Hair update – 12 weeks post relaxer

20 Aug

I’m now 12 weeks post relaxer.  I’ve had these braids for a full month now.  I’ll keep them in for four more weeks and then take two more weeks to give my hair some tlc before relaxing again.

I have kept up with weekly washing and daily moisturising with braid spray.  This is important because if my hair becomes dry it can result in breakage when I take the braids out.  At least now the weather is warming up in South Africa so washing the braids is not a mission anymore.

The hairstyle in the pic is the same one I wore to the African International Hair Extravaganza.  I do it by tying the braids into a pony tail.  I then divide the ponytail into four sections.  I braid each section and then rotate each braid around the base of the ponytail, tucking the ends underneath.  The style can also be done at the top of the head for a high bun.  Another option is to section the ponytail into six or eight.  You could also use something thick to tie the ponytail.  This will result in a bigger bun.

I’m now looking forward to removing these braids.  I miss my hair!

11 Responses to “Hair update – 12 weeks post relaxer”

  1. maame esi 21 August, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    aaaawwww,, so cute a hairstyle. was wondering how u did it. tnx for the tutorial. will try it too.

    hey, i misss ur hair too..muah!!

    • Tendayi 21 August, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

      Lol Maame!!

      Its actually very easy. It takes me a few minutes to do. As for my hair… it will be out very soon!

  2. Lerato 26 August, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    Hey, have you ever thought of going natural? Just a question, hope you didnt think I was being rude 🙂

    • Tendayi 26 August, 2012 at 4:09 pm #

      Its not a rude question at all!!

      I’ve actually been natural for 4 years – from 2005 to 2009. It’s just a pity I didn’t know what I was doing. Kept my hair in weaves and braids all that time and ruined my hairline. I havent thought of going natural recently though. I first need to reach my relaxed hair goal of BSl before looking at anything new!

    • Memory 19 September, 2012 at 3:22 pm #

      Hi Lerato, could you please help me where i can buy Mizani products in Johannesburg..my email: mesia841@yahoo.com

      • Tendayi 20 September, 2012 at 11:08 am #

        Mizani products ate sold through salons. What area do you stay in and I can find out which salons stock them in your area.

  3. Lindi 28 August, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    Hi Tendayi,

    Awesome blogg! I’m so inspired by it and have scoured it for hours at a time along with other similar blocks you have recommended.

    A genernal hair question: So I start my regime this weekend, including all the recommended steps; prepoo, shampoo, deep condition overnight, moisturising and sealing. I am predominantly using ORS products. Prepooed and sealed with Amla Oil. Will be varying that though. Problem is the first day, my hair was bone dry. Used ORS Carrot for moisturing – may have underdone the prepooing and overdone the sealing. Since it was dry I tried to bag it overnight, well the Amla oil seemed to float to the top… Ok now the question, do I allow my hair to completely dry after the conditioning before the moisturing or do I moisturise while it is still a bit damp to retain the moisture? I thought I had put sufficient moisturiser – basing the scalp and using quite a bit on the hair. Its oily to the touch, but really dry. I blame that on the Amla oil. This was my first wash and hope to get the basics right. I am a week away from my next blow (texlax) so there is a bit of growth. In future, I’ll (lightly) seal with coconut oil or castor oil. Thanks

    • Tendayi 01 September, 2012 at 7:46 am #

      Once you rinse off the conditioner, apply moisturiser to damp hair. Do not wait for it to dry. The idea is to keep that moisture in the hair as long as possible. Water is the best moisturiser but it doesnt last long on hair which is why we then use products to help prolong the moisture.

      If you want to baggy, use a water based moisturiser (like ORS Carrot oil), not an oil. If using an oil this will be a pre poo, if you want to up the moisture levels then you baggy with a moistuiser.

      If you dont mind you can also dampen your hair each time before you apply a moisturiser and seal – all this is just to increase thw moisture / water in the hair.

      Hope this helps.

      • Lindi 03 September, 2012 at 11:52 am #

        Thanks so much for clarifying. Makes sense. Ta

  4. fantagiaah 10 September, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    there are times i wish i could rock box braids like that but my hair is super weak id lose all my hair line LOL
    it really suits you well 😀

    • Tendayi 10 September, 2012 at 12:36 pm #

      lol! I don’t do it often Fantagiaah for fear of weakening my hairline!

Leave a Reply

