The braid spray I use

10 Aug

I have been talking a lot about braids lately simply because I have them at the moment.  I’m often asked about the braid spray I use, why I choose that particular one and where to buy it.  This post will be dedicated to that.

I prefer to use African Pride braid sprays.  The reason I prefer this particular brand is simply because of the ingredients.  I mostly use the one marketed for kids (in the middle of the picture).  I find the smell of the one marketed for adults quite strong.  That said, if I go looking for the kids one and don’t find it, I buy the adult one and will often mix them to dilute the scent.

I mention that the reason I prefer these braid sprays is because of the ingredients.  Here they are:

Anti-breakage Braid Sheen Spray

Water, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, PEG 8, Olive Fruit Oil, Tea Tree Leaf Oil, Peppermint Leaf Extract, Nettle Extract, Rosemary Leaf Extract, Articum Lappa Root Extract, Betula Alba Extract, Rosa Canina Fruit Extract, Carrageenan Extract, Coltsfoot Flower Extract, Wild Cherry Bark Extract, Dandelion Extract, Sambucus Nigra, Equisetum Hiemale Extract, Echinacea Purpurea Extract, Ruminex Crispus Root Extract, Brewers Yeast, Aloe Vera Leaf Juice, Matricaria Flower Extract, Oleth 20, PEG 12, Dimethicone, Panthenol, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Polysorbate 20

Dream Kids Soothing Moisturising Braid Spray

Water, Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, PEG 12, Dimethicone, PEG-8, Olive Fruit Oil, Shea Butter Fruit, Aloe Vera Leaf Juice, Coconut) Oil, Soybean Oil, Jojoba Seed Oil, Grape Seed Oil, Avocado Oil, Flax Seed Oil, Wheat Germ Oil, Hydrolysed Vegetable Protein PG Propyl Silanetriol, Horsetail Extract, Hydrolyzed Oat Protein, Hydrolyzed Soybean Protein, Hydrolyzed Silk, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Peppermint Leaf Extract, Tea Tree Leaf Oil, Matricaria Flower Extract, Oleth 20, PEG 75 Lanolin, Silk Amino Acids, Acetamidopropyl Trimonium Chloride, Panthenol, Imidazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propyparaben, Polysorbate 20, Fragrance, Benzyl Benzoate, Coumarin, d-Limonene, Linalool

The Anti-breakage Braid Sheen Spray contains oils (olive fruit oil and tea tree leaf oil), herbal extracts (peppermint leaf extract, nettle extract, rosemary leaf extract, wild cherry bark extract etc) and protein (silk amino acids).  The Dream Kids Soothing Moisturising Braid Spray contains oils (olive fruit oil, soybean oil, coconut oil, jojoba seed oil, grape seed oil, avocado oil, flaxseed oil, wheat germ oil) and protein (hydrolysed vegetable protein, hydrolysed oat protein, hydrolysed soybean protein, hydrolysed wheat protein).

On the left is the spray bottle that I use.  The reason I use a spray bottle is because I find it faster to moisturise my hair with it.  It also enables me to mix the two products.

I buy both products in Clicks or Checkers Hyper.  I have found that the smaller Clicks stores do not stock the sprays, only the larger stores.  The Anti-breakage Braid Sheen Spray costs R29.99 (approx. US$3.75) and the Dream Kids Soothing Moisturising Braid Spray R20.99 (approx. US$2.50).

5 Responses to “The braid spray I use”

  1. Mufaro (@mufarosengwe) 26 August, 2012 at 12:49 am #

    I currently have braids and I was using the Jabu Stone anti-itching braid spray. It wasn’t working very well so when I saw this blog post I immediately went and bought the African Pride braid spray and I’m loving it so far. Thanks so much for this post!!

    • Tendayi 26 August, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

      You’re welcome. I love it!

  2. KhensaneM 17 September, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

    Geez idk why but it (the toddler 1) makes my scalp itch like crazy hey. Think I should get some tea tree oil then.

    • Tendayi 17 September, 2013 at 9:50 pm #

      Don’t spray it on your scalp. Spray it only on youe hair. Apply an oil lightly to your scalp instead.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hair update – 44 weeks post relaxer | africanhairblog - 15 October, 2013

    […] wear the cornrows for two weeks before undoing them.  While in cornrows I moisturise daily using braid spray.  I also lightly apply an oil to my scalp.  I have been using mostly coconut oil for this.  […]

Leave a Reply

