blog and your Beautiful Hair.

    • Tendayi 06 August, 2012 at 10:24 pm #

      Thank you Tumi. I will definately share my thoughts after using it for a bit.

  9. Hope 10 August, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    Hi, I went to Jumbo and Cash & carry yesterday to look for the S curl Moisturiser and l couldnt find it. At cash and carry they said its out of stock and in Jumbo I got there when they were about to close so l just had a quick look in the hair care aisle l might have missed it . Has anyone purchased it recently. Is it normally in that isle or somewhere else?

    • Tendayi 10 August, 2012 at 11:22 am #

      Hi Hope
      Lusters SA has been having issues with supply so you are not likely to find it anywhere unless its old stock. They told me this will be rectified by end of August. I will let you know once it is available again.

  10. luyakha 15 August, 2012 at 8:58 am #

    Hi Tendayi
    I read all the advice you give about hair and tried the oil thy work very well for me…Now
    I went in to another blog and I saw MAXI HAIR PILLS MAXIMISED, and someone must order on-line which I did and to find out that they don’t deliver in south Africa, Do you perhaps know where can I find these here I’m in cape town?

    • Tendayi 15 August, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

      I don’t think they are avialble in SA. Ive never seen them on shelves. You could try sites like http://www.takealot.com. Im sure you can get them there just that you would probably pay 3 or 4 times what they cost in the US. Depends how badly you want them! The sites import stuff on your behalf and it akes 10 to 20 days for them to deliver.

  11. PrincessMasi 22 August, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    Hey, love your blog, just realised that I’ve met you before 🙂 Dying to get Jamaican Black Castor Oil! I also have to ask people to bring things from oversees lol! I find it difficult to find products that my natural hair likes, she’s a bit picky! *sigh*

    • Tendayi 22 August, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

      We have met? Where??!!

  12. rue 23 August, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    hi, i have just been reading about apple cider vinegar and i’m not too sure how to go about using it, i saw your comment on soul hair about it but cant find the post here. i have natural hair and would appreciate some help! thanks 🙂

    • Tendayi 24 August, 2012 at 10:53 am #

      I havent written a post on apple cider vinegar yet. This is how I use it – I add anout 1/4 cup of ACV to a sink full of water. I then use this as a final rinse. I find it softens my hair and helps with any buildup from products etc etc. I use it about once a month or so.

  13. Dumi Mdluli 07 December, 2012 at 1:24 am #

    Hey I wanna get my hands on the jamaican black castor oil please help

    • Tendayi 07 December, 2012 at 11:48 am #

      Are you in SA Dumi? We don’t get it here. To access it in SA you would have to buy it online and have it sent to you.

  14. Titi 07 February, 2013 at 10:18 am #

    Tendayi you life saver you! ive been deperately looking for Keracare Humecto and bemoaning that we dont have in SA. Spoke to Sharon at Bothale Distributors – should be getting my deep conditioner soonest….cant wait to try it!

    Thanks for sharing all this knowledge!

    • Tendayi 07 February, 2013 at 11:23 am #

      You’re welcome Titi 🙂

  15. ntombi 02 March, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    Hi
    I see you have jamaican black castor oil, I’ve heard it assist with hair growth. Can it regrow reciding hair line and where can I get it in gauteng?
    Your assisstance will be much appreciated

    • Tendayi 04 March, 2013 at 10:59 am #

      Yes, castor oil is great for regrowing hairlines. Unfortunately I got the JBCO in the US, not in SA. I have not come across in anywhere in SA. I have seen it on http://www.wantitall.co.a though the price quoted on the site is really high. About R600 (abut USD70) for a product that costs about USD10 in the US.

      • Mokgadi 15 April, 2013 at 10:26 am #

        Hi Tendayi
        Does botlhale distributors only have kera care or do they have other brands?, and also wanted to find out if perhaps there is a distributor or shop where they have Eco-styler products?

      • Tendayi 15 April, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

        They actually have the Avlon range (which Keracare falls under). I know the other brands include Affirm and As I Am products. I haven’t come across Ecostyler products in SA.

  16. Megan 05 June, 2013 at 10:12 pm #

    Hi, jamaican black castor oil is now available on bid or buy. They deliver all over South Africa.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. products i want to try « reverie slice - 01 October, 2012

    […] Got my hands on a few new products (africanhairblog.com) […]

Leave a Reply

